We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel giglio was fabulous”
Review of Hotel Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giglio
Ranked #142 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The staff at Hotel Giglio went out of their way to help us. They recommended restaurants, day trips and bus routes. They showed a genuine interest in making our trip be more enjoyable. The full breakfast was fabulous with a huge bowl of freshly chopped fruit every morning. They called the airline regarding my lost luggage and they made numerous reservations for us. On the day of our departure, they loaded up our luggage and took us in their van to the train station! The hotel wqs clean and only a 10 minute walk from the center of town but far enough away for it not to be noisy. We have never had such amazingly helpful staff before. I highly recommnd Hotel Giglio for your trip to Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Giglio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2010

In a Word, Perfect... Exceptional/ Friendly/ Helpful service from the front desk onward... A real pleasure... Nice, clean, well furnished room, great shower, firm bed, Perfect Wifi... Xint breakfast...Cannot more highly recommend... Can't/Couldn't ask for more... Our new home whenever we are able to return...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

negative: tiny elevator, location not that great, had issue with bathroom
positive: great staff, spacious room

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cebuanaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Visited Florence for a conference with a colleague and our spouses, and stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Giglio. It is a small boutique hotel on the second floor of an old building on a relatively quiet street. My wife and I had a large comfortable room with a queen bed (and two twin beds that we did not need). Bathroom was modern but rather small. The owners Roberto and Marco and Marco's wife, along with the rest of the staff, were excellent hosts and very helpful. They drove my colleague and me to the conference center in the morning, helped our spouses with planning trips in the city, somehow took care of parking our rental car along the streets, and overall made our stay very pleasant. The room rate was very reasonable compared to other Florence hotels and included a full breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We loved this hotel. Stayed in extremely spacious and comfortable family room -No 9. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. Continental breakfast in airy and pleasant room was a good start to each busy day. DVD's and tourist books were great to have at night when winding down after an active day sightseeing. Several cheap but good restaurants nearby and the Duomo ,main shopping area and all main attractions within walking distance. Both adults and teenagers in our party loved this hotel and felt so welcome we now understand previous Trip Advisor comments about it feeling like a home from home. Hope we are blessed with the opportunity to return some day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveholidaysGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We used Florence as a home base for our 2-week Italy vacation and spent 5 nights at the Hotel Giglio. The rooms were large, the breakfast was great, and the location was a perfect balance of being out of the hustle and bustle but close to all the sights. The staff was incredibly helpful, provided great restaurant advice, and was super friendly. We truly felt like we had our own home in Florence and would most definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

The service is the winner here. Great location and large rooms are included, but the small nature of the hotel means that the very personal nature of the service gives this place a very homely feel! Can recommend.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#128 of 411 in Florence
435 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#123 of 411 in Florence
454 reviews
Hotel Villa Liana
#100 of 411 in Florence
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#94 of 411 in Florence
905 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#53 of 411 in Florence
799 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 411 in Florence
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giglio

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 85, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £64 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giglio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing