We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #130 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My stay here was very pleasant, in large part due to the extremely helpful and kind staff. This is my first review on tripadvisor and I felt it was the least I could do after the hotel staff went above and beyond to make our stay a comfortable one. The room was also very nice as was the breakfast. The walk into town is a bit long but it is a straight shot so no chance of getting lost plus I think it is a small price to pay for such great service and accomodations for the price.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank socitytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    218
    46
    18
    4
See reviews for
214
299
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The hotel in on the first floor of a nice building, the old elevetor a bit cramped in you have big cases. Great front desk for any information you need.
The room we got was quite big, a double bed plus a single for our son. Comfortable and typical design for Florence. Bathroom a bit small but OK.
Breakfast typical for Italy (some packaged items), but also some fresh fruits, cold cuts, boild eggs and good bread.
If you come by car you can ask them to valet-park your car for EUR20/day, which for Florence is not bad. i choose to park myself in the nearby Underground parking(EUR18/day), but it's quite a walk and a bit complicated to find (even with Navigation system). Be careful - the hotel is inside the restricted zone, so make sure you provide your car registration number to the front desk so they can register it and so avoid a high penalty.
The main attractions are a short walking distance and you can find a bus stop just in front of the hotel.
The only problem we had during our stay was with the Internet connection, which was working great in the lobby, but very poorly in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soldan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Echo the comments I have already seen written- rooms spacious and very clean, breakfast very good and staff very helpful- they even gave us a lift to the station at the end of our stay! Would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We booked a double room in July which was sizeable and nicely laid out. Giglio is located about 15-20 mins walk from the main attractions like the Duomo and the rest of the historical centre, so it's not the best location you could get in Florence, but it's fine if you don't mind walking (which you'll probably be doing a lot in Florence!).

I would like to say a big thank you to all of the staff at the hotel who really were incredibly helpful from the moment we walked in the door. Our check-in exprience made us feel very welcome as we were invited to relax on the sofa with a drink while filling in the paperwork. We got great restaurant recommendations and ideas for filling a spare afternoon, together with directions on a tourist map. And to top it all off, we got a lift to the train station after checking out from the hotel on our last morning!

One last thing: the hotel offers free wi-fi - just ask reception for the details.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is a great hotel within a ten minute walk of everything. We were a family of four, and the room was large, the breakfast was great and most important the hotel staff was amazing. I brought my children to Italy to get a real feel for the warmth of the Italian people, and the staff at this hotel couldn't have provided a better example. They were kind, and helpful. Can't say enough about this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marirosec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, L'vivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stay in this hotel almost for a week, and it was a pleasant stay. The hotel occupies one floor of a house with ordinary apartments on other floors. It is located not far from the Duomo. The staff is very pleasant and cheerful. They can provide all the information and help that guest may need. My room was quite nice. Although there was an air conditioner in the room I didn't use it, as a temperature inside was quite fine, despite bloody heat outside. Breakfasts were also very good. WiFi was fast enough (that was important to me, as I have to work in evenings).

A small minus would be a soundproofing of the building, as I could hear all the noises from the corridor. However, I never suffered from that as it was mostly quite in the hotel. Hope I also didn't wake up anyone during one of mine late returns.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuriy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. We stayed in a quad room which was very large and accommodated our family of 4 (which included 2 teenagers) very nicely and was very clean. The breakfasts are great with plenty to choose from. The owner and all the front desk people we spoke with were very friendly and helpful. It's also a good location (about a 10 min. walk to the Duomo). We would stay here again!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank michelle a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#108 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#171 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#125 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#164 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#89 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing