We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Great Hosts!”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #156 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2008

So many good reviews, and another to add to them. The slight problems of distance from town center and a very firm bed were far outweighed by the attentive, outstanding service by Marco, Roberto and their staff. We booked the superior room and it was clean, comfortable and cool (the A/C does work and you really do control the temp!). A 5 star might beat Giglio in some amenities, but not in personal service or value. Our next stop was a 4* hotel in Venice: but in comparison--we wanted to go back to Hotel Giglio. We'll be back on our next visit to Florence!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houston_is_Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2008

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. It was in a fairly good location as you could walk to most of the main attractions.

I think the main reason we enjoyed it so much was the excellent service we received. We appreciated all the little extras that the owners did for us, such as booking a car rental, driving to the car rental place and driving us to the metro. All of our questions were answered and the suggestions were very helpful.

The rooms were very spacious and comfortable with a very large bathroom. It was very clean and we felt like we were at home.

There was a delicious breakfast with lots to pick from.

We were happy that there was free internet for the guests and the air conditioning worked great.

We spent 7 nights there and we would highly recommend this place to anyone.

We noticed as we were checking out that they were putting in mini fridges in each of the room, which is a great touch.

I would book again right from their website, as they seem to have some great deals.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tripgirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

This very modest hotel is clean and well-run by a pair of brothers. Sound carries, the bed was rather caved-in, and the nights were chilly, but it was still a good experience. The breakfast was good and though the facilities are old and run down (the tile floors and the lighting are particularly dated), there is a certain charm to the place that newer and more upscale places lack. More trendy and luxury-minded travlers should probably avoid the Giglio, but if you don't mind a fairly spartan, student-like atmosphere, it's perfect and the price is right. Our room was large and the bathroom facilities were thoroughly up to date, and if you view a hotel as a place to sleep and shower and not a palace of self-indulgence, then the Giglio is a good fit. I would happily return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

Marco and Roberto made our start to Italy extremely enjoyable. There is something to be said about personal service, in the States that is something we have lost. My Wife and I had a couple of loose ends to take care of and Marco completly led us through everything with patience. He talked to our next Hotelier and set up our rental car delivery. I am not a bed and breakfast person but this really works for your trip because they serve breakfast until 10am. Most B&B serve it from ungodly early hours and usually stop at 8am. The whole time we where there we felt that we where staying with friends well friends you dont have to take out for dinner. The restuarant they recommended was great. I cannot say enough good things about our stay with Roberto and Marco.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BCorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

My travel agent recommended this hotel - after I had spent weeks on end researching properties. We are two women who wanted to stay in a safe and affordable location, but since I travel frequently, I am SUPER picky about where I stay (it has to be nice).

Hotel Giglio was everything we were promised and more. When we got lost because of a protest and street closures trying to find them, they sent someone out on a motorbike to find US! He then proceeded to help us schlep all our bags about 5 blocks to the hotel location. They were so nice and accommodating and helpful about the local attractions & area at check in, and even though we had only booked a double room, we ended up with a quad that actually had a balcony overlooking the street.

The room had high ceilings, big windows with shutters and doors that opened for fresh air, a nice bathroom with a good shower and great ambiance - older Italy, only new & updated. They have airconditioning in the room (not that we needed it, it was fall) and a flat screen TV. They even have free wireless internet (which worked better in the lobby than the room).

The "lobby" has a small bar and espresso machine - and there was breakfast the next morning, which was a wonderful surprise. Right across the street there is a cute cafe & sandwich shop - just the place to pick up a snack, and just a short walk away you find all the museums, the outdoor market and everything you want to see in Florence, as well as great food!

I highly recommend this hotel - it was a delight and if I ever return to Florence, this will be where I will stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AgentZzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

After reading reviews of the Hotel Giglio in Florence on Trip Advisor, my traveling partners and I decided to stay there during our week stay in that city. It was one of the best decisions of our trip.

The Hotel Giglio is a delightful hotel which is well situated within easy walking distance of the center of Florence. We arrived to find a gracious reception desk and gracious hosts behind it. The hotel is owned and run by a lovely family who acquired it just 6 months ago. It is in good hands. Roberto and his brother, Eduardo, spoke English very well. They were very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and attractions and shopping. Beyond that, however, because of their hospitality our stay in Florence became much more than a sightseeing tour. The hotel became a wonderful part of the experience of the city.

Our triple room was exceptionally clean with great ensuite facilities that included a walk-in shower. The beds were freshly made each day and the room kept orderly. We had a nice view over the inner courtyard of the former Victorian era residence.

Free internet service is available to guests. However, we found it to be constantly busy. Roberto and Eduardo were gracious and kind enough to provide their own personal laptops to use as long as we needed to in order to keep in touch with family and work situations in the U.S. That was service beyond the norm.

Breakfast is included in the stay at the Hotel Giglo. It included typical continental breakfast fare with the addition of homemade Italian pastries and fresh made morning cappuchinos and espressos. The dining room is cozy but comfortable and lends itself to visiting with other visitors to the hotel.

Another service which we didn't expect but enjoyed was the free lift to the train station at the end of our stay. Roberto kindly loaded and unloaded our luggage and gave us the friendly advice to watch our surroundings in the train station and be careful. He sent us off with such a kindly, friendly touch that we felt that we had become part of the family during our too brief stay.

The Hotel Giglio is reached from the ground floor by a staircase to the 2nd floor. There is a small lift, however, to help those who need help with baggage or have difficulty climbing the stairs. We had no problem negotiating the wide, attractive staircase. The location is on the Via Cavour which is just a few minutes walk straight to Duomo square. There are numerous restaurants and the city market in the area. It is a lively, safe area with many students and professional people living in the area. The rooms were quiet and a nice respite from the day.

We recommend the Hotel Giglio highly. You will find it to be one of the best values and best experiences in Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Doloresfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

On a work -related trip to Italy, my mother and I spent a few days in Florence before and after a private bike tour with Per's Bike Rides of Florence. For one night before the bike tour, and for two nights following the bike trip, we made reservations at Hotel Giglio. This family owned and run hotel provided outstanding service. When we first arrived, we were too early to check-in...but that was okay, we were provided with a nice cold refreshment from the small hotel bar and the staff were happy to store our luggage while we headed out to shop in Florence! Upon our return to the hotel, they had graciously moved our luggage into the room. Our room was nicely decorated, had a TV, a very large bathroom and if one desired, air conditioning. A perk for the traveling professional was also access to a computer with free internet located near the front desk. All of the staff and owners were very helpful with providing maps, suggestions for activities in Florence and directions. The breakfast each morning was delicious...with choices of hot drinks, FRESH croissants and pastries...and FRESH fruit (not just canned)!

The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the Duomo and other major attractions in Florence. But after eating so many great meals in Florence and indulging on gelatto each day, we actually appreciated the short walk back to the hotel. To get an overview of Florence and Fiesole, we also took one of the double decker, jump on -jump off bus tours of the towns....and tickets for this tour were sold to us right at the front desk. When we checked out to catch our train to Bologna, we asked for a taxi to be called ...but one of the brothers who owns the hotel graciously informed us that he would be driving us to the train station in his van! Thank you! With all of our Florence purchases we appreciated this extra help...and also the opportunity to chat with you and learn more about your family and business. On any return trip to Florence, I would have no hesitation in staying in this lovely small hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DrNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#166 of 410 in Florence
203 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#129 of 410 in Florence
444 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#111 of 410 in Florence
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#112 of 410 in Florence
256 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 410 in Florence
515 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 410 in Florence
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £58 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing