We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable, affordable hotel”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #168 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Hotel Giglio was a great place to stay while in Florence. The hotel itself was incredibly comfortable, and our room was beyond spacious. The concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable. The breakfast was terrific - the best we'd had in our 5 hotels during a whirl-wind European vacation. My only complaint was that the location was a bit further on Via Cavour than I anticipated - it actually was a few blocks past Piazza San Marco away from the center. Nevertheless, it still was an easy walk into town (10-15 minutes) and we enjoyed being in a quieter neighborhood away from the more touristy center. This hotel was much more affordable than many others we looked at in Florence and I don't think anything was compromised by the lower price!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melis940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2009

Just take a look at all of the glowing reviews of this hotel and mainly about the staff. You cannot go wrong with this hotel. The location is good, the breakfasts are very good, the services are wonderful and the staff is outstanding. The overall value is unbeatable. Absolutely a wonderful experience in a wonderful city. Like several reviewers have said, this is a gem.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevMadisonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We have just returned from a three night stay at Hotel Giglio.. We found the rooms spacious and clean. The breakfast was good and the reception team extremely helpful, we were offered a lift to the station by one of the staff. We did find Florence very expensive.. .. A word of warning..be absolutely certain what price you are paying for ice cream.We asked for two small cornets and were charges 16 euros. What seems to happen is that you are served at the freezer and then asked to take the money to the cashier desk..by which time your ice cream is dripping and you are eating...hence you pay up. Do walk up the hill to Michaelangelo square, the views are lovely

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

i have been here 3 days and all the good things others on tripadvisor have praised are true. what a welcome surprise to be in florence and have the desk staff handle any and all details of your visit for you. luca has been fabulous, reservations for museum entry tickets, no problem, just give him some flexible times to work with, some same day and next day during week preseason for the basic cost of ticket and reservation..........not the inflated prices i have seen online. and yes there are long lines to the popular spots, while i show up 15 min before my timed entry to purchase the ticket and then go through a different door with either no line or a very short one for security check. the desk staff when i have asked, also recommend local places to eat for your needs, where to get real homemade gelato, etc. and many are an easy and safe walk from hotel giglio. the building has character common to the downtown and rooms are comfortable; my courtyard facing room is quieter than streetside. it is a great value if you want to mix with the locals. i have yet to take a taxi or bus...good walking shoes help:))
you can also email the hotel in advance and ask them do some arrangements rather than the internet providers who seem to be charging substantially more. there is a computer for guest use in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vista4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Marco and Roberto’s Hotel Giglio lived up to its Tripadvisor hype, and then some! By way of background, my husband and I spent our first three nights in Tuscany in the small town of Fiesole, on a hilltop about seven miles outside of--and overlooking--Florence. We are not city people, and wanted to have a quieter experience in the evenings for our first three nights, after spending the days seeing the sights of Florence.

We took the #7 bus from Fiesole daily into Florence. On our fourth morning, we simply exited the bus a few yards from Hotel Giglio, since the bus’s path through Florence took us straight down Via Cavour, right in front of the hotel. Perfetto!

The hotel is in an historic building, and the public areas and guest rooms have been beautifully refitted to high modern standards of functionality while maintaining the ambiance and charm of an earlier time in the history of Florence. Our room was very large, with 20-foot ceilings, a spotless modern bathroom, and furnishings in keeping with the hotel’s Florentine past.

Breakfast was served buffet style beginning at 7:30 a.m. and was tasty and substantial enough to power us up for a morning of sightseeing, allowing us to postpone lunch until around 2:00 p.m. Selections included four types of dry cereals, sweet rolls, breads, ham and other cured meats, sliced cheese, fruit juices, yogurt, and a lovely bowl of cut-up fresh fruit--apples, oranges, kiwi, pineapple. You had but to request cappuccino, hot chocolate, espresso, coffee, or tea and it would be brought to your table, freshly made.

The morning of our departure, Marco drove us to the airport! Hotel Giglio is a mere 15-minute walk to the Duomo, and 5 minutes from the Academia’s David. It is a lovely oasis, on a major street, but still quiet at night, and an outstanding value for the money. My husband and I highly recommend Hotel Giglio.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

This was a great base for sightseeing in Florence. Everything was walkable though there were buses too. The chap on reception was extremely helpful and knowledgeable and had some great tips for sights and restaurants, with 10% discount at several nearby. The buffet breakfast made a good start to the day.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

This hotel is rated a three star but has a five star staff! The only draw back, if you are at all fragile, is the walk up to the second floor to get into the hotel. Other than that, the entire hotel is spotlessly clean, the breakfast far beyond my expectations and the staff and owners (who are onsight constantly) are welcoming, accomodating, friendly and helpful. I would never stay at another hotel in Florence because I now consider this my "home away from home". Right on the bus line, with the Duomo within walking distance and Marco offering us rides when we needed them most it is very evident that the staff wants you to have a great time in Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awbraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#164 of 410 in Florence
209 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#99 of 410 in Florence
268 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
Hotel Relais Il Cestello
#157 of 410 in Florence
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#84 of 410 in Florence
447 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#89 of 410 in Florence
603 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#158 of 410 in Florence
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £54 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing