We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Ranked #118 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Even though it was the middle of winter and pouring rain, the staff in this hotel went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms were dated but very clean. The cleaning staff were very courteous. Nothing was too much trouble. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    318
    103
    34
    22
See reviews for
198
364
51
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

This was our third stay at this hotel. The hotel's location is unsurpassed. Upon arrival, the first room we were offered had torn upholstery and stained furniture, and the Wi-Fi did not work. We asked for another room, and we immediately received a free upgrade to a very pleasant suite with lovely frescoes (and working Wi-Fi). Service was impeccable, and the front desk staff were as always extremely helpful. We loved dining on the roof terrace. (It would be wise for management to invest in something such as a fake owl to scare away the pigeons) BTW if you book directly with the hotel, you receive free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

After reading the comments, I'm surprised I didn't hear about the underhanded "game" this hotel plays with some of their guests. We booked a standard room at this hotel on Expedia (pre-paid). When we arrived at the hotel, the manager at the desk was not very welcoming and noted that we "only booked" a standard room. He then handed us two sets of keys: one for the standard room - and one for an upgraded suite that "we could have for 40 additional euros a night". First of all, I don't think you should play "Let's make a Deal" with your guests, but out of curiousity we went to look at the two rooms. The suite, was as expected, very nicely appointed but realistically, much bigger than our needs. However, the "standard" room was anything but - it was located in a dim area of the hotel almost like a cave. The room was also very shabby and something Cinderalla would have been banished to. Obviously, we decided to pay for the upgrade and mentioned to the manager that a hotel of their calibre should not even offer a room of such poor quality only to have him reply "oh, we have worse!" To me, this really sounds like a "big scam".

Anyways, needless to say the "suite" was very nicely appointed, but be forewarned - if you take any room at the front side of the hotel - the traffic noise will be unbearable as it has very old windows and the hotel itself is located right near one of the major streets/bridges in Florence. Without earplugs, you would never be able to sleep.

As for the buffet breakfast, compared to other hotels we stayed at in Italy, I would rate it as only average - there was not much choice and the breakfast room itself made us feel like we were in boarding school - long shared tables where the guests all sat quietly an ate while the staff stomped back and forth filling up coffee cups or cleaning the table. Kind of uninviting - also because the age demographic of most of the guests at this hotel were older (50s and 60s) while we were younger (30s) and so we didn't have alot in common to talk about in the breakfast room. To be sure, the hotel does have a lovely rooftop patio where you could eat your breakfast. But the pidgeon problem was pretty bad with some that would actually eat right off your plate while you were sitting there!

All in all, I would rate this hotel as only "average" - it could be much higher given its location and beautiful building in the heart of Florence. But the "scam" it played with us and noisey sleep, lack choice for breakfast and minimal service definitely takes away from the experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrysbar, Proprietario at Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
We have just read your comment regarding your stay at Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci in Firenze. This complain really hurt our feelings. The Hotel is on business since 1917, owner, manager and all the staff have as priority well being of our guests. On the web there are hundreds of reports about the hotel and we are proud that everybody enjoy our hotel and that we have many repeated guests that have been coming here for over 30 years, also stated in our guest’s book on the fourth floor.
We cannot tell, being your message anonymous, which room you had and when you stayed in Firenze, we assume that you took advantage of a very special offer posted on Expedia for one standard room. Upon check-in, having available also one suite we offered an upgrade paying a difference, as is custom in all the hotels of the world.
Our location is the best of town, near the main sights, museums and churches, the area is nice and safe, via Tornabuoni is in the restricted traffic area, but it might be still noisy if you are not used to live in the city.
We thank you for letting us know that you have not appreciated the long common tables in the breakfast room and having focus the problem about the pigeons, problems many times told to the mayor administration, up to now has not yet provided to solve the matter. The law do not allow us to operate any solution. Though we do not understand why you were annoyed by the fact that our guests' average at that time was between 50 and 60.

Sincerely yours

Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights at this hotel and loved it! Loved the hotel, staff and location! Staff at main desk very friendly and helpful aswell as breakfast/bar staff! The hotel is ideally placed for everything - especially around the corner for the gorgeous sunset over the river and bridges! The room itself was lovely and clean - my only small fault being the bathroom - although mainly the over bath shower as the shower screen was rubbish - causing water to be sprayed and leak under it onto the floor soaking the place but if we were careful wasn't so bad but defo not ideal! The rooftop garden is fantastic for just relaxing with a drink before heading out for dinner or after coming in from dinner! We had breakfast here every morning also which was lovely (pigeons being the only pesky things here and recking the tables when someone got up from their breakfast which led to me at one point taking their tray in after them as abot 20 pigeons descended the table next to us almost landing on our heads!!) Really enjoyed this little hotel and its little rooftop garden! There is also a little bar but just to watch if getting drinks and on a budget as they are charged to your room and can't pay by cash at bar - we just kept a mental tally of it! Florence is a lovely city much like this hotel and if we were to go back we would definately book here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lain-baloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

I booked based on the recommendation of a friend's travel agent and all the stellar reviews on tripadvisor, but I don't think we had the same experience that everyone is raving about. I will say that the location is great and the bathroom was large, modern, and very clean, but other than that I was not wowed. First of all, to reach our room (#59) we had to go up to the 4th floor, through the sitting room, out onto the rooftop dining area, over to a small hallway in the corner, through a door, and back down two flights of stairs. Needless to say this was not ideal for anyone with luggage or when you forgot something and wanted to run back to your room. We were also promised a "view", which I didn't take to mean "of the dirty walls of adjacent buildings" but that's what we got. I also got a rather disturbing scolding from a staff member when I advised two other guests not to pay for the internet service because it was not working that day. All things considered, I was not impressed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdo47802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

This was our first trip to Florence and this hotel was everything and more than we had hoped for. The staff were very warm, welcoming, and helpful. Inside, the decor is very elegant, stylish, with beautiful antique furniture and lovely rooms...so clean and so quiet. The roof terrace is very romantic and a real treat for having breakfast outdoors or perhaps a night cap!! Breakfast is a very varied buffet, with cooked meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, cakes, breads, delicious croissants and very good coffee. The location of this hotel is superb, in the 'rich' quarter, next door to Tiffany's and beside many other designer stores e.g. Dolce & Gabbana, Gucci etc It is also close to the Santa Maria Novella train station and just across the street is one of the 'hop-on', 'hop-off' bus stops!! All the sites are within walking distance though as Florence is quite small but the bus tour is very good, especially the route which climbs up to Michelangelo square for a breath-taking view over Florence..stunning!! Hotel Tornabuoni is simply charming and I would return in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classychick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Traveled to Italy last summer with my husband and our two teenage boys. Tripadvisor was my sole resource for finding our hotels and was an amazing resource. Only fair that I share our experience, albeit a bit late! Choosing a hotel in Florence was the most overwhelming. I believe it was reviews, price and location that caught my interest for Tornabuoni. When we arrived, no doubt I had made the perfect choice. Gorgeous large rooms, beautiful bathrooms (with a bathtub too!), wonderful personal service (never forget Angelo and his wife), fantastic location - look no further for a place to stay in Florence. Can't wait to go back to Italy and stay at Beacci Tornabuoni!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ciao316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#114 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#97 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#65 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci

Property: Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#101 Business Hotel in Florence
#126 Family Hotel in Florence
#152 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bechi Family is happy to welcome you to the site of the Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci to discover this charming hotel which is located in two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, on one of Florence’s most elegant shopping streets and close to the monuments which have made this city famous the world over. The Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci with its heirloom furnishings, refined elegance and modern comforts is a charming and enchanting location on Florence’s most elegant shopping street, the Via de’ Tornabuoni. The hotel consists of two Renaissance palaces, the Palazzo Minerbetti and the Palazzo Strozzi del Poeta, two unique buildings in the heart of Florence’s artistic and historical centre, close to the Ponte Vecchio bridge, the Uffizi Art Gallery and the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore with Brunelleschi’s famous dome and Giotto’s belfry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacci Tornabuoni Hotel Florence
Beacci Tornabuoni Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing