We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #136 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We can't say enough about this hotel. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Our room was huge and the location is convenient. Breakfast was excellent- lots of fresh fruit, rolls, meats, and great cappuccino. The owners were great about giving us tips on places to visit and directions for the easiest ways to get there on foot. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    217
    46
    18
    4
See reviews for
213
298
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We loved our stay here! Booked on the basis of TA reviews and were not disappointed. Thanks to Marco and Luca for all their helpfulness booking tours for us and giving us ideas on where to go, what to see, where to eat. Also very centrally located. It is right near the main sights and the station - Florence is a walking city so once you come to terms with that, the hotel is exceptionally well positioned. Wifi works exceptionally well, rooms were big and spacious and the bathroom spotless and decent with great water pressure in the shower. Breakfasts also great with nice fresh fruit variety and excellent coffee made by M. Nothing was too much for them - they went out of their way to help us and even helped us plan the next part of our trip from Naples to Positano. Great for kids too as they have a whole host of dvds, playstation games, puzzles, toys etc available. Considering what they have to work with in terms of the old building and space, Marco and Roberto have made this into a beautiful hotel that considers all the needs of its guests and strives to make your stay as comfortable and easy as possible. Would definitely stay here when in Florence again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tokyostar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days here. The owner was delightful and full of recommendations and advice. He helpfully marked up our map telling us where to go. He even gave us a lift to the train when we left! Our room was huge and clean, it was a quad overlooking the front door. It was quiet. Breakfast was European and fresh and good and they were happy to let us take breakfast back to our layabed teenager. Its a bit of a hike from downtown, especially to come back to change and then go off back near the river to dinner again. But not so far as to need a bus or cab. The wifi was inconsistant but it never actually cut out. A great visit. It was almost like staying with a local friend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The room and bath were good size, and very comfortable; the location was a bit of a hike into the city center, but the bus was very close; the staff was more than helpful. All together a good place to stay in Florence

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We felt very much at home at this Hotel. The Management and staff were genuinely helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast in a delightful dining room. Comfortable room and bed. This is an older style hotel, entry of which is by the first floor. There is an elevator. Location is excellent. Furthermore, upon preparing to leave the hotel for the train station, we were unexpectedly and pleasantly surprised by the Manager (or owner) offering - and in fact taking us together with our luggage to the station in his own vehicle. Upon offering to pay for the ride, I was told "No! This is free." We had not experienced such kindness above the call of duty from a hotel before. Beautiful people!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I found Hotel Giglio using reviews on trip advisor and the hotel, in my experience, lived up to its reviews. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I traveled with my friend and baby. They were very accommodating to our needs. The bathroom was newly renovated. The air conditioning worked well. And the locale was not too far from the city's center. I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmcclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Giglio is outstanding. Best service of any place during our three week, seven hotel vacation, and we stayed in many good hotels with great service. Loved the staff, and the rooms are huge and quiet. Would recommend wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#117 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#183 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#121 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#168 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing