We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The customer service was truly exceptional in every regard!”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #40 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2009

From helping to locate my lost luggage and arrange to have it delivered, patient instruction on Internet usage, an excellent recommendation for day trips as well as long sight-seeing walks, reliable information about the best times to enter popular tourist attractions and to view the Easter pageant, all assistance was rendered cheerfully and provided in important detail.

Rooms are charming and functional. The clip clop of passing carriage horses below was a lovely sound and the view across adjoining rooftops gave an ever-changing view of the city.

The hotel is easily accessible from the bus station and is less than a block from the Ponte Vecchio. The breakfast each morning in the hotel dining room was varied and delicious, with cups of cappuccino readily prepared to order as well as hard boiled eggs, cereal, delicious croissants, milk, juice, assorted fruit and many other choices. Visitors mingled freely in the dining area and enjoyed the company of other travelers sharing a good experience.

The hotel owner and staff members created a very welcoming environment for our group. The serendipitous choice of the Hotel Alessandra for our two week stay in Florence set the tone for a truly memorable trip!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorMom072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2009

Although we have yet to stay here due to a list minute change of plan, I felt compelled to write a review because of the positive experience I had corresponding with the staff. Not only was Andrea willing to waive any cancellation fees, he was sympathetic and understanding of our situation. That was not the situation with other hotels we had to deal with. We will definitely be staying here when we rebook in the fall.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skier4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We have been to this hotel many times over the years, and the efficiency, professionalism and warmth of the owners, the Gennarini family, and their staff get better each time we visit.

The hotel is in a palazzo built in the early 16th century, retaining the feel of its historical past, whilst offering all modern amenities we expect for our stay today. The rooms are of a good size, well appointed with modern bathroom with shower and bidet. The room remained spotless throughout our week's stay through daily service cleaning.

Breakfast is good, offering cereals, boiled eggs, toast, cheese, sliced prepared meat, fruit, yogurt, jams, fruit juice and tea and coffee. Espresso and cappuccino, including decaffeinated, is on offer also.

The hotel is situated on the second floor of the palazzo with a lift from the first floor. A gentle pietra serena stairway takes you from the ground floor to the lift.

The hotel is ideally situated near the Ponte Vecchio, making it in easy reach of all the major attractions of this wonderful Renaissance city. Just around the corner is a truly fine little restaurant, Trattoria Nella in Via delle Terme 19. Their soups alone are to die for! Booking is recommended as its secret is out.

In summary, this is the hotel my wife and I hope to continue to return to for years to come. It has become something of a home from home for us. Try it! You should not be disappointed.

Patrick, London

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hagglup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We loved our stay at Hotel Alessandra! The location can't be beat. The hotel is within a short walking distance to all the major attractions. It is about a 5 minute walk to Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi Gallery. The staff is great! Andrea booked our museum reservations ahead of time and replied quickly each time I had a question via e-mail. Monty greeted us at arrival. He is sweet, funny and made us feel very comfortable right away. He also recommended some great restaurants. Our room was nice, a good size compared to other hotels we've stayed at in Europe. It was facing the street but we were surprised at how quiet it was. Breakfast was OK, they had the typical breads and cheeses although the capuccino more than made up for it! I really can't say anything bad about this hotel. We had a wonderful time in Florence and hope to be back someday at Hotel Alessandra. The nice thing about small hotels is the personal service you get.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

hotel alessandra is the best hotel experience of our 14 day trip to italy. Hotel is beautiful! Location good. Veiws wonderful!
I was particularly impressed with the staff at Alessandra - they are all excellent, helpful, friendly....I really can't say enough about them. I managed to twist my ankle while in Florence and they bent over backwards taking care of me (I decided not to tell them I was a doctor ;) so I got lots and lots of very helpful (and correct) advice. The only negative is the very long climb to the hotel entrance - however, we discovered in Italy this is the norm rather than the exception.
We arrived early in Florence and they made sure our room was ready before check-in. We were going to be leaving later than check-out so they kept our bags until we were ready for them. Added this just as another example of their incredible service.
Room was beautiful - my husband took pics of the bathroom - WOW! All marble! and HUGE!
Highly, highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaTravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This hotel was in a great location, had a clean room with a nice bathroom, and had a nice breakfast selection. The hotel has excellent and helpful staff. . . Andrea at the front desk was wonderful in recommending places to eat and any other thing we needed. I plan on going back to Florence and would stay at Hotel Alessandra in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illini_girl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

The hotel was ok - best feature is the location and hotel staff. There are a lot of stairs to reach the hotel desk but I could use the exercise anyway. Hotel is about 10-20minute walk from train station and all sights can be easily reached from the hotel. The breakfast was not that great, compared to same type of breakfast in hotels in Rome and Venice - the coffee was terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CodyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 411 in Florence
2,406 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#71 of 411 in Florence
636 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 411 in Florence
2,829 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,054 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £70 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing