We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice.”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #38 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We (two adults and two children aged 8 and 11) stayd in a family room in February 2009. It cost 150 euros per night. The best aspects of the hotel are 1) the location - two minutes to Ponto Vechio, 3 from the Uffizi, and near shops and restaurant.; 2) the staff, who were unfailingly helpful, friendly and thoughtful; 3) the room, which was large and comfortable and 4) the breakfast, which was good, plentiful and had variety. It is an old hotel but set quietly off the main street. The shower and bath worked and the bathroom was clean. The only thing I can think of that was negative - far outweighed by all the positives - was that there was dust under the beds.

A couple of tips: We found Florence hugely expensive, given the depreciation of sterling against the euro. We ate an excellent lunch at Maioli (across Ponte Vechio and on your left) which had excellent pasta and pumpkin cream gnochi, lasagna and other treats and fed four of us for 36 euro. Try to eat at bar type establishments to save money. Second, go in February - very few tourists!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2009

We stayed for a few days and found our room to be ideally situated, close to major sites, but far enough removed from busy streets to give a quiet night's sleep. Our room was very comfortable and the staff was marvelous. Their office manager was arguably the most helpful we met during a month-long stay in Italy. He really took time to recommend places/things to see and do. Also, we speak only beginner-level, tourist Italian (we're Californians), and the manager's fluent English was much appreciated. We chatted with several fellow tourists in Florence who were staying at other places, and the bulk of them just whined about their accommodations—all while paying more. Tisk, tisk... We loved the "Hotel-A" and will definitely stay there again the next time we're in Florence.
I would recommend the Hotel Alessandra to anyone seeking a no-nonsense, comfortable, quiet, pleasant place to stay. (If you're looking for a posh, four-star joint where you can sip belinis while being given a hot stone massage and fanned with palm fronds—look elsewhere.) The only thing that might be a problem for some people are the stairs (about 75 steps); fortunately, a tiny elevator is available and functions perfectly.
Overall, the Hotel-A is a really great deal in Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSantaBarbarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Not the most luxurious of accommodations but nice, clean, and comfortable. The staff more then compensated. They were extremely helpful in getting us museum tickets, making recommendations, and in treating us like family. We even got a hug when checking out. Everyone there went out of their way to make sure that we (and other guests) had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryluvs2run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

I was pleasantly surprised at the size and layout of our room. We had plenty of space for our luggage and to relax between sight-seeing adventures. The bath was also very large. The location was great because we were a short stroll from major sights, yet situated on a quiet street. In the mornings, we opened our shutters to the street and really felt that we were part of Florence.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadyToGo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

The room was big, the bathroom a good size, the staff are great fun, the advice on restaurants was perfect, the recommended day trips reflected local knowledge about value for money. A few minutes from Ponte Vecchio, five from the Duomo. You won't go wrong staying here

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanStLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

This little gem is located right in the centre of all of your wish list. A quiet side street 5 mins from the Uffisi, 2 mins from the shops and Ponte Vechio.
Evening strolls by the Arno. A wide selection of Restaurants and Trattatoria offering excellent food with 'Tourist Menus' that will not break the budget.
Wonderful staff and nothing is too much trouble.
Don't be put off by the cosy lift it's all part of the charm.

Jackie & Roy

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMTGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Hotel Alessandra is a small, centrally located hotel in Florence. It's located on a quiet street near Ponte Vecchio. It is also within walking distance of the Accademia gallery and the Ufficio museum. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The staff speaks English and is very helpful. They set up our reservations at Accademia and Ufficio when we provided our choice through email before our arrival in Florence. The continental breakfast provided during our visit had all the usual amenities, but also included cold cuts and small baguettes. This provided for a nice little brunch before going shopping or to the museums. The only small drawback, is that the elevator only goes down to the second floor, but this is easily forgotten in the excitement of the day and adventure. Overall, we had a very pleasant time at this hotel, and would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonardodecatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,835 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,816 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 409 in Florence
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#74 of 409 in Florence
625 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 409 in Florence
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £73 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing