We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 4 Days in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #139 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great 4 Days in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was a great location close to the city center. We walked into the city and we are both pensioners. Marco-Roberto and the team were always on hand to help. They told us the restaurants to go to and the best way to travel. There are many buses from here. Breakfast is really good and we had tea in the evenings ( Brits). Beds are good and the Colonial style of the rooms is really well done. The on-suit was a good size and well provisioned.
Cannot recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a great double room but don't expect views. Elevator up to the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    215
    46
    18
    4
See reviews for
212
298
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Located inside the ZTL, you can enter by car to leave your luggage if the hotel send your plate to the police, but - shame! - they forgot to send ours, so I was fined. The hotel is inside an old building, not far from the city center: you can reach it in 15 minutes on foot. Our room was large and clean. Breakfast was more than enough. The real plus was the friendly welcome of the owners, specially Marco and his wife, who can give you whatever advise you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on our stop at Florence. It is a 15 - 20 minute walk from the train station, which is convenient since we avoided taking cabs during our entire trip in Italy. It would probably only be a 5 minute cab ride.

The hotel itself is located inside a building, so don't expect walking up to a hotel building. Marco, his wife, brother and other staff were welcoming, answering all our questions about restaurants, attractions, providing us with a map and even giving us directions to the laundromat (it is literally just around the corner). In the front reception area you will find a shelf full of books, dvds, guide books and pamphlets for local tours to borrow during your stay.

The room itself and the bathroom is spacious, the furniture is old but has it's charm. We had a room at the back and the view was ok. But it meant that it was quiet the whole time. Cleanliness is average.The first thing I did was put the large throw pillows in the closet since I don't know when they were cleaned the last time. They provide you with slippers and a bath robe. The only other thing which I though might be a bit dirty is the towel warmer/ rack in the bathroom ( I stayed away from using towels that touched that thing). We had one large bed, made up of 2 twin beds which did not bother us.The room also had free wifi which is allowed us to keep in touch with family and friends.

The location is great as you can walk all the to the tourist areas and attractions. We also found some great restaurants nearby. During our stay we also took a day tour to Cinque Terre and the tour company could easily locate the hotel. The breakfast included is average and has a selection of cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juices, cereal, coffee and tea.

For the price we paid, it was well worth it. Note that it is a 3 star hotel on the hotel booking website. So don't come in expecting 4 star or 5 star accomodation and service in North American standards. If I were to visit Florence again, I would definitely be back for a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKTravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Marco and his staff welcomed my adult son and I warmly and were generous with restaurant ideas and tips on attractions. The beds were so comfortable. The breakfast was lovely; the cappuccinos were excellent! The hotel was in a great location for seeing the sights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemon910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Hi, this is a truly unpretentious hotel in the heart of Florence within walking distance of all the best tourist attractions this amazing Tuscan Capital has to offer. Our family of five were welcomed and the owner did his best. Even organizing a tour to the surrounding area on Xmas day, when our taxi was a bit tardy on arrival to take us to the station on departure, he took us himself.

Room Tip: all rooms pretty similar, so pick any
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here with our two older, one adult, children over New Years 2014. We had a very spacious room and shower. Marco and the staff were so pleasant and helpful. He even took a map and highlighted routes for us and which was very helpful to our trip. He also shared venues for New Years Eve, which we would have not known about otherwise. Breakfast was excellent and just as good as we had in some bakerys. THis was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our visit to Italy. I highly recommend not just the hotel, but also taking advantage of the assistance they offer related to the happenings in the area.

Room Tip: The quad room is excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kquinn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I booked a 7-night stay over the New Year period largely on the strength of customer reviews on here and on booking.com, and because of its central location (a five-minute walk from Piazza San Marco). The positives: as many others have remarked, the hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and they put on a good spread for breakfast each morning. The negatives: you can hear everything that goes on in the hotel, especially during breakfast (7.30-10.00) and room service, meaning we got very little sleep during our stay. This was compounded by the fact that our room was right next to the toilet, meaning there was even more commotion outside our door. The room itself wasn't very clean - the floors were very dusty and dirty, and I found stains on both the duvet and the bathroom curtain. There was damp all over the wall in the en-suite bathroom and the towel warmer was also rusted and dirty. Overall, I would say this hotel is not good value for money and would not recommend staying there: I have had much better experiences and spent less in other three-star and indeed four-star hotels.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 6 - it's extremely noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dmpwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#118 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#174 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#119 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#164 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing