We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four star hotel? You must be joking...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Ranked #118 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Four star hotel? You must be joking...”
Reviewed 23 May 2009

I don't know if there are a completely different tier of rooms at this hotel, but the room we stayed in was not pleasant. First off, it was in dire need of a paint job - the walls were dirty and had the scuffs of many years of abuse. The shower had a faucet directly under a non-adjustable shower head, so you couldn't shower without a piece of metal sticking into your back. The bed was beyond uncomfortable, which I come to expect in Europe. And there was no climate control at all - the room was disgustingly humid. Add to that the fact that the screens wouldn't open and close to operate the shutters, and you have one pretty bad room.

Then there's the service. Or lack thereof. We checked in and were informed that we had to bring our own bags up because he didn't have anyone available. But oddly enough, when checking out, we still had to bring our bags down despite there actually being someone in our room who could have done it! How does this hotel earn four stars with no bell service??

The only good things about the hotel are the relative location to many of the attractions in Florence and the lovely roof deck, which we only found out about on our last night, since no one at the hotel bothered to tell us of the amenities.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    329
    106
    34
    24
See reviews for
209
369
52
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

This hotel is fantastic. We can't wait to return!
Our room (221) was magnificant! It had 20' ceilings, hard wood floors, his & her closets, & a "seperate" bedroom area (seperate from the living room). The bed was comfortable. The sofa & chairs in the living room were great.
The bathroom had both a tub & a large shower with great water pressure. The shampoo they provide smells heavenly.
Our room faced the road, so it was a little noisy, but we simply closed the exterior shutters & the window...bring ear plug if you're a very light sleeper because the street cleaners are out early.
You have a grand staircase leading up to the rooms (along with 2 lifts if required). The decor is fabulous!
It is perfectly located. An easy walk (15 minutes) from the train station, on a street with high fashion boutiques (right beside Tiffany's), the Ponte Vecchio is only a 5 minute walk away. Lots of restaurants nearby.
The staff is very friendly, helpful & quiet.
Breakfast was good & had a wide variety. Rooftop terrace is nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We were there over the Easter holidays. The weather was wonderful. So was the hotel. I loved the ambiance. The furnishings were antique. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Everyone spoke some English. Rooftop garden/bar was wonderful. Very close to all activities. Hotel had a great breakfast, which was included. We were five in our group. We had a triple room, which was huge and a double room.
The only thing bad about Florence was that you had to pay extra for your seat in a restaurant. Chairs aren't included!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We had room 33. It has a tiny balcony, a good bathroom and a lovely feel. I liked the place a lot - good service, very quiet, wonderful ambience. The breakfast was fine - not special ingredients but varied and plentiful and in a comfortable room with good ambience and service.
I didnt use the bar but iit looked good, very quiet.
The location is fantastic. Everywhere is just a short walk away: Arno, Piazza Signoria, everything.
Small TV, good bathroom, minbar
And I slept extremely well!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Positano, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Great value quality/price!
The hotel is in a great location, on the luxury shopping street, a few minutes walking from the main attractions in Florence as the Ponte vecchio and Piazza della Signoria.
Receptionist: extremely kind and warm.
Rooms: clean, some of them larger but anyway a good size with comfortable beds and provided with nice good looking old style decorated furniture and all the main services as tv, hair-dryer, fridge, heater or ac.
Position: the best.
Breakfast: Complete for the hotel category and price.
Coffee or cappuccino, cereals, juices, bread and croissants, butter, jam, chocolate cream, yogurt, ham and cheese. And the breakfast waitress absolutely gentle and friendly.
It's not true housekeepers are loud in the corridors;
I appreciated the opposite. Clean and relaxing. Flowers allover and very nice outdoor terrace.
It looks like a luxury hotel with a family run style.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bussola76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

My husband and I spent six nights at the Beacci Tornabuoni over Christmas and couldn't have been more pleased. Everyone, from the front desk staff, to the maids, to the young men/porters/barmen, were all extremely helpful and friendly. The location is one of the best in Florence, right on the "Fifth Avenue of Florence", the Tornabuoni, on the fourth floor over Tiffany's. Can't get better than that! Yes, there is a lift, with a locked door at street level, so it's all very secure. All the major sights are within walking distance and the proximity to the Oltrano, with numerous wonderful restaurants, was ideal for us. Plus, the Roberto Cavalli Cafe was just down the street and they made the best cappuccino's we'd ever tasted (and we've had many!).

Layout of the hotel is comprised of many comfortable lounging rooms to relax in big overstuffed chairs and couches, along with a separate room for the bar, and a lovely breakfast room. The only complaint we could make would be that the mattresses need to be replaced, as they are much too soft. Other than that, everything was perfect and we would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Florence.

  • Liked — Location and the staff!
  • Disliked — Beds were too soft!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaminQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Great hotel, beautifully decorated. The staff were friendly, and the portier even helped us with our luggage (it almost never happens in Europe!!). The room was clean and spacey. They had a beautiful roof terras, what seemed to be really promising for a spring/summer stay. The location is perfect, most of the important touristic locations are near. The hotel is located on a street full of expensive shops (Massimo Dutti, Prada, and the like) which is also fine (no ghetto or weird people in sight).

Too bad our flight was canceled, so we ended up a day later here and could only stay one night. Breakfast was also okay. If I ever go back to Florence, I'll definitely come back here!

  • Liked — The room, decoration, hospitality, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank c15ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#93 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Property: Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#101 Business Hotel in Florence
#126 Family Hotel in Florence
#152 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bechi Family is happy to welcome you to the site of the Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci to discover this charming hotel which is located in two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, on one of Florence’s most elegant shopping streets and close to the monuments which have made this city famous the world over. The Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci with its heirloom furnishings, refined elegance and modern comforts is a charming and enchanting location on Florence’s most elegant shopping street, the Via de’ Tornabuoni. The hotel consists of two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, two unique buildings in the heart of Florence’s artistic and historical centre, close to the Ponte Vecchio bridge, the Uffizi Art Gallery and the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore with Brunelleschi’s famous dome and Giotto’s belfry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacci Tornabuoni Hotel Florence
Beacci Tornabuoni Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing