We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option outside the tourist craziness”
Review of Hotel Annalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Annalena
Ranked #224 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Pretty charming pensione with the antiques, not a generic hotel feeling. The showers are not the best, as others have said, but given that its Italy, its adequate. Its quiet and we slept well. Good breakfast with pleasant made to order coffee drinks. Spring for a room with the balcony. If you like to be away from the droves of tourists, this area is great, just be prepared to walk 20-30 minutes to the sights. Wish we would have tried the cash payment option someone else wrote about, as this place is not cheap.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mariegtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Spent a wonderful 12 days in Italy in July using Hotel Annalena in Florence as our base. It's a charming hotel, steeped in history and as such exudes an air of faded elegance and quiet secrecy. It's conveniently situated to places of historic interest (right opp. the Boboli Gardens, within walking distance of the Ponte Vecchio and the famous Dome), and Antonio and the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to a balcony if you're there in summer. It will add to your enjoyment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed for three nights on a full sightseeing trip to Florence and chose the Annalena as it had its own character and charm. It just about qualities for 'very good' though in reality it was something between 3 and 4 on the scale. The staff were helpful at times but not always as forthcoming as we needed, and not all spoke good enough English. There was an offer on the website of a cash discount for the rooms but this had to be asked for, and was at first refused, suggesting we had already had it in the price - keep insisting! We had two rooms and there were some problems, especially with one: safe did not work, wi-fi dodgy, TV channels not all working; also the problem with the shower in the bathroom which another reviewed mentioned regarding another room, it floods the floor. Some light bulbs were not working and were not replaced. The balcony was a welcome feature, perhaps worth paying more for. And the air conditioning did work well - very necessary for temperatures in the high 30s. There was plenty of hot water for the shower, but the water as a whole never got cold enough, and the fridge of the mini-bar did not keep things cold. The rooms were well serviced on the whole. The location was ok if you didn't want to be in the centre but it was more of a problem than anticipated; the bus service is not great so be prepared for lots of walking. Breakfast was fine and plentiful though the space reserved for it is cramped; it is not a separate room but partitioned off from the lounge and reception area. The lounge is a delightful feature, well stocked with artwork and books, but not large enough if there are too many guests and you want to have your own conversation or at least not hear someone else's. As an overall experience, not quite the value we hoped for, and not a hotel to go back to, though it was acceptable as a base for exploring an exceptional city.

Room Tip: Room 3 was better than 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

If you prefer a building which is steeped in history, away from the glitz and glamour of the more trendy hotels close to the Duomo, then this is the place to stay. Yes the place needs work, but I throroughly immersed myself in the history of the city when staying at Pensione Annalena. It was not 5 star accomodation, but I managed to rest well at night and enjoyed the magnificent garden next to the hotel as well as Giardino Boboli, across the road. Eveything of importance is within walking or even cycling distance. Once inside the hotel, walk on floors which had been laid down centuries ago, with the main entrance area exhibiting a magnificent ceiling. Remember though, it's NOT the glitz and glamour of other hotels, but simply authentic Florentine hospitality, just ask Antonio for everything you need, or any of his wonderful staff. No restaurant, but they have an arrangement with Trattoria Ginone, a short walk away from the Pensione.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are best, and quieter, if you can get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarKFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Antonio at the Annalena was SO helpful to our family. We decided to visit Florence the day before arriving! Antonio secured tickets for us to Uffizi and Academia even before we committed to staying at the Annalena.
Our room was very big for 4 people. The breakfast was great. The hotel does need some work, but the value is hard to beat!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed four nights at Hotel Annalena. Arriving in Florence by train, it was a quick bus ride across town to this lovely part of the city. Once inside the hotel, we loved the furniture and decor giving the hotel its old-world charm. Our room was light and airy, although the bathroom was really basic (with a shower curtain, rather than an actual shower stall). The breakfast is nice and the coffee is freshly made to order. Wifi was free and excellent. The hotel is within easy walking distance of major sights and there is a laundromat and a grocery store along the road from the hotel. Grab a brochure in the reception area to read all about Annalena's history.

Please note, the hotel itself is on the second floor of a large building without an elevator, so if you have lots of luggage or are mobility impaired this may not be the best place for you to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I spent the least amount of time choosing Hotel Annalena on our 3 week trip and it was our favorite hotel. We enjoyed the restaurants, shopping and people watching around Piazza Santo Spirito (especially Gusta Pizza). You feel less like a tourist in this area, yet it is so easy to walk to every Florence attraction and even the train station. The front desk staff was always helpful and welcoming. The rooms were simple, but had beautiful antique furniture. We loved our balcony too. We absolutely loved the fresh to order cappuccinos for breakfast and their wide assortment of bread, cereals, yogurts, meat, juices, etc. We will definitely stay here on our next Florence vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AyaAnto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Florent
#174 of 410 in Florence
178 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#130 of 410 in Florence
438 reviews
Hotel Panama
#247 of 410 in Florence
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#194 of 410 in Florence
299 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#150 of 410 in Florence
594 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Annalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annalena

Address: Via Romana 34, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £46 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Annalena 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are very quiet, very elegant and suggestive, but even if the style reminds to the old Florence, there are all the necessary comforts like a private bathroom, tv, phone, minibar, haidryer and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Annalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annalena Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing