We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, could be much worse”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #391 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Almen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad, could be much worse”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We came here around 10 pm and we quikly had a room. With a free parkingplace. It was hot and the airconditioning didn't work. The room was old, but clean. Bathroom could use an update. View was nice, staff also and the breakfast to. No 4 star hotel, but we didn't pay that much either and you only have to walk for 20 minutes to get downtown. Wouldn't recommend it, but for only 1 night we were fine with it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clau1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    56
    98
    118
    197
See reviews for
63
180
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
V.Beckerek
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Well, location is excellent, that is probably the only 4 star thing about this hotel. Rooms are not that bad , but they are not clean at all. Breakfast is ok, staff in restaurant and in hotel is also 3 star, not 4 definetly, on pictures there is a nice terase on top of hotel, but to be true there is nowhere to by drink, bar is not working. And also the terase is not as on the pictures, in reality there are 5,6 old plastic chairs , two tables ( one with the hole in middle).
Anyhow i would stay again.
remember
location location location

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boris023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Awful, rude service and dirty rooms. Dated furniture. And really awful night manager. We came in late one night and before we made it through the door, the man at the desk was shushing us furiously, even though we knew to be quiet. As we were getting our keys, one of the girls in our group made a joke with a curse word in it. The man stared at her and rudely said "Very lady-like language" with a glare. I would never stay here again for how awful we were treated.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolak116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We decided to book this hotel as the rate was competitive for a Hotel that was 4 (?!) star. At the end of our stay we were charged extra quite significant amount as it turns out that you pay supplement per person per night for each star a hotel has - this one was 4 (?!). Filth, blood or poo on the bathroom door, no internet, mold and toilet you want to forget. I don't have words to describe this dirty hole but please check pictures that I took in our room before you will decide to book. And just don't. you will be better anywhere else.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I was in Florence for a school trip and the tour company booked this place. We stayed here for 3 nights and to be honest it was an okay stay. The staff was friendly. Although the rooms were small and outdated they were pretty comfortable and clean. We were staying 3 to a room and there were 3 twin beds. 2 were quite comfortable, while the other one wasn't. The room also included a desk, a TV (which only played Italian channels, but was quite new), two nightstands, and a closet which included a safe. The bathroom however was really small and had no shower curtain, meaning that when you showered, water would spray everywhere. Another thing to note is that there aren't many outlets and about half of them were broken. The wifi isn't that great and can only be used in the lobby. Breakfast was quite nice, but it only consisted of two types of pastries, meat and cheese, yogurt, and for drinks there was juice, milk and a coffee machine. Overall I would say that this is the place if you're only staying here 1-3 nights and on a budget.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the back, otherwise a lot of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Don't stay here unless you're on a seriously tight budget. The room is quite spacious but the decor is desperately old and depressing. The worst was the bath shower with no curtain of any kind, so no matter what you do you end up with a flooded bathroom.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank teenlancett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

A group stayed at this hotel at the end of October for 3 nights. The staff are extremely nice. Rooms comfortable. It's quite an old hotel dates back to the 50's I'd say by the looks of the place. Breakfast was Continental only very nice. Coffee. From the machine was quite nice bread and pastries good. The hotel is a short bus ride into Florence Central.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Teenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#247 of 421 in Florence
502 reviews
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#202 of 421 in Florence
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diva Hotel
#282 of 421 in Florence
477 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#363 of 421 in Florence
391 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#320 of 421 in Florence
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: Lungarno Cristoforo Colombo 22/a, 50136, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing