We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent owners and staff, good rooms, good location, good value”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #141 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Randolph, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent owners and staff, good rooms, good location, good value”
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Visited Florence for a conference with a colleague and our spouses, and stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Giglio. It is a small boutique hotel on the second floor of an old building on a relatively quiet street. My wife and I had a large comfortable room with a queen bed (and two twin beds that we did not need). Bathroom was modern but rather small. The owners Roberto and Marco and Marco's wife, along with the rest of the staff, were excellent hosts and very helpful. They drove my colleague and me to the conference center in the morning, helped our spouses with planning trips in the city, somehow took care of parking our rental car along the streets, and overall made our stay very pleasant. The room rate was very reasonable compared to other Florence hotels and included a full breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    220
    48
    18
    4
See reviews for
216
301
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We loved this hotel. Stayed in extremely spacious and comfortable family room -No 9. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. Continental breakfast in airy and pleasant room was a good start to each busy day. DVD's and tourist books were great to have at night when winding down after an active day sightseeing. Several cheap but good restaurants nearby and the Duomo ,main shopping area and all main attractions within walking distance. Both adults and teenagers in our party loved this hotel and felt so welcome we now understand previous Trip Advisor comments about it feeling like a home from home. Hope we are blessed with the opportunity to return some day.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveholidaysGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We used Florence as a home base for our 2-week Italy vacation and spent 5 nights at the Hotel Giglio. The rooms were large, the breakfast was great, and the location was a perfect balance of being out of the hustle and bustle but close to all the sights. The staff was incredibly helpful, provided great restaurant advice, and was super friendly. We truly felt like we had our own home in Florence and would most definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

The service is the winner here. Great location and large rooms are included, but the small nature of the hotel means that the very personal nature of the service gives this place a very homely feel! Can recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

The staff here were so kind and helpful, you cannot help but enjoy your stay here. The place was clean, the rooms were clean and a good size by European standards, and I could not get over the value! The location was perfect - so close to the Duomo yet you did not hear all the late night activities. They offered free breakfast as well as free Wi-Fi which I found unique considering the low rate. My only complaint is that I could only get a room for two nights! I had to hotel-hop due to the volcano issue but that is okay because if not for that, I would have nver discovered this little gem! Again, the staff was exceptional and so personable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reece007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

To reiterate others- this small yet well located hotel (yes- it IS well located - only 10 mins from Duomo) has excellent customer service and well apppinted rooms.
We stayed for 3 nights and booked a superior room- although a standard room would be just as good. Rooms are good size (for Italy) though small bathrooms.
** The staff before and after booking, and during the stay could not have been more helpful. Information provided on transport, and also courtesy trip to the station upon leaving. **
The room was tidy and comfortable- although tea/coffee facilities would have been good (esp. as 'superior') and a fridge was available- as well as complimentary drink.
Wonderful cafe/chocolate shop across the road (via Cavour) as all cafe's seem to be in Italy. The main road takes you direct to heart of Florence with good choice of shops and eating along the way- certainly not a chore to walk into town.
** TOP TIP: take time to find cafe's/restaurants away from tourist traps such as Piazza Signoria as you can save pounds.. (€4 euro beer compared to €10 beer!) **
Very well located for all atrractions, museums, eating etc- the hotel recommends local restuaurant Antica Trattoria "da Tito"- excellent food and price. You do not need to spend €80 for a good meal!!
** TOP TIP - Visit the museum Bargallo- for wonderful sculpture- and avoid Uffizi if paintings are not your thing!- wonderful snack bar/pizza just across the road. a streets or two away from VIVOLI- the BEST ice cream in Florence**
If the hotel is busy- then you can expect noise from other guests, doors slamming etc- but this is to be expected- and should not deter you from staying. The breakfast was adequate but you need to get there early for pastries and bread!- would recommend one of the many coffee shops available just to experience true Florentine baking and coffee..
Highly recommended and would use again. Again- GREAT service.. in a beautiful City

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amityisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Very friendly staff. Nice and clean room. Execellen breakfast. Offer free welcome drinks. Give detail information where to visit and where to eat. Offer free ride to train station.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texansbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#129 of 412 in Florence
433 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#117 of 412 in Florence
454 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#92 of 412 in Florence
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Luxor Florence
Hotel Luxor Florence
#103 of 412 in Florence
239 reviews
Hotel Villa Liana
#100 of 412 in Florence
389 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#50 of 412 in Florence
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Property: Hotel Giglio
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing