We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #34 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location, nice people”
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The location is super and that's all that matters in Italy. Number two comes the extremely friendly stuff - a nice break as I didn't find the service in Italy to be generally friendly. And, finally, everything worked in the room - air, bath appliances, and Internet. For the price of a room - a gem.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Manager/ownership at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Alessandra in Florence soon again.

My best

Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    451
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
348
816
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

This is a centrally located hotel with your basic amenities. The service was friendly , helpful and attentive. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and large by European standards. If you require a wheelchair accesible hotel, this would not meet your needs as you must use a few stairs before getting on the lift.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithvilleWorkingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Manager/ownership at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review about Hotel Alessandra in Florence. I was happy to read that you rate the hotel so highly appreciating our efforts to meet your needs. Because of the stairs we agree with you when you say that our house would be an ideal choice for those travellers in need of a wheelchair access. I look forward to welcoming you back again

My best
Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phiadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We had six lovely days in Florence at the Hotel Alessandra. We were in a superior room, which was quite large and well appointed. It was very clean as well.
The location of this hotel is excellent, very near to the Ponte Vecchio, very central.
The down side to this hotel would be the entrance. There are many steps just to get to the elevator, which is quite small, and then more steps to get to the entrance to the hotel. During the summer months, that staircase is quite warm. This hotel is fine for someone in good physical shape. Our room was on the top floor and without using the elevator, it was exactly 100 steps from the street to our room. With the elevator maybe 45. On the brightside, they could advertise a lovely stay and a good workout daily! :-)
The staff was very nice and helpful as well.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aeroguen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Alessandra, Manager/ownership at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review I'm so happy that you have had nice time staying with us. Unfortunately we cannot easily improuve the entrance of the building since is not under our direct management and we have to deal with other parties, we hope we can manage somethingh in the future about this.
Anytime you decide to come back to visit our Firenze we will be happy to host you again with us

My best,

Andrea Gennarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

So how could a little hotel up 3 flights of stairs with modest furnishings and breakfast be number 8 out of 500 hotels in Florence on TA? One word, service and friendliness. No problem was too small, no question too silly. The staff is happy to help you in any way possible. We e-mailed them a week before to get reservations at the Ufizzi and Academia for certain dates and times. Done! No problem. Got their e-mail confirmation the next day. Restaurant recommendations? Just tell them what you're looking for. The walk from the train station is very easy even with a wheeled 22" bag. You're around the corner from the Ponte Vecchio. Go across the street to the wine bar Mangiafocco and taste wines with Max and Francesco in the afternoon. Lunch is fantastic. Would absolutely stay again when in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MhaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaGennarini, Owner at Hotel Alessandra, responded to this review, 28 September 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words! We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I'll echo the scores of other reviews. Hotel Alessandra is very welcoming and homey. My daughter and I stayed here for several days in June and it could not have been nicer. Friendly people, clean but simple room, nice view of the Arno river, good restaurant recommendations- which was key. In fact, the only so-so restaurant experience we had was at a beautiful terrace bistro that Monty specifically did not recommend. We went there anyway since it was picturesque, but neither food nor house wine was good. That was so minor in the overall scheme of the visit. Perfectly located, so comfortable. The only iffy issue was internet connection, but hey--you are in a lovely old building and you can't expect speedy wireless. Besides, the office at Hotel Alessandra was more than helpful and accomodating. Overall, wonderful stay and terrific value.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishingcarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We loved our stay at Hotel Alessandra. Above all, it had the best reception and service. They were friendly and helpful (and actually smile!!) which i feel, makes a hug difference with your stay. The rooms were HUGE and clean. We only had a washbowl in our room (no bathroom) but i don't regret the decision to save the money. The bathroom was only across the hall. The hotel is old (i think the 1400s) but it was kept up and clean and gave it a nice charm. Great location...yet it was a longer walk, than expected from train station-( probably 15-20 minutes by foot). The internet was having problems and we had a hard time staying online.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, WA
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Location and service were what made the differen in this hotel. Located in downtown Florence, along a quite side street, the Allesanrea id within easy walking distance to the entire city and all of its attractions. We return to Florence an unplanned second time during our trip, which is when we discovered this hotel. Without preplanning, the staff were able to pull of the miricle of procuring us same day tickes to both thhe Officia and Michangelo's David. Both (especially David) we wiull be remembering and talking about for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmurray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,217 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#37 of 421 in Florence
2,614 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
1,676 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing