We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled upon this hotel and became the highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Ranked #121 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were on our honeymoon, 13 years ago, when we found ourselves in Florence. We had not arranged anywhere to stay and I think my wife was having second thoughts about this feckless fool she had married. Luckily for us, we came across this hotel by complete accident and we were happy to find any old hotel that we could afford, at that stage. We were immediately charmed by the hotel and the staff. I remember how we flung open the shuttered windows in our antique room and disturbed a couple of white doves who promptly flew off over the tuscan roof tops and in to the sunset. What a view. It was my wife's birthday and there was a tap at the door. It was the extremely elderly porter who ushered us to the roof terrace where they surprised her with Prosecco and Parma ham. We often reminisce of our honeymoon and daydream about visiting Florence again one day in our future. Date visited: July 2001

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESilvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tornabuonihotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for sharing with us your memories of your honeymoon that you spent with us. We loved your descripion of our roof garden terrace the doves and sunset. We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

firstly... the hotel looks much better in real life than it does in photos. right next door to burberry the location was perfect. 10min work to everywhere (piazza repubblica, ponte vecchi) our stay was amazing.

the stairs in the hotel was like a maze, but it was still beautiful. our room and our friends room had terrace/balcony over looking the roof tops of Florence.

the hotel's top terrace.. SPEECHLESS!!! a priceless moment looking over the city of Florence. our rooms was a good size and clean. wish we stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joolee2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Excellent locaiton, the hotel is situated on a fashionable brand name street (it can be called Rodeo Drive in Florence), romantic and European old fasioned decor, roomy. Good variety breakfast.
It was a good choice to stay at this hotel. But there are few things that can be improved: first, the furniture is kind of old and shaky for this kind of nice and expensive hotel. Second the front desk staff should give more accurate information. We booked a Tuscany for one day tour, and was informed by the hotel staff that the tour company will pay for both taxi fee, but we were only get paid on the way there. According to the tour company, they told hotel that and this is their normal practice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weihua Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

If you are arriving via train, there is no need to get a taxi to this hotel from the train station as it is literally less than a ten minute walk through the beautiful city centre of Florence. When you arrive, you will see why this hotel is such great value... you are literally walking distance from everything, even Stadio Artemio Franchi (about twenty to thirty minutes). The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and very clean. Well, Florence itself is the cleanest city I've ever visited.The staff were extremely hospitable and friendly; every time I passed a hotel staff member I was greeted and asked if there was anything with which I could be assisted. The hotel is full of character with lots of corridors and landings with rooms branching off every which way. There are quite a few patio areas to enjoy any time of the day or night which look over the city.

My room was sweet and cozy. It was small but I didn't need any more space. It was clean, especially the bathroom. There was plenty of storage and a small flat-screen on a desk. No kettle / hot drinks, but these were free at any of the various bars throughout the hotel (open very early to very late). The bar prices were very reasonable as far as alcohol goes - I had a glass of wine one night. It's worth noting this is not a chain hotel and the rooms are not cookie-cutter rooms. Do not expect a perfect paint job or brand new wardrobes or anything like that; the character is something to be admired.

One thing I had never experienced before was the way in which you use hotel keys (at least in the hotels I visited)... you don't keep the keys with you, but reception keeps them and you pick them up / drop them off when you arrive or leave the hotel. It's hard to forget this as the keys will be attached to something heavy or awkward (a heavy metal doubloon or a large tassel). Just a note, really, in case you are handed the key and you begin to wonder how you're going to lug it around.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. It's great value, especially if you book in advance. You'll feel like you're living the high life. It's a great feeling to know you're already in the middle of everything when you wake up and step outside in the morning. Before you check out, take a peek at the guest book table as there are some very old guest books out and worth a bit of your time to paw through.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The location can not be better. Right in the heart of Florence you can walk to any nice places from here. What I like and make me came back each and every time I have the occasion to stay in Florence is the warm atmosphere of the hotel. It was an ancient palace for long stay where nobles from all over Europe liked to spend their Italian holidays. The character is still the same. On the top there is a nice breakfast room. During worm and hot season you can enjoy the unique terrace where you can see the sunset with a glass of prosecco. You do not need anything else!

Room Tip: The best rooms face tornabuoni street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcamarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is in an ideal location, about 5 minutes walking from the train station and about 2 minutes from Ponte Vecchio. We received great customer service and helpful tips from Angelo!
Breakfast was very good, the room was very spacious and clean. I give the highest rating possible to this hotel; everything was perfect! Be sure to visit the terrace of the hotel; it provides a stunning view of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivan28102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Pros:
-Great location in the centre of Florence. About a 10-minute walk from the train station, right in the center of Florence's high-end shopping district (hotel literally sits above a Burberry boutique).
-Character! Feels less like a hotel and more like a grand estate or B&B, with antique-filled hallways, staircases, and passages that wind their way among rooms that are each unique from one another.
-Delicious breakfast included. When we went (November), it was served in a large, elegant dining room on the second floor. During warmer months it is served on the a neat patio on the fourth floor that adjoins a small bar.
-Despite not requesting nor expecting any kind of upgrade, we received a huge room on the top (5th) floor with an unbelievable view of the city and the hills in the distance (looking west). Room was very large even by American standards.
-Nicely-appointed bathroom with bidet, heated towel rack, and a shower with excellent water pressure despite being on the top floor.
-Staff was uniformly warm, accomodating, and professional. We rarely walked from our room down to the lobby without seeing one or two housekeepers cleaning the halls or meticulously dusting the antiques. Very good standard of cleanliness.

Cons:
-Hotel and furnishings are definitely showing their age, and the rooms are not quite as well-furnished as the public spaces. In our room, the dresser and wardrobe were rickety almost to the point of being unusable.
-Firm bed and thin pillows made for slightly restless sleep.
-Wifi was free but slow and unstable (probably didn't help that we were in an extremity of the hotel).
-Hotel is located within the ZTL (if you're arriving by car, look this up and make sure that you understand the rules associated with driving within it). Wasn't a huge inconvenience for us, but after a day of shopping we had to wait until after 7:30 PM to pull up to the hotel and unload our rental car or risk getting fined.

Overall, my wife and I greatly enjoyed our stay at the Tornabuoni Beacci. Your enjoyment of the hotel will depend on your expectations - you'll be disappointed if you expect a recently-remodeled, sumptuously-furnished four-star room, but if you want character, a great location, and a good value, it's tough to beat in Florence.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donato86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 410 in Florence
372 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 410 in Florence
1,567 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#57 of 410 in Florence
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#106 of 410 in Florence
732 reviews
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#44 of 410 in Florence
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Address: Via Tornabuoni, 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#102 Business Hotel in Florence
#126 Family Hotel in Florence
#152 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £98 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bechi Family is happy to welcome you to the site of the Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci to discover this charming hotel which is located in two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, on one of Florence’s most elegant shopping streets and close to the monuments which have made this city famous the world over. The Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci with its heirloom furnishings, refined elegance and modern comforts is a charming and enchanting location on Florence’s most elegant shopping street, the Via de’ Tornabuoni. The hotel consists of two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, two unique buildings in the heart of Florence’s artistic and historical centre, close to the Ponte Vecchio bridge, the Uffizi Art Gallery and the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore with Brunelleschi’s famous dome and Giotto’s belfry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacci Tornabuoni Hotel Florence
Beacci Tornabuoni Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing