We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a bad hotel experience, this was just what I needed.”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #131 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“After a bad hotel experience, this was just what I needed.”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

The staff here were so kind and helpful, you cannot help but enjoy your stay here. The place was clean, the rooms were clean and a good size by European standards, and I could not get over the value! The location was perfect - so close to the Duomo yet you did not hear all the late night activities. They offered free breakfast as well as free Wi-Fi which I found unique considering the low rate. My only complaint is that I could only get a room for two nights! I had to hotel-hop due to the volcano issue but that is okay because if not for that, I would have nver discovered this little gem! Again, the staff was exceptional and so personable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reece007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    218
    46
    18
    4
See reviews for
214
300
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borders, Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

To reiterate others- this small yet well located hotel (yes- it IS well located - only 10 mins from Duomo) has excellent customer service and well apppinted rooms.
We stayed for 3 nights and booked a superior room- although a standard room would be just as good. Rooms are good size (for Italy) though small bathrooms.
** The staff before and after booking, and during the stay could not have been more helpful. Information provided on transport, and also courtesy trip to the station upon leaving. **
The room was tidy and comfortable- although tea/coffee facilities would have been good (esp. as 'superior') and a fridge was available- as well as complimentary drink.
Wonderful cafe/chocolate shop across the road (via Cavour) as all cafe's seem to be in Italy. The main road takes you direct to heart of Florence with good choice of shops and eating along the way- certainly not a chore to walk into town.
** TOP TIP: take time to find cafe's/restaurants away from tourist traps such as Piazza Signoria as you can save pounds.. (€4 euro beer compared to €10 beer!) **
Very well located for all atrractions, museums, eating etc- the hotel recommends local restuaurant Antica Trattoria "da Tito"- excellent food and price. You do not need to spend €80 for a good meal!!
** TOP TIP - Visit the museum Bargallo- for wonderful sculpture- and avoid Uffizi if paintings are not your thing!- wonderful snack bar/pizza just across the road. a streets or two away from VIVOLI- the BEST ice cream in Florence**
If the hotel is busy- then you can expect noise from other guests, doors slamming etc- but this is to be expected- and should not deter you from staying. The breakfast was adequate but you need to get there early for pastries and bread!- would recommend one of the many coffee shops available just to experience true Florentine baking and coffee..
Highly recommended and would use again. Again- GREAT service.. in a beautiful City

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amityisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Very friendly staff. Nice and clean room. Execellen breakfast. Offer free welcome drinks. Give detail information where to visit and where to eat. Offer free ride to train station.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texansbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We stayed in the Giglio over the February half term week. I chose the hotel based on the reviews and was not disappointed. I was travelling with my husband and our two children aged 11 and 14, and the hotel was perfect for our needs. The owners and staff were unfailingly friendly and courteous. Breakfast in the neat little dining room was an absolute delight, and our room was airy and spacious. I'vre stayed in many European hotels over the years, but this is undoubtedly the most welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrosevern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Positives:
The service (very NICE people!) They gave us a ride to the train station in the morning when we were in a bind.
The breakfast was excellent
Very clean and comfortable
Had a small library of movies and travel books to check out

Negatives:
The only part we didn't really like about the hotel was our double bed was 2 beds pushed together (the sheets were very tight so it wasn't to bad but you could still tell), the rooms had very tall ceilings... so if you plan on making some noise its going to echo, and the noise of the air conditioner going on and off.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auzzybond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katmc
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2010

While visiting Italy for spring break, we had come across some not-so-nice accommodations in Rome. So needless to say, our hopes for Firenze were not very high - especially considering how little we paid for our room at Hotel Giglio.

This was honestly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed it! It was quaint, the staff was absolutely phenomenal, the rooms were comfortable, and the breakfast the next morning was absolutely fabulous. I did not expect the service we received from the staff - they were so helpful with everything!

Plus, a little amenity we did not know about was the dvd player in the room - and you could borrow dvds from down stairs to watch for free!

Such a great place - I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Great little find, very clean rooms and wonderful service.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombshelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#113 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#176 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#135 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#163 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#86 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#84 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing