We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Retreat in Florence” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villani
Ranked #207 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Retreat in Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Last two days of business trip in Italy, I spent here. Hotel is beyond my words. I cannot fault this place on any part during my entire stay. I would classify it as a five-star hotel in all the respects. The room I was provided was modern, incredible and comfortable. It had everything which I needed. Staff was very kind, polite and friendly all the times. Room service was prompt and food was good. It is a very beautiful and elegantly appointed hotel. Roof terrace really looks stunning at night. I loved this place and will definitely come again with my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    36
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
36
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

After a lot of discussion, we all planned a 10 days vacation in Italy and decided to visit Florence city first. The city is very beautiful and Hotel Villani the place, which we booked for accommodation, was - just superb!! It is an elegant hotel appointed with all the luxurious amenities and is very close to the major attractions of the city. Room which we got was spacious, clean and had a great bathroom. One of our friends had some issues regarding mattresses, the staff immediately changed it. They really value their guest. We had a great time there and would definitely recommend this place to our other friends and family members.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews found here. We got to the hotel to find it smelled horrible, there was a man passed out in the lobby and a very dirty space. We asked to see a room and found it to be unacceptable so we thanked the man at the desk and found a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank MeredithFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

This gem of a hotel is one block from the Domo, and a quick walk from the metro station. (Get good directions from Erminio and you'll definitely find it). The location was perfect. We spent 3 nights there in October 2012. Request a front room with a view of the Domo. There is also a really nice roof-top terrace. The only thing we didn't like was the shower in the bathroom - it's really small, similar to cruise ship showers. Other than the shower, we loved this place and will definitely stay there again. It's a great value for the price. The best gelato place in Florence is right across the street from the Villani. The owner/host, Erminio, was very helpful and hospitable. A car is definitely not needed. Florence is a wonderful city to experience on foot.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a view of the Domo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pine mountain, ga
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

There are many choices for accommodation in Florence. I am really happy to have settled on Hotel Villani. I wanted convenience to attractions, clean, reasonable comfort, a reasonable degree of quiet, and breakfast with coffee to begin each day. Hotel Villani delivers on all counts, plus, as everyone raves about, the rooftop terrace with a view directly onto the Duomo, and Brunelleschi's incredible dome. It was definitely exhilarating to sit there, having a glass of wine, listening to the church bells, and feeling the magic of Florence seep into your pores. Breakfast is taken indoors with another direct view of that amazing dome. Erminio serves gigantic croissants and large cups of cappuccino to start your day ... if your routine requires fruit, bring your own. This hotel is an easy walk from the train station, and Erminio will email you excellent directions so that you don't get lost. He will also help you book reservations for museums, and can direct you to the best gelato at Vivoli's, the oldest pharmacy, or anything else you have a desire for. I booked rooms for myself and 6 friends here, and all of us feel the same about Erminio and his hotel: We MUST return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodmigrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Hotel Villani is a hidden treasure in Florence that has the most magnificent view of the Duomo. Situated on the 4th (top) floor, it also has a lovely terrace where you can look over the rooftops of Florence as well as the historical landmarks.
The owner Erminio makes the best cappuccinos with breakfast of fresh croissants. The rooms are spacious, clean, with bathroom and air conditioning. Downstairs is a superb gelato shop that has people queuing at all hours of the day and night. Recommended by a friend, Hotel Villani has a view from its front rooms that defies description and was one of the highlights of my trip to Italy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimM1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hotel is located a few steps from the Duomo. Really!!! It is that close! Which is great. But, it was very difficult to find, even with GPS!!! I do not recommend driving there. For me it was an absolute nightmare (though my husband, the driver of the car, thought it was fine!?).

When we eventually found it, we had to wait at least 30 minutes in the street for someone to take the car to a parking garage). And of course when we left, we had to again wait, probably close to an hour, for them to bring the car back to us. As I said, driving is not recommended!!!

The rooms are basic (but clean), which are to be expected for a 2 star hotel, I suppose. The star of the show, however, is the roof terrace. Wow!!!!!! It is magical at night. It feels as if you can touch the duomo. This alone made the stay worthwhile and is responsible for the hotel scoring at least another point or two.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilzedewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#201 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#150 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#183 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#260 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#327 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#198 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villani

Property: Hotel Villani
Address: Via Dell'Oche 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villani 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing