We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast, great bed”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #37 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast, great bed”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Hotel Alessandra is in the very best location. It is in the heart of old Florence without being swamped in the middle of a tourist crowd. There are several restaurants within steps of the front door and the ponte vecchio is right there at the end of the street! The hotel is part of a large building with other tenants occupying the space. They have chilled champagne and white wine ("therapy" our host called it) right in the front desk area.
A caveat and a joke:Where do you find an Italian elevator? on the third floor.
Travel light, my friends, because the elevator is two flights of stairs up. You will carry your stuff up these steps to get them to the lift. and the lift is about the size of a coffin standing up. Your stuff will probably travel in that and you'll have to meet it at the top. Most buildings added elevators many years after they were built (like hundreds of years) and they take up precious space. so pack light! and earn that extra gelato!
The staff are very friendly and helpful, making reservations by phone for you or suggesting alternate (cheaper) laundering solutions to the hotels extremely expensive dry-cleaners service. They are knowledgeable about all things Florence so just ask!

THE BREAKFAST WAS THE BEST provided of all the B&Bs we stayed in during our trip. Excellent espresso and coffee services and the largest variety of breakfast options. Warm sliced meat and cheese, breakfast rolls with all the variety of spreads, jellies, nutella, cereals, granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs. And the breakfast room has lots of tables. It's fun to scope out the other guests over breakfast.

The Room my travel companion and I had was "on the top floor, like a queen" said our host. The ceilings were very high and had a large window which opened street side. There was lots of space in the room, two beds, two bedside tables, an armchair, an armoir that had hangers and a safe and extra blankets and pillows. It was wonderfully roomy.
The bathroom was up a step so the ceiling was lower but it had plenty of space for all the regular fixtures plus a bidet, if you're into that kind of thing.
The only complaint i had was the shower was in the corner with a curtain which pulled all the way around in a half circle from wall to wall. the cloth curtain wasn't hung far enough away from the spigot so that it stuck to my backside in a very unappealing manner while i showered. it made me think of unknown previous guests and the curtain sticking to their backsides and how well can you really launder a shower curtain that's cloth? and wouldn't some thick, industrial grade, bacteria-resistant plastic be better? also we called the bathroom light the "murder light" cause it was florescent and blinked on like in horror movies and cast an eerie glow over the small room. The lamps in the main room gave a very nice warm glow.
Despite what seems like a lot complaint about the bathroom, we were grateful for it and the room for being so spacious and cleanly kept. we were quite happy.
It was very quiet, no street noise at all.
If you are the type to stay out past one in the morning, they do have a gap in front desk clerks attendants after that time. I'm not sure what the policy is as I was never out that late, but be sure to check with them about that as you must leave your key when you leave the hotel.

Room Tip: I think we were in 34B. We were happy with our top floor room, the window facing the street in what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Oh you made us laugh and cry! But thank you for so much detail - it helps us understand your experience so much better.

At night there is ALWAYS one member of staff active. Always. They might be attending to a child who wants a hot chocolate at 3am, they might be answering the phone to clients from Thailand at 4am, they might be seeking a dentist for someone going tooth-pain crazy at 6am - but they are always always there. We promise.

We loved this and will be sharing, as usual, with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    472
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
367
843
155
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in Hotel Alessandro for a long weekend with friends. The hotel is well placed for seeing all the sights of Florence on foot. The staff are really helpful and friendly. Rooms are good, and quiet.There are a lot of stairs. Breakfast is a bit limited some fresh fruit would be nice considering all the beautiful fruit in the markets. If you stay there and can cope with stairs you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tearoomwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We heard that "fresh fruit"! Will see what we can do. Thank you so much for commenting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have not stayed anywhere else in Florence so we can't We have not stayed anywhere else in Florence so we can't compere with other hotels. Hotel Alessandra I would suggest that it's a hotel with the service of a B&B. The staff were fantastic especially Monty who made us very welcome and was so bubbly when ever we seen him. The rooms are average size, but the bathrooms was very nice.the breakfast was also catered well. 10 min walk to most attractions and the markets. Monty also gave us some great places to eat while we were in town, especially Zio Gigi..true Italian Restaurant. The area was quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. If you are older or struggle with your baggage, I would ring them on arrival as you will have 2 sets of stairs to go up before you get the the small lift. Either way they are small items and I am sure you will be happy with your stay. Say hello to Monty for us and tell him you read our review on trip advisor. Beds are also hard like most in Italy. Enjoy

Room Tip: You will have 2 sets of stairs before you get the the lift, I am sure the hotel staff will assist
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonChell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are THE BEST at running up and down stairs with really heavy cases! Monti seems to have the latest on all the great restaurants in town - a very up to date man! Thank you so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel really enhanced our stay in Florence. The staff are incredibly friendly and their recommendations for restaurants were brilliant - thanks Monty. It has the feel of a family run hotel. The hotel is simple yet elegant and beautiful and a little bit quirky. We had a lovely room with great high ceilings and a modern en-suite.
The breakfasts are plentiful and served with a smile.
The location is brilliant, it's great value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMK999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We ARE a family run hotel! Even our staff - who are part of our extended family! Thank you for noticing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms. They were very spacious and clean! The bathroom was also a nice size for a European hotel. I liked the hardwood floors and comfortable beds. There is a terrace upstairs to enjoy overlooking part of the city. We also enjoyed a very nice breakfast. There were many choices of delicious breads, cakes, and croissants. Also meats and cheeses, cereal coffee and juice. The location was very central to the sights in Florence. We would definately stay here again. Our train arrived early, and the hotel was so kind as to let us leave our luggage in the lobby, and had it in our rooms when we were finished with our morning tour!

Room Tip: Our room with a view of the Arno river was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFunfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
For most of you we are well aware that this is a once in a life time visit. We want to make it spectacular! Hope we managed that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We only had one night at this quaint little hotel, in a room with a view of the river (and of an old church bell tower - does not seem to be working though!), quietly tucked down a street a few minutes walk from Ponte Vecchio. We arrived early from Lucca, before 10am, and were thrilled that our room was almost ready for us to check in, so we could dump bags and go exploring. The hotel is so close to the main sights, but the location is quiet enough that you feel like a local! Staff are helpful and welcoming, room was huge, clean, comfy. As it was our last day in Italy we managed to squeeze in a fair amount of shopping - the market round the corner was a goldmine of gorgeously soft leather-ware in all colours (gloves, bags), silk scarves - mostly good quality and well priced. A pleasant surprise that I could browse without being hassled, and that it was really lovely quality. That was a Saturday - am not sure if it's there everyday. Note that the restaurant a few doors up from the hotel only takes cash - good food though. Great breakfast in hotel, before we rushed off to the station. Definitely recommend this cheerful, charming little place.

Room Tip: definitely go for a room with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyincapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Oh yes the bell tower definitely rings! Loud and clear but not before 9am! It sounds like it worked for you and there is no greater reward. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhorn
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked a room with a view of the River Arno. On arriving, opened our window and observed 3 boats being skulled down the river. Pretty damn cool! The room was very nice with a huge bathroom. Breakfast every morning was great in a very nice eating area. Hard to imagine a hotel with a better location. Close to everything! If you have tours booked with ArtViva, you are only 3 blocks away from their meeting location.
The best part, however, was the service!! I had a hospital stay in Spain and looked like our vacation was over and I canceled our reservation. Luckily, I recovered nicely and tried to rebook. Unfortunately, we could only get 2 of our 3 nights back. But Andrea went out of his way and, on his own, notified us 2 days later that there was a cancellation and we could get our 3rd night if we desired. Outstanding! He also went out of his way to find an English speaking doctor nearby, as I had some surgical staples to be removed. Amazing! And, of course, if you get to meet Monte, you won't forget him! :) Very welcoming and, as what seems to be the rule of this hotel, very helpful in our requests. We had to leave our luggage so take a tour in the afternoon and on return he called a taxi that arrived in minutes so we could catch our train.
Thank you so much, Hotel Alessandra, for all you did for us!!

Room Tip: Yes, there are steps. But I arrived a week after a laparoscopic appendectomy, and I survived. Suck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teach68022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are laughing at your last comment. And yes, we are going to post that on our facebook page. Amazing you that you carried on with your vacation despite! Everyone loves Monti, we would like to package bits of Monti for sale, but he doesn't agree! Thank you for this - it's fabulous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#39 of 412 in Florence
2,716 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#32 of 412 in Florence
2,296 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#42 of 412 in Florence
801 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#36 of 412 in Florence
1,765 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing