We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with amazing concierge!”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #36 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with amazing concierge!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay very much - my whole experience of Florence made even better by Monti, quite possibly the world's best concierge! His recommendations sent me to wonderful restaurants - best salad of my life at 4Lions! The hotel was comfortable and the breakfast very good (not so keen on the espresso but I am very picky). My room was attractive and clean and while I am not a fan of separate bathrooms, I loved that I could actually have a bath! Few hotels have space for baths in this part of the world I observe...
It was a short walk to most places and even though Florence was absolutely full of tourists, I managed to see and do what I wanted to. I recommend going first thing in the morning to Uffuzi and definitely booking online for Accademia. David is a must-see!
The hotel balcony is a fabulous little respite from the streets below - overall a great hotel experience and thanks Monti!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Monti is a terrible heart-stealer - children and adults alike. And you should know that if you come back in 20 years, he will remember you! Loved reading this review - thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    472
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
367
843
155
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We loved our stay at Hotel Alessandra! All the staff were so pleasant and helpful. The location was perfect for walking to most of the sights. Andrea answered many questions through numerous emails prior to our arrival and recommended a wonderful personal tour guide for our day long tour of Florence for the four of us, as well as, arranging a day trip to Sienna and surrounding area for my daughter and myself. I would return to Hotel Alessandra tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresbyKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
What can we say? We are open tomorrow - come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff or the hotel are marvelous, people we look forward to seeing again. The service was impeccable and the room excellent. The hotel is in a perfect location, within a short walk of the Uffizi, the Ponte Vecchio, the Duomo, and plenty other sites. Honestly, I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat&J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
What a fabulous phrase " people we look forward to seeing again". How perfect! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I made a point of trying to book inns on our Italy trip that were 1.afforadable 2. close to sights 3. had good trip advisor reviews and 4. were mentioned in at least one travel guide (spent time going through books at B&N.) Alessandra fit this and so so much more. We considered the stairs (there is an elevator folks but you have to push the button) a workout that would enable us to eat our way through Italy. All our inn choices in all cities featured stairs. The fact that we were in a lovely area with the river a block or so away made finding our way home at the end of our days easy and was icing on the cake. While we're talking about the river...you're just a quick 5 or so minute walk (brisk) to Ponte Vecchio bridge...the oldest bridge in Florence. We used the Artviva company for our Florence in a Day and learned the history of the city and it's important treasures. We used Walks of Italy for Rome in a Day and their guides while nice and informative just didn't seem to be having fun at their jobs. WE LOVED ARTVIVA GUIDES!!!!! I even saw a brouchure for their tours at Hotel Alessandra as we were checking out. My review of breakfast is they made a smiling face in my coffee so whatever else happened that day...I started my day with caffine and a smile. The room is lovely and ours opened onto the street below. We were on the top floor I think and street noise didn't bother us. We went out one evening and came back late and pushed the wrong elevator button and went all the way up and when we walked down...the night keeper of the inn had his head out the door just checking to see if all was well.
The bathrooms in all our inns in Italy were small but had everything we needed. This was true of Alessandra. I just think it's important to remember you're visiting another country. If you want what you have in the USA...go find a hotel chain and stay there. If you want total authentic charm and a fabulous experience...stay here...and remember, just push the button and the elevator will come to you. Or use the stairs and eat all you want each and every day of your stay. Thank you Hotel Alessandra.

Room Tip: Our room was just under the rafters ( a climb of a couple of flights of stairs once inside the inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memyrcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you thank you. You made us laugh so much. We love this review - we think it is really us! Great service, great location and some stairs! We are still laughing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We are a family of four and we stayed in one of the quad rooms. It didn't have much of a view but it had air conditioning, great WiFi, and comfortable beds. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Every staff member was super friendly and service oriented. The location is ideal. The breakfast was delicious in a charming setting with great service. We will definitely return to the Hotel Alessandra again and would highly recommend it to traveling families.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Glad that it worked for you. A family of four needs a little space we think, so our big spacious rooms are a great solution. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment here - we do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Great staff who helped out with sorting out car chaos and best places to see and eat. The hotel just fits what you think it should be in an old city like Florence. So close to all the sights, great room and breakfast!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Florentine car chaos is an old old story! Our best advice is - don't bring one! Car2Go is now active in Florence, and the train service is great for getting to other cities. But glad we got you sorted on this occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

A very nice place to stay. Small bisiness greatlocation great value and very comfortable room. We took the big room with partial river view and we had an amazing time. Very friendly staff and we would definitly stay there again if we visit florence. Thank you alessandra for the wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amiraam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Our pleasure! And we hope to do it all again sometime. Join our facebook page and offer up some of your experiences to future guests - they really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,717 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#32 of 412 in Florence
2,296 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#42 of 412 in Florence
802 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 412 in Florence
1,766 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing