We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in march 2014”
Review of Hotel Villa Liana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Liana
Ranked #89 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Del Carmen, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding in march 2014”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We just got married in Florence and had chosen Hotel Villa Liana for hosting our guests. all our guests were delighted with the rooms. We got an upgrade to a suite which was fantastic! the ceilings with the beautiful frescos , the antique furniture, the romantic garden and balconies.it was perfect for a romantic italian wedding , we couldnt have wish more ,it was perfect ! the staff was so nice with us and our guests ( even though a bride to be , can be a bit stressy...) the breakfast is buffet with eggs meat cheese fruits and very tasty bread. The hotel is located in the center and so in 15 minutes walk you are at the duomo. We want to thank again all the staff and the owner who was particularly very kind with us and with our guests ! They made our wedding very special and we will always come back at Villa LIANA !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tattoo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    184
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
105
182
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My girl friend and I were staying two nights in Florence and chose Hotel Liana because the hotel offered parking. We arrive following the directions from the home page only to be told that we should not have driven down the last road, since it was in the limited traffic zone and the entrance to the parking was from the main road. (Why not state that in the directions?) Anyway, the nice guy in the hotel reception would contact the city officials so we would not be fined. Thanks.

The first night was quite awful: the room was first to hot, later too cold and we were woken numerous time from: noises from the neighbour room, noises from upstairs (possibly the kitchen preparing breakfast), loud water splashing from the roof down on concrete just outside our window that would not shut completely (and thus not hush the sound at all), distant ambulances and what not.

Breakfast was good compared to the price of the room, but on the first morning the other guests (two tables of 2 and 3 people each, so not too many) were offered espresso or cappuccino by the waiter, but not us. That was very puzzling to us, and we falied to get the waiters attention. On the second morning the breakfast room was full - perhaps 20 people eating, and so the single waiter could possibly be excused for not offering, as he was quite busy. Seems that two waiters would have been more appropriate.

At check-out we were presented the correct amounts in euro. We accepted to pay the tourist taxes in cash (although I don't know why we were asked that), and paid the remaining amount using our VISA card. However, when we got home we noticed from the receipt, that the VISA transaction had been carried out in our local currency (DKK) and not in EUROS - and that the amount had been converted at a much higher exchange rate than we usually pay. The receipt also clearly stated that we had been given a choice about this, and had accepted it. It was not as much as mentioned! And I'm quite sure the dotted line on the hotels copy of the receipt were I was supposed to have signed that I accepted such a conversion it is just as empty as it is on my copy.

Effectively we paid an overprice of close to 3%. Not that much in this single case - but if all foreign customers are cheated like that, I guess it's a really good business for the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14, which apparently were just below the first floor kitchen - and had windows tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T F J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It looks old but has everything thet amodern hotel is spposed to offer.
The staff is very nise and the rank of 3 stars is justified.
The hotel is as 15'' walk from pizza duomo so you don't depeund too much on public
transpertation

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Avner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Hotel Villa Liana is a lovely hotel, with an excellent location, spacious, clean and well decorated rooms, delicious breakfast, and very helpful personnel at the desk. I loved the art and furnishings, especially the painting on my ceiling, and could not have asked for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Liana in April 2013. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area, around 15-20 minutes' walk from the Duomo and other central sights.

We had asked for an upstairs room but on arrival (late at night) we were given a ground floor room. We were too tired to argue but found that it was quite a dark room with noise from both traffic and the hotel reception. We moved to a top floor double room the next day which was much better, really light and airy. There was still a bit of traffic noise - although the street isn't that busy, it is off a main road and on the route that ambulances take to the hospital.

The hotel itself was great. It is in a former ambassador's residence and has very high ceilings (could probably have fitted another floor above our room!) with frescoes on the ceilings. Our bathroom was really big and seemed to have been fairly recently refurbished. Good shower. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The furniture suited the room perfectly.

There was no tea/coffee in the room but guests have access to a lounge area on the first floor and can help themselves to hot drinks at any time. Breakfast (in another grand room) was continental style and the lady on duty makes an excellent cappuccino on request.

We found the staff to be very helpful, only too happy to recommend restaurants, give directions and even help us to print off our boarding passes for the flight home. There is free internet in the reception area but we struggled to get a connection.

We didn't make use of the garden as it wasn't really warm enough. There is also a small park just down the road. Would recommend a couple of restaurants where we had really good but inexpensive food: Acquacotta (just down the road) and Baldovino (Santa Croce).

Overall we found Hotel Villa Liana perfect for our needs during our stay in Florence and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We ended up at the Hotel Villa Liana after we found that our reservation at another hotel had been inexplicably cancelled. We were left without a room and the World Cycling Championship was being held in Florence that weekend, with visitors from all over the world. While we were very much relieved to get the room, we were apprehensive that any rooms left unoccupied must have something wrong!
We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The reception area was small but welcoming. The front desk clerk was friendly and helpful, speaking excellent English as did all the staff we met.
The room was small and had a slight look of faded elegance but was clean. Most importantly, the bed was queen-sized and very comfortable. The bathroom featured a shower that was excellent, with lots of hot water and room to turn around, not often the case in Europe. There was a bowl of fresh fruit in the room which was a welcome touch.
The breakfast was extensive including a hot egg fritatta, cold meats, sausage, cheese, fruit, and a broad selection of fresh pastries. While the advertised start time was 7:30 AM, on the day of our departure we were able to eat breakfast by 6:45. Another nice touch was a sitting room which featured coffee and tea which appeared to be open all day. There was a tiny bar which opened out onto a rear courtyard, doubling as a car park. The sitting area in the courtyard was very pleasant and quiet with a well-tended garden.
Villa Liana's location was very good. It was about a fifteen minute walk to the Duomo Square and the restaurants of Via Cavour. There appeared to be very few restaurants in the immediate vicinity, so a short walk of about five to ten minutes was required. The location was quiet until local traffic started about 7:00 AM.
Overall, we would certainly recommend the Hotel Villa Liana as a very pleasant destination and vey good value for the money.

Room Tip: We had one of two rooms at ground level which faced the street. There was some traffic noise in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A glance through earlier reviews will show that guests have had mixed perceptions of this hotel, and it is easy to understand why. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. The range of breakfast offerings is generous given the size of the hotel (although breakfast may not be fully ready until some time after the 7.00 am official start). The hotel is quite conveniently placed, a 10-minute walk from the centre. On the other hand, the free wifi is very shaky and of limited bandwidth. There is a shortage of water pressure on the uppermost floor. And the decoration is tired rather than charmingly antique. There is an alarming mixture of styles within even one bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank euchromatopsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#131 of 411 in Florence
429 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 411 in Florence
893 reviews
Hotel Villa Betania
#76 of 411 in Florence
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#40 of 411 in Florence
795 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#75 of 411 in Florence
583 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 411 in Florence
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Liana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Liana

Property: Hotel Villa Liana
Address: Via Vittorio Alfieri 18, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Florence
#107 Family Hotel in Florence
#135 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Liana 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sojourning at Hotel Villa Liana means staying in an oasis of tranquility even if you are staying in the historical center of Florence. Hotel Villa Liana, antique aristocratic villa from the XIX century and former consulate of the British Empire, is situated in a residential neighborhood a few minutes walk from the Santa Croce square, the Florence Dome and Galleria dell’AccademiaThe Jewish synagogue is closed to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Liana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liana Hotel Florence
Hotel Liana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing