We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel, best hotel staff ever!”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #37 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel, best hotel staff ever!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Alessandra for four nights at the end of May and was not disappointed. From the warm welcome, to the very spacious room for two adults and a nine year old boy (even by U.S. standards), to the good breakfasts and fantastic location, we couldn't have asked for better. Yes, it's an older hotel, but they work hard to keep it in great condition and have recently made several updates. They keep the rooms spotlessly clean, and they immediately respond to any issues that arise. Diegito misses Monti!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coricop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
If we could find a way to bottle "essence of Monti" we would be on to a winner! He misses you all too! Thanks so much for taking the time to write here - we most appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    472
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
367
843
155
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel Alessandra had some of the best staff/service we received during our 3-city trip in Italy. Everyone was incredibly friendly, accommodating and helpful.

The location was absolutely excellent, just minutes from the Ponte Vecchio bridge and about a 12 min walk from the train station.

Breakfast was also one of the best we had at the hotels we stayed at.

The only issue we encountered was a terrible sewer smell one of the nights. We told the front desk and they told us to close the bathroom door and open the window, but the smell was actually coming from right outside the window. It was pretty bad, but didn't seem like a typical problem. If it weren't for this issue, I would have easily given this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Not good! Quite bad actually. We don't honestly know (but maybe we do ...)

Here's a thing. Despite the Romans 2000 odd years ago, Florence has a pretty poor sewage system (like none). We won't write details here. But each building has it's own "accumulation" which has to be emptied every 2/3 years. No mains sewers under this city! Too many archaelogical remains!

Ok - let's talk nice now. Thank you for such a detailed review - come back one day, we would love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Hotel Alessandra is in the very best location. It is in the heart of old Florence without being swamped in the middle of a tourist crowd. There are several restaurants within steps of the front door and the ponte vecchio is right there at the end of the street! The hotel is part of a large building with other tenants occupying the space. They have chilled champagne and white wine ("therapy" our host called it) right in the front desk area.
A caveat and a joke:Where do you find an Italian elevator? on the third floor.
Travel light, my friends, because the elevator is two flights of stairs up. You will carry your stuff up these steps to get them to the lift. and the lift is about the size of a coffin standing up. Your stuff will probably travel in that and you'll have to meet it at the top. Most buildings added elevators many years after they were built (like hundreds of years) and they take up precious space. so pack light! and earn that extra gelato!
The staff are very friendly and helpful, making reservations by phone for you or suggesting alternate (cheaper) laundering solutions to the hotels extremely expensive dry-cleaners service. They are knowledgeable about all things Florence so just ask!

THE BREAKFAST WAS THE BEST provided of all the B&Bs we stayed in during our trip. Excellent espresso and coffee services and the largest variety of breakfast options. Warm sliced meat and cheese, breakfast rolls with all the variety of spreads, jellies, nutella, cereals, granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs. And the breakfast room has lots of tables. It's fun to scope out the other guests over breakfast.

The Room my travel companion and I had was "on the top floor, like a queen" said our host. The ceilings were very high and had a large window which opened street side. There was lots of space in the room, two beds, two bedside tables, an armchair, an armoir that had hangers and a safe and extra blankets and pillows. It was wonderfully roomy.
The bathroom was up a step so the ceiling was lower but it had plenty of space for all the regular fixtures plus a bidet, if you're into that kind of thing.
The only complaint i had was the shower was in the corner with a curtain which pulled all the way around in a half circle from wall to wall. the cloth curtain wasn't hung far enough away from the spigot so that it stuck to my backside in a very unappealing manner while i showered. it made me think of unknown previous guests and the curtain sticking to their backsides and how well can you really launder a shower curtain that's cloth? and wouldn't some thick, industrial grade, bacteria-resistant plastic be better? also we called the bathroom light the "murder light" cause it was florescent and blinked on like in horror movies and cast an eerie glow over the small room. The lamps in the main room gave a very nice warm glow.
Despite what seems like a lot complaint about the bathroom, we were grateful for it and the room for being so spacious and cleanly kept. we were quite happy.
It was very quiet, no street noise at all.
If you are the type to stay out past one in the morning, they do have a gap in front desk clerks attendants after that time. I'm not sure what the policy is as I was never out that late, but be sure to check with them about that as you must leave your key when you leave the hotel.

Room Tip: I think we were in 34B. We were happy with our top floor room, the window facing the street in what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Oh you made us laugh and cry! But thank you for so much detail - it helps us understand your experience so much better.

At night there is ALWAYS one member of staff active. Always. They might be attending to a child who wants a hot chocolate at 3am, they might be answering the phone to clients from Thailand at 4am, they might be seeking a dentist for someone going tooth-pain crazy at 6am - but they are always always there. We promise.

We loved this and will be sharing, as usual, with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in Hotel Alessandro for a long weekend with friends. The hotel is well placed for seeing all the sights of Florence on foot. The staff are really helpful and friendly. Rooms are good, and quiet.There are a lot of stairs. Breakfast is a bit limited some fresh fruit would be nice considering all the beautiful fruit in the markets. If you stay there and can cope with stairs you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tearoomwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We heard that "fresh fruit"! Will see what we can do. Thank you so much for commenting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have not stayed anywhere else in Florence so we can't We have not stayed anywhere else in Florence so we can't compere with other hotels. Hotel Alessandra I would suggest that it's a hotel with the service of a B&B. The staff were fantastic especially Monty who made us very welcome and was so bubbly when ever we seen him. The rooms are average size, but the bathrooms was very nice.the breakfast was also catered well. 10 min walk to most attractions and the markets. Monty also gave us some great places to eat while we were in town, especially Zio Gigi..true Italian Restaurant. The area was quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. If you are older or struggle with your baggage, I would ring them on arrival as you will have 2 sets of stairs to go up before you get the the small lift. Either way they are small items and I am sure you will be happy with your stay. Say hello to Monty for us and tell him you read our review on trip advisor. Beds are also hard like most in Italy. Enjoy

Room Tip: You will have 2 sets of stairs before you get the the lift, I am sure the hotel staff will assist
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonChell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are THE BEST at running up and down stairs with really heavy cases! Monti seems to have the latest on all the great restaurants in town - a very up to date man! Thank you so much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel really enhanced our stay in Florence. The staff are incredibly friendly and their recommendations for restaurants were brilliant - thanks Monty. It has the feel of a family run hotel. The hotel is simple yet elegant and beautiful and a little bit quirky. We had a lovely room with great high ceilings and a modern en-suite.
The breakfasts are plentiful and served with a smile.
The location is brilliant, it's great value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMK999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We ARE a family run hotel! Even our staff - who are part of our extended family! Thank you for noticing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms. They were very spacious and clean! The bathroom was also a nice size for a European hotel. I liked the hardwood floors and comfortable beds. There is a terrace upstairs to enjoy overlooking part of the city. We also enjoyed a very nice breakfast. There were many choices of delicious breads, cakes, and croissants. Also meats and cheeses, cereal coffee and juice. The location was very central to the sights in Florence. We would definately stay here again. Our train arrived early, and the hotel was so kind as to let us leave our luggage in the lobby, and had it in our rooms when we were finished with our morning tour!

Room Tip: Our room with a view of the Arno river was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFunfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
For most of you we are well aware that this is a once in a life time visit. We want to make it spectacular! Hope we managed that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,722 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,302 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#46 of 412 in Florence
805 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing