We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Welcome in Florence, charming and helpful”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #151 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

After travelling for 3 weeks in Europe my fiance and I stayed here and it was a warm and refreshing atmosphere. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and give you plenty of advice about great places to visit and restaurants to eat at etc. Tito's is our favourite, just around the corner from the hotel. If you want a hotel that is financially cost effective, has clean and comfortable rooms and a great location with unbelievable staff then this is the place for you. Just look at all the reviews, made by real people, and I expect generally down to earth travellers. As for location, absolutely perfect.....a short walk from the main train station and five minutes from the Duomo. Magnifico....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

Hotel Giglio is one of the nicest and friendliest hotels my family and I have ever stayed at. We spent 6 nights there. Our rooms were very clean with big ensuite bathrooms and extremely comfortable beds.
The buffet breakfast provided was excellent and varied. Their cappuccinos were delicious too!
The owners Marco and Manuella are a charming couple and made us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The other staff were also friendly and helpful too. On the day we left Marco kindly gave us a lift to the train station but he would not accept any money for his trouble.
The hotel is in a very good location and within short walking distance to the main tourist sights. If we visit Florence again we will definitely stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Very nice place to stay in Florence, the hotel owners and staff were very welcoming and friendly. It felt like going to stay with friends. The room was quaint, bed was comfortable, breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and we felt at home. There were movies, games and toys in the lobby for our 5-year old daughter to play with.. Very family friendly in general! To top it all, one of the owners (Marco), gave us a ride to the train station. Beautiful experience; look forward to returning there many more times in the future. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossanaHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Giglio and we loved it there. The front desk staff were so helpful. The first day we were there, he highlighted a map, circled and named some great restaurants, recommended places to visit. We walked the whole day and followed his recommendations and they were all great! The rooms have very tall ceilings so feel very spacious. We appreciated all the free DVDs so that we could relax after walking all day! The breakfast was delicious. The location is convenient to many of the sites, especially the market! We will definitely come back next time we visit Florence!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We recently spent two night here on our vacation with our two children, 12 and 10. We arrived very early on morning and we were warmly treated by the owner, who,served us warm drinks and gave us a place to store our luggage. Robert, the owner, spent a long time going over the map of Florence with us and even recommended several restaurants for us. He made our dinner reservations for us.

With 4 people we had a quad room, 4 single beds with two pushed together. They were very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but clean. In all the hotel felt more like a B&B. the breakfast was delicious.

Location was good - about a 10 minute walk to the Duomo. A nice quiet past of town but easy to get to everything. We will visit again when we return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 5 nights in the hotel during the Easter break. We were fortunate to have 2 double rooms next to each other and could close them off from the rest of the hotel for added privacy. The rooms were large and very clean and the bathrooms had recently been renovated. Although the rooms were facing the street there was no street noise.
The hotel is within easy walking distance to the main attractions in Florence and there are plenty good restaurants nearby.
Breakfast was delicious and offered something for all tastes from healthy fresh fruit salad to rolls/toast to lots of cakes.
What made the stay most memorable was the friendly and welcoming service from staff and particularly the owners. Marco even offered to take us to the station on our last day.
A very enjoyable stay and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiki052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We loved our stay at the Hotel Giglio. The quad room was perfect for our family, the bathroom was large, modern, and clean, and the breakfast was lovely. What really made this hotel stand out, however, was the hospitality of the owners and staff. When he saw our son playing on his iPod, the owner asked if he liked the PS2 and the next day one appeared in our room. When I was having trouble with my Academy tickets, he was working on the problem long after I had given up. And when we checked out, they even offered to give us a ride to the local airport. I will definitely stay at the Hotel Giglio if I am lucky enough to be in Florence again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyA561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#127 of 409 in Florence
440 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#111 of 409 in Florence
809 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#82 of 409 in Florence
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#169 of 409 in Florence
199 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#63 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 409 in Florence
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £59 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing