We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alessandra is in an great location and has excellent service!”
Review of Hotel Alessandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alessandra
Ranked #39 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
“Hotel Alessandra is in an great location and has excellent service!”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This hotel is ideally situated one block from Pont Vecchio.
Each day the staff not only helped us find our way and make a reservation for dinner (with suggestions for good food), they were also friendly and welcoming. As an added bonus, they are one block from Trattoria Nella, which is a perfect place for dinner (try the pasta with walnut sauce!). We will definitely be staying there the next time we're in Florence!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    470
    62
    13
    10
See reviews for
363
837
153
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We could not have been happier with Hotel Alessandra. We spent two weeks traveling in Italy and our stay here was the best of the trip. The double room was spacious, clean, and quiet. We chose to not have the private bath, something we have never done before, but it was not an issue here. There were two bathrooms available seconds away from our door and they were always clean and available. We had no problems. From the first moment of our arrival, the staff made us feel very welcome and they graciously helped us contact restaurants for reservations, allowed us to make a personal call using their cell phone to contact a family member's home in Italy, gave great directions, and overall, their disposition was pleasant and genuine...none of our requests seemed like a bother to them and they inquired about our day and experiences while in Italy. They really aim to please, but not in a trying too hard or forced way. The breakfast was great: yogurt, croissants, boiled eggs, toast, deli meat and cheese, cereal...really, a plentiful spread compared to many places in Italy and in general, Europe. American coffee, tea, and cappuccino were available, too. The location is perfect. It is very near the Uffizi and the Duomo. It is located on a quieter street...the most noise we heard was the clopping of the horses and horse drawn carriages. We slept the best at the Hotel Alessandra for all its simple comfort (the beds were comfortable), but most importantly, the AC was cold! After a hot day touring the city, to return to a cool room was bliss...a luxury we didn't have in other places we stayed...we either declined the AC due to cost or the AC we were provided with wasn't powerful enough to feel cold.

All in all, I can't speak more highly of the Hotel Alessandra. It was a good deal for what we got and I would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoLeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I have been staying at the Alessandra for many years. For short-term stays, I consider it my Florentine home. It is extremely well located, friendly, well run and affordable. It possesses a charm and relaxed quality that one cannot find in a large hotel, yet without sacrificing any of the amenities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Andrea and Monti and the rest of the staff are very friendly and helpful, really made the stay enjoyable. Clearly a value, room sizes are very good and bathrooms more than adequate. Great breakfast by Italian standards. Location is terrific very close to Ponte Vecchio, Plaza Signoria and the Uffizi. Some great trattorias within one block, ask the staff and trust the suggestions they offer. I would recommend a stay, be ready for the stairs although the small elevator is just fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlubier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Nor
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

As soon as we stepped foot inside the hotel we were greeted with a very warm welcome from Monti, a member of the hotel staff, and every time we saw him after he continued to greet us with enthusiasm. His friendliness and behavior made this hotel stand out from any of the other hotels we stayed at while vacationing throughout Italy. Our room was very large and clean with a pretty view. The location of perfect, about a block away from the main thorough fare. This was definitely our favorite hotel on our trip and if we come back to Florence we will definitely be booking here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckbowker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Very clean, great WIFI, fantastic location, best of all was hotel staff. Outstanding service! The guys Monti and Andreas were so helpful and friendly. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigger21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra, australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed in the Hotel Alessandra for two nights. Our room was large and well equipped, including the bathroom. Air-conditioning was especially appreciated as it was very hot. Staff were very friendly and helpful, going out of their way to facilitate an early morning departure. They also booked two tours for us in advance as requested by email. The best hotel we stayed in on our whole holiday. Only slight issue to be aware of is that bags have to be carried up half a floor, as the lift doesn't go all the way to the ground floor.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvespucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,690 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 411 in Florence
2,286 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandra

Property: Hotel Alessandra
Address: Borgo Santi Apostoli 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alessandra 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is right in the heart of Florence old town - near to the Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. Without doubt, Hotel Alessandra is one of the most centrally located hotels in Florence. In this privileged position, Hotel Alessandra offers a home away from home, with our friendly team and extensive knowledge of the local area. The hotel entrance is situated on the second floor of the building. You can reach the reception floor using the lift, small but working fine (in the 1400s buildings hadn't been designed with this in mind!) But please note that there are around 30 steps from the entrance on the street level to the departure of the lift. We very much look forward to seeing you! Andrea and Anna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alessandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing