We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #140 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice location, very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This hotel is in a great location. Florence is a fair sized city and I researched loads before booking up, but once I arrived I realised that as long as you are about 10 mins from The Duomo in any direction you are probably going to be ok. Hotel Giglio is a 10 min walk from The Duomo down a nice street with lots of little shops on it. It is also very close to the Acadamia (well worth a visit to see the statue of David) and the San Lorenzo market which is the best place in the city to get good quality leather (bags, coats, wallets, belts etc). We were particularly impressed with the staff at the hotel: whoever was managing the front desk, they were always happy to answer questions and were incredibly helpful with all their advice. It is a family run hotel and their personal touch on everything is very nice to see. Breakfast has been mentioned in other reviews and I concur that it is very good.
Florence has so much to see and do and we found 4 days was a bit tight to do it all, but it is possible. We hired a car too and went down to the Chianti region (we had a stunning lunch in Greve) which was lovely and it was really nice to see a different side of Tuscany as the scenery and views were fabulous. I'm going to do a separate review, but we found a fab little trattoria 'Mangiafuoco Bracerie' which is on Via Guelfa (the road behind Macdonalds) where the service and food were phenomenal. In a big city with so many choices and many of them just tourist joints, this was a great find and I would go back in a heartbeat.
Overall, a good hotel, a beautiful city and somewhere I would definitely return to.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstieyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    216
    46
    18
    4
See reviews for
212
298
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

What makes this place so remarkable is the above and beyond customer service. All of the hotel staff: the owners, employees, and front desk were incredibly helpful, more than what we've experienced at five star hotels in America. They really will go out of their way to help travelers as much as they can. We stayed for three nights in September 2011, and enjoyed being there. It's just a a short walk from Duomo, and downtown Florence. The rooms are fairly large for a European room, and totally comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was good and included pastries, espresso or cappucino, fruit juice, tea, and various bread options. But I can't stress enough how helpful their staff is...they provided an over the top great customer service experience. The owner and front staff really helped us map out a day trip to Cinque Terre, and helped us get there when we were running late! I saw the owner on many occasions helping travelers on the internet book bus schedules or museum entrances. They offer wifi in the main lobby, and an assortment of traveler books to use. An exceptional deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Rooms were nicely kept.
Staff was always courteous and helpful.
It is a 10 minute walk from the Duomo, but if you take into account price, the quality of the property and the good staff i think it is a overall a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
418 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,899 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We enjoyed our 3 nights here, and found the staff to be very helpful. We chose this hotel originally due to its proximity to the train station, but did not realize it is a long walk to the Duomo. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and included freshly prepared espresso and capucchino. Our only negative experience was at checkout. We spent most of our euros and saved only enough for a cab ride to the train station. Upon checkout we were hit with a surprise bill for 18 euro (around $25) for a "tax" although our travel agent assured us we were paid in full. They did not want to accept a credit card and we had no extra euros so it was a stressful situation. They finally accepted our credit card. We were never informed up front about this "tax".

Room Tip: Beware of extra taxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyFromAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed in the hotel Aug 13-15, 2011, we really liked this one. The quad room is very large, with very high ceiling; It gives you a very spacious feeling. There are a queen (or king?) bed and 2 twin beds in the Quad room, perfect for a family with teen kids. Breakfast is very good. Staff are very helpful. We were even given a free ride to Train station (we read somewhere that you could walk to the hotel from train station, that was what we did but regretted, it was a long walk in the hot summer with luggage). Internet is free. It is very close to Accademia Gallery. We also walked to Duomo and Uffizi and other main city center attractions.

The hotel staff are very responsive. Right before we left for the vacation, we were concerned about the long line waiting for tickets to Accademia, we emailed them to see if they could help to reserve tickets. They emailed back quickly with reservation (By the way, I do really not think there is need for reservation though).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadestone8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Giglio on our recent trip to Florence.

The rooms, by European standards, are enormous. They are well appointed with a large, comfortable bed, period furnishings and a very spacious bathroom. The rooms have safe facilities for valuables. The rooms are air conditioned, but with opening windows to let in some fresh air.

The staff could not me more helpful. The booking and check-in process were both hassle-free, and the staff were able to help us with directions and reservations for various events and attractions - they were even willing to offer advice on the purchase of leather jackets!

The breakfast is worthy of special mention. Everything was fresh and well presented, with an excellent selection.

The hotel occupies several floors of a lovely old building. The reception is on the first floor. The elevator is well worth the experience - it's a museum piece! It really adds to the atmosphere. The computer in the lobby with internet access is a real bonus.

Hotel Giglio is not as centrally located as many other hotels. It's a solid 15 - 20 minute walk from the train station, and a solid 10 - 15 minute walk to the major attractions. The great thing is that Florence is very flat - so everything is in relatively easy reach.

I would absolutely recommend Hotel Giglio to friends and Tripadvisor readers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPeteShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Really nice hotel away from the hustle bustle.
Be careful not to misjudge the directions from the train station. It is NOT walking distance. Either take taxi or bus.
Bus stop is very close. 5 min walking distance to Duomo making it a very convenient place within easy access to most sightseeing places.
Rooms are very nice and clean. Very good service. Reception is open 24 hours. Breakfast buffet was delicious.
Large rooms and bathrooms give it a luxurious feel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#117 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#179 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#163 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing