We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location \ fabulous hosts!”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #35 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location \ fabulous hosts!”
Reviewed 28 March 2010

My husband and I staying at the Hotel Alessandra this past October after traveling from the Amalfi Coast. Andreas and his mother couldn't have been more welcoming. We were met outside the city parking restriction area (to avoid a ticket) and were were promptly whisked to the hotel door. Fortunately, we pack light; while there is a lift, it starts at the first floor. The location cannot be beat - we had a view of the River Arno and were within walking distance of all that you want to see in Florence - the Pontevecchio, the Academia, the Duomo and some fabulous restaurants. The room was the best in all of Italy. This family run hotel is a gem and I would recommend this hotel without reservation. The hospitality and morning breakfast were superb. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathierose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,167
    457
    61
    12
    10
See reviews for
351
823
149
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FYW
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The hotel is located in the heart of the interest area. The breakfast is great. The attention is very kind. The cleanliness is very good. The room is spaciuos but old, so it is the bathroom. You can get everywhere from there at any time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, UK
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2010

As soon as we rang the bell and Andrea came down to get the bags, we knew we were going to have another lovely stay in the Hotel Alessandra. This was our second visit, and though the weather was threatening snow, the welcome was as warm as last year, so warm that in fact, they upgraded us to the Suite Baccio!! This, with large rooms, elegant furniture, views to the Arno from windows and balcony, efficient central heating, extremely comfortable beds, good linen and enormous bathroom, was stylish indeed!!

Nothing was too much trouble for Andrea and his team. Information, recommedations, history, culture or early taxsi for the airport and wake up calls. Everything has handled with friendly efficiency. Although not on our itinerary, the hotel can arrange guided trips, cooking lessons and even vintage Fiat 500 hire to explore the surrounding countryside!
Breakfasts were excellent, fresh coffee and choices of cereals, pastries, yougurts, fruit and breads or toast, served in a tall ceilinged, elegant breakfast room. There was also a comfortable sitting room with internet access for guests, though this year we did not need it, rexlaxing as we did in the comfort of our Suite!
The hotel is in a really central position, right in the centre of Florence, one street back from the Arno and the Ponte Veccio, two minutes from the Piaza della Signoria, yet within walking distance of the train and bus stations.
I certainly believe that the Alessandra gives excellent value for money, what sets it apart for me is the quality of the welcome. It has been a delight to spend time with such warm and friendly people; I can't wait to visit them on my next trip to Florence

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApiaWinchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The hotel is centrally located and very convenient. The owners are so very kind and helpful as were all the staff. This is a very clean and beautiful hotel with all the warmth and charm of Florence.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertobaggio_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Located off a quiet alley/street in a great location in the heart of the city. The staff is warm, friendly, and helpful. Lovely, very small and simple room which was a wonderful oasis after a long day of exploring the city. Clean and comfortable. Wonderful bathtub for a long soak with a glass of wine! Very good breakfast each morning in a quiet dining area. Only drawback might be the walk up one flight of steps from street level to get to the tiniest one-person elevator I've ever seen! A bit difficult if you are hauling luggage. Don't let that stop you. A great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Hotel Alessandra is located in the heart of historic Florence ... and more than that, it’s a hotel with heart! We made it our home away from home for nine days in February 2010, and Andrea and his friendly staff looked after us like family.

Hotel Alessandra is ideally located, just a stone’s throw from the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi, and easy walking distance to all the major monuments and galleries, including the Duomo, Piazza Signoria, Palazzo Vecchio, Pitti Palace, and Oltrarno. It’s also just a few paces to Via de' Tornabuoni if designer fashion boutiques are your goal: for example, the Ferragamo flagship store and shoe museum are right at the end of the street.

The hotel is located in a building dating from 1507, and it’s easy to imagine you’re in your own palazzo – large rooms with high ceilings, well-appointed with furniture, draperies, and comfortable beds. This time we were in the Suite Baccio, which has two “rooms with a view” of the Arno and a private balcony. We have stayed in other rooms on previous visits. The rooms are very clean, with pristine linens and towels. There was plenty of storage space for all our gear: generous closet space, luggage racks, built in shelves for sweaters etc. The in-room safe is another convenient feature. The bathroom was by far the largest we’ve found in several trips to Italy, and we enjoyed the luxury of a towel warmed on the in-bathroom radiator.

Friendly greetings and knowledgeable service are available from the desk staff 24/7. We appreciated help with arrangements such as wake-up calls, taxis, reservations for galleries, and informed suggestions for restaurants and shops. Two favourite restaurants we discovered this way were Osteria del Porcellino and Zio Gigi (thank you, Monti!). We used the free wi-fi in our room; if you left your laptop at home, there’s also a free Internet Point in the sitting room. There is a good supply of books available for light reading or research, and we found several books providing details on art history and cultural sites that supplemented our guidebooks.

We enjoyed starting each day with a “happy face” cappuccino in the bright and spacious breakfast room. The continental breakfast buffet includes cereals, fresh breads and pastries, toast, fruit salad, yogurt, boiled eggs, and more. Then there’s the special care and attention that made us feel like family, e.g. one day we came in feeling a bit frozen from the damp cold and Andrea brought a tray of hot tea to our room.

We will definitely stay at Hotel Alessandra again on future visits to Florence!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knightspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

our room (21) was huge, with a high ceiling and a view (partial) on the Arno and belltower of the church of Santi Apostoli. no problem knowing the time as it chimes the hours, but we were never bothered because we were usually out taking advantage of Florence's inexhaustible cultural feast. Staff more than just helpful, they made us feel welcome as though they were really glad to see us every day. and what a location! we feel like we have a timeshare of a palazzo 200m from the Ponte Vecchio and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedgorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing