We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed styles. Mixed reviews.”
Review of Hotel Villa Liana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Liana
Ranked #89 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mixed styles. Mixed reviews.”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A glance through earlier reviews will show that guests have had mixed perceptions of this hotel, and it is easy to understand why. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. The range of breakfast offerings is generous given the size of the hotel (although breakfast may not be fully ready until some time after the 7.00 am official start). The hotel is quite conveniently placed, a 10-minute walk from the centre. On the other hand, the free wifi is very shaky and of limited bandwidth. There is a shortage of water pressure on the uppermost floor. And the decoration is tired rather than charmingly antique. There is an alarming mixture of styles within even one bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank euchromatopsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    182
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
102
180
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had booked a superior room here and a double room for a single person. We took a taxi to the hotel, on arrival we were told that we were in another hotel which was owned by them. We were asked to walk to this hotel (which wasn't far). This hotel was absolutely nothing like the hotel villa Lianna. when we got there we found out that the hotel is not owned by them and they just have an agreement with them. The hotel had cramped rooms tiny, low star rating very basic (ok if that is what you were paying for) certainly not the quality of rooms at the Lianna, also no garden, no parking. Once we saw the rooms we asked the owner to ring the Lianna and complain on our behalf and refused to stay in this hotel. They asked us to go back to the Lianna!!!!! There had been problems with the airconditioning was the answer...why did they not tell us this? Why were we expected to stay at a really basic hotel without any reason given? On arrival back at the Hotel my mother was extremely cross and complained loudly and we were given a suite instead of the superior room and a double instead of the twin. I have been to Florence many times and have never experience anything like this!!
I have to say that once we were settled the hotel was fine and rooms were ok breakfast good. Not sure if I'd stay here again because of the problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strogili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I'm writing this review whilst in the room at the hotel. this hotel delivers on all fronts. first off is the value. never have I stayed at a hotel which charges so fairly, and I've had the luxury of staying in some of the best hotels going. if it's 5* commercial environments you're after, forget it. if you're after pure character & deep history, this is for you. the character & period setting more than makes up for the lack of a 4th or 5th Star rating. then there's the staff. very helpful, great with kids, and hugely accommodating (this is my 1yr olds first trip out of the UK). the location is ideal, set on the outskirts of the city close enough to walk to the livelihood this city has to offer, but far enough that you don't have to worry about noise or traffic. the rooms are very well decorated & clean. the breakfast is what you'd expect from a European hotel, but if you're after more there are many cafes in the city which will feed you to your liking. some have complained about the lack of hot water from the shower. but if it's 40 degrees Celsius outside, who wants a hot shower?!

all round a very pleasurable experience, and this hotel is now rooted as my choice everytime, for one of the most incredible cities I've travelled to & have already planned to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fadza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diani beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our room was on a fantastic location in the middle of a lovely garden, free parking, wi fi , good breakfast and flexible check out times, just what we needed! The staff was friendly and ready to help you with anything. We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: If you like to look out in a quit garden, ask for a cottage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank safarikees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I love the hotel for its interiors. It has this whole old world charm to it...very rustic. The hotel had a beautiful garden. The tea room is very nice.. had books and tv's and dvd's.. all kind of teas.. coffees and drinks for the kids too. The breakfast spread was good. I love the location too.. quiet place to stroll in the narrow streets. I would love to go back just to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngkitaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa L, Direttore at Hotel Villa Liana, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review and we are happy to have made your stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.

A warm greeting from all the staff of 'Hotel Villa liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6days
Staff: unhelpfull , not organised , NOT professionnal. We arrrived in the afternoon, there was no parking place for the car (knowing that we paid for one),the receiptionist doesn't know how to greet his clients ,not a smile , not a welcoming phrase .Arrogant(we didn't pay for that..). No one will explain to you what you can do in the surroundings. We asked them to book us a table for 2 in a restaurant, told us he did , but once in the restaurant we discovered that there was no reservation at all! Went at the reception the next day to get further explanation about this incident the guy was off on a weekend. Unreliable staff! And not pleasant to interact with (except the night's receptionist).
The reservation included a basket of fresh fruit waiting for us at the arrival , we didnt get it .

Room:ground floor
Thin walls , we could hear everything happening above/next to us (neighboors, the staff preparing the breakfast at 5am ..)Poor decoration . No problem with hot water.

Room Cleaning service:
bed sheets change at the 3rd day and bathroom cleaning at the 3rd day.
We difnt encouter any problem.

Wifi:unreliable in the rooms. You have to move to the lobby if you want a good connection.not practical at all.

Breakfast: erratic service. . Canned fruit salad ,1st low price/quality ham. Nothing fresh.Dont expect a good italian charcutrie ..

The only positive note is the location:15 to 20mns to get yo the famous Duomo piazza(get ur map, dont expect to get one at the reception desk!)

For 90? to a 130 the weekend for 1 night ,
Will definitly book another hotel next time.

Helpful?
4 Thank Orl313
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel has aged somewhat and what was once "charming" now seems a bit old and worn out. We asked for a double room and got two single beds. The shower leaked on the floor and the drains in our shower and our kids weren't working very well - we stood in water during the shower. Water pressure and hot water was not the best. There were no English language channels - no news, etc. Breakfast service was erratic - waiter not the best. Also, cheeses were all plastic wrapped or dried out, fruit salad was canned. Next time we are in Florence we will upgrade. Wi-fi was spotty - sometimes worked, sometimes not.

Room Tip: If you do stay there, ask for a room facing the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBH-TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#133 of 422 in Florence
423 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 422 in Florence
888 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 422 in Florence
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#105 of 422 in Florence
229 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#41 of 422 in Florence
782 reviews
Hotel Villa Betania
#79 of 422 in Florence
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Liana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Liana

Property: Hotel Villa Liana
Address: Via Vittorio Alfieri 18, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Florence
#107 Family Hotel in Florence
#135 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Liana 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sojourning at Hotel Villa Liana means staying in an oasis of tranquility even if you are staying in the historical center of Florence. Hotel Villa Liana, antique aristocratic villa from the XIX century and former consulate of the British Empire, is situated in a residential neighborhood a few minutes walk from the Santa Croce square, the Florence Dome and Galleria dell’AccademiaThe Jewish synagogue is closed to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Liana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liana Hotel Florence
Hotel Liana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing