We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alessandra
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$603
US$572
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Firenze Anglo American(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Degli Orafi(Florence)
US$396
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$317
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$970
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa(Florence)
US$638
US$485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$364
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$298
US$274
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Davanzati(Florence)
US$357
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,798)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveller rating
1,227
486
62
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,227
486
62
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsponte vecchiosmiley facesmall elevatorbell towerquiet streetflights of stairsview of the riverperfect locationtrain stationstay there againuffizi galleryyogurtheavy luggagehotel is locatedside streetgelatorestaurant recommendations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,141 - 1,146 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2009

A small family run hotel in a perfect location gave us a taste of the real Florence. Accommodations were very clean with a modern bathroom and an adequate size bedroom which had plenty of clothing storage allowing us to completely unpack. Always greeted by name by the desk staff who were extremely cheerful and helpful to all our needs and inquiries. The lift is very small and there are some stairs after you get off. The street was a quaint, quiet "alley"" and steps from the Ponte Vecchio so we did not take any public transportation. We feel lucky that we found this on our own by reading reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitneyconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Alessandra in Florence last week. We found the hotel to be quiet and very clean. The hotel entrance is up a few flights of stairs, however, there is an elevator for the luggage if needed. The front desk staff speak English and are very helpful and friendly. Your room has breakfast included and I loved the smiley face cappuccinos.
The hotel is central to every major attraction in Florence. Minutes walking to the Uffizi Gallery, The Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. Monti at the front desk suggested a fun and lively restaurant called Zio Gigi. We liked it so much we went there twice. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We found Hotel Alessandra through TripAdvisor and were delighted with the location and the friendliness of the staff. We had a superior double with a view of the Arno -- I couldn't resist booking "a room with a view" -- and the photo shows the very nice view we enjoyed. The bell tour outside the window did not ring at night, but a restaurant a few levels down started bringing tables and chairs out very early each morning, with grating sounds of metal dragging across stone, so beware of leaving windows open at night. In addition to the view, the room offered an ENORMOUS bathroom, even by American standards, with a full tub / shower and lots of room surrounding the toilet, sink and bidet. The furnishings were well-maintained and clean, and the room had a mini fridge as well.

Hotel staff was very helpful, from the moment of check in when they helped with bags, to our inquiries on how to visit the mountain suburb of Fiesole. The hotel staff patiently explained how to buy bus tickets (at tobacco stores!) and where to catch the bus, which allowed us to enjoy a truly relaxing afternoon in this lovely hill town -- much needed after fast-paced days of travel, museum visits and tours. The hotel kindly booked reservations to visit the Accademia Gallery (to see the David) and even had a print-out with my confirmation number ready for me when I checked in (and they had emailed it previously).

The breakfast was totally adequate, with cold cuts, pastries / rolls, yogurt and fruit. The coffee in the breakfast room was not great (seemed like American drip coffee - the horror!) but the attendant offered each morning to make cappuccino; we were usually in a hurry and didn't have a chance to try it.

The cost for wi-fi was very reasonable (1 Euro for 1 hour) but we found that the computer available in the lounge did not support webmail for certain US applications (yahoo and Microsoft webmail). Not a problem, since we didn't want to be bothered by work email anyway, but something for visitors to keep in mind.

Florence is a small town and walking anywhere is generally easy, but Hotel Alessandra still had an ideal location. We walked from the train station in about 15 minutes carrying our luggage. The main tourist sites were generally even closer.

We particularly enjoyed the bar across the street, stopping in for a coffee in the afternoon and enjoying the wine selection at night. They are a vendor for a number of small Tuscan wineries and we were introduced to some varietals we had never tasted before. Wine by the glass also came with a tremendous amount of appetizer items including various types of bruschetta and cheese. Stop by on your way out to dinner, ask for the staff to select your wine, and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZamiaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We loved our time at Hotel Alessandra. While, the rooms are quite old and simple they are clean and charming and it is in a perfect location, just a few steps from the ponte vecchio, includes a good breakfast and Monte at the front desk looked after us like we were family. He explained where to go to us and even recommended local restaurants (the 4 Leoni was the best restaurant of our 5 week trip and is frequented by celebrities).

For the price you cannot get a better place to stay in Florence.

Pros:
- It's in the centre of Florence next to the river
- Walking distance from train station
- Monte at the front desk was absolutely charming
- Excellent value.

Cons:
- The rooms could use some renovations but if they did it wouldn't be this cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambino0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights here, and would stay again if we return to the city.
As mentioned, there are stairs to reach the little elevator, but it was only an issue when we arrived with our luggage. The staff was very nice in helping us with our bags and the stairs upon departure.
Our room was spotless, the staff fantastic, the breakfast filling and the location great. What more could one ask for in a hotel? I highly recommend this hotel.
Thanks for a great visit!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank calimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews