We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #42 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Universally positive: really helpful, friendly staff, great value, amazing location and a really characterful building with comfortable beds. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    465
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
357
830
150
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I'm a student studying abroad in Florence for the spring semester in 2010. My family came to visit me and we had no idea what hotel they should stay at. My mom found Hotel Alessandra on Trip Advisor and she asked me to stop by and make a reservation for them. When I walked in the staff was so friendly and spoke perfect english which helped me a ton. They showed me different rooms that my parents and sister could stay in and I picked the one I wanted to reserve. The location was fabulous, so close to the ponte vecchio and the heart of Florence. When my family arrived they were fabulous, helping us pick restaurants and figure out how to get to the soccer stadium. My parents loved staying there and the staff truly made them feel at home. When my family was leaving they even told me that I could come to them if I ever needed anything, since I still had 2 months left in Florence. I recommend this hotel to anyone. It was very clean, easy to get to, and just the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karas1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I just spent four nights at the Hotel Alessandra. I was fortunate to get a special (four nights for the price of three). Hotel is an easy fifteen-minute walk from the train station. Though it is in the main tourist hub of Florence, it still gave off a nice calmness. Rooms are decently furnished. Book a room with a partial view of the Arno; it's well-worth the extra cost.

Andrae and Monty at the front desk are the main reason to stay at the hotel. Practically everything they recommended was most entertaining and satisfying, from day trips to museum reservations, off-the-map restaurants and laundry services.

Breakfast was a dismal experience for me. Your typical Italian Tang-like orange juice, hard bread, toast, yogurt, slices of ham and cheese. This is a two-star and it shows in the breakfast offerings.

Though wi-fi Internet services are complimentary, it can be dreadfully slow.

I'd come back to this hotel again if I were to return to Florence. Kudos to an energetic team!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onebigepicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laneypie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The staff here was absolutely fantastic. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. The breakfast buffet in the morning was impressive, also. The location of Hotel Alessandra is ideal, too. It is less than five minutes from Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi, about five minutes from the Duomo, and about ten minutes from the Accademia. We had two complaints about this hotel: the cleanliness was not consistent (there were crumbs on the floor when we arrived, and the bathrooms did not appear to have been cleaned) and the walls were very thin (we could hear other guests' conversations). We did notify the staff of these two issues (after we left), and they were very apologetic. The owners (mother and son) were charming and extremely friendly and helpful. In addition, the room was very large (compared to the others in which we stayed in Italy) and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laneypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We asked for a room with a view of the Arno River. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. The hotel is in a great central location. The staff are
very helpful, pleasant and professional, particularly the funny delightful Monti, who's been working for this family operated hotel for 20 years. Adequate continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europhile43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2010

The Hotel Allessandra is centrally located near the Arno, the Duomo, Uffizzi, and reasonably-priced restaurants. Be prepared to climb a few stairs, but the staff were awesome and helped us with our luggage once we got up to the hotel level of the building. The desk staff spoke English and helped guide us whenever we asked. Our room was clean with high ceilings and a view over Florence's rooftops. The bathroom was beautiful marble. Breakfast was just fine, and the people we met were friendly. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mijoOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in late March 2010, and experienced very friendly staff, a clean comfortable room, good breakfast and an ideal location (10 min walk to Uffizi, Arno, Piazza della Signora). Price is right, internet access available, we were very pleased with our experience here!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john070171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,268 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,670 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 422 in Florence
1,719 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#51 of 422 in Florence
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing