We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel with basic rooms and abrupt staff”
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ariston Hotel
Ranked #375 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The hotel was advertised as a 3* hotel but only displayed 2* at the door. In my pinion, it's only worth 1* for its good location.

There was a think line of dust above the tiles in the bathroom, a used tissue in the draw of the bedside cabinet and dried food in the wardrobe draws. There was also a bog damp patch above the beds, stains on the shower curtain and cracked tiles in the floor.

We asked for fresh towels on the second day and were told that fresh towels were only given after you had stayed at least three days, when asked what tome the doors were locked at night we were told midnight as their staff needed sleep.

The beds were falling apart, at least a 10 - 20 cm gap between the headboard and the pillows, the room lock was very flimsy and the electrical sockets were broken.

I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briangreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Ariston Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2010

The hotel is very close to the centre of town and a handy base for sightseeing.

It's basic but it works - good size, comfy bed, nice warm shower (in a very bizarrely laid out wet-room bathroom, but hey, I'd rather warm water than pretty tiles) and, where we were at least, quiet.

Breakfast not really very exciting - hot chocolate gets top marks but other than that it fills you up and that's all you can say for it. I disagree with one of the other reviewers though - it wasn't bedbugs or whatever that cause the bites, but good old fashioned mosquitoes, and we got bitten not just in the room but all over the city. You have been warned!

I've stayed in better hotels for less money, but I think this is more a reflection of Florence prices than anything - the cost of this hotel was in line with the rest of the city. I guess if you're used to Holiday Inn type chain blandness you're going to be disappointed wherever you go in a medieval city

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikki_hache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Traveled here with a girlfriend. Despite lack of AC we slept just fine with the fan. Bathroom has open concept shower, no big deal, just dry the floor with towel afterwards. No lift, no biggie, a good traveller can always carry their own case/pack. Breakfast was pretty bad - safe to eat the yogourt, and then have a second breakfast somewhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

No lift, no air conditioning. Room: ceiling fan switch broken; toilet seat broken; TV had only one channel, remote not working. Huge mosquito problem. Noisy building. Location good: a little off beaten tourist track, but still quite central, and close to supermarket. Breakfast OK (coffee made per individual cup).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerlinGesundbrunnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Hotel Ariston. It is a quaint, comfortable hotel with a price that can't be beat. Even better, it is in close walking distance to many major attractions in the city of Florence! From the hotel, it is about a five minute walk to Santa Croce, about ten minutes to the River Arno, ten minutes to Il Duomo, and about fifteen-twenty minutes to the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio. Additionally, the cab ride from the airport was only about 20 euros, and the staff at the hotel was available for me 24 hours. There are numerous shops and restaurants close to the hotel, and (if you look off the beaten path) you can find several authentic restaurants and experiences that aren't too "touristy." I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is visiting Florence for the first time, or who is looking for a great bargain and doesn't want to stay in a hostel. I would also like to include that I have traveled through most of Western Europe, and this was probably one of the best hotels overall in which I have had the pleasure of staying.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJWalker424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Very Reasonable deal...
Good price, Best location, Reasonable service.
It is in the heart of beautiful florence steps away from centro.
Would stay again....

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moseny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the spring and I did read the reviews before I booked. I decided to take a chance, making the good location a priority. It is in "walking" distance from the train station, but it is a good 20 minutes walk, mostly on cobblestone streets and it is not practical if you have luggage. It is tricky to find as it is down a narrow side street.

Once you find the hotel and orient yourself, it is a good location from which to explore Florence and most attarcations are within walking distance.

The hotel itself is quite basic. Our room was huge by European standards. I was with my mom and our room had a double bed and a twin bed and could have easily fit another full-size bed. There was a large armoire, a desk and a couple of chairs. The room was clean enough and quite bright. But the bathroom....! I fully understand the generally smaller washrooms and I know that we were lucky to have a room with a private bath, but in a huge spacious room, the bathroom was little more than a narrow closet. There was a small shower with a curtain that left an inch of water over the whole washroom floor after each use (this could have easliy been rectified with some corner seals) and it was not one of those washrooms with open showers that are sometimes found in Europe. The toilet faced the wall and the space was so narrow that we had to sit on it sideways. I hate to think what someone taller than 5'7" would do! The lighting was terrible and there was zero counter or ledge to put anything.

But the worst aspect of this hotel was the breakfast! I have always viewed a free breakfast as a bonus and don't expect anything elaborate. This was advertised as a cold buffet and consisted of cold, dry sliced white bread toast, "juice" that was coloured sugar water at best, processed cheese spread and jam and what tasted like instant espresso coffee. There is no excuse for this spread in Italy!

This hotel is certainly not the worst. It serves its purpose as a decent base from which to explore a beautiful city, but having stayed at similar calibre and similarly priced hotels throught Europe, there is certainly much better.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viaquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Arizona
Hotel Arizona
#148 of 411 in Florence
437 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#179 of 411 in Florence
459 reviews
Villa Aruch
#27 of 311 in Florence
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Porta San Frediano
#250 of 656 in Florence
114 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
801 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: Via Fiesolana 40, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:2 star — Ariston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariston Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing