We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the Duomo from your window!”
Review of De Lanzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Lanzi
Ranked #238 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Birmingham,AL
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“See the Duomo from your window!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

To sleep closer to the Duomo you probably would need to sleep in one of the Cathedral pews! That is how close this hotel is to the center of Florence. The hotel is nothing fancy, if you can overlook the neon sign on top of the elevator which takes you to the third floor where the reception is you'll be OK! The rooms are nice size, clean and with updated bathroom. The breakfast is adecuate and the service very good. But the location is what sets it apart. I went to sleep looking at the campanile from my window and woke up at 7:00am sharp...that is when the bells start t toll! Thank goodness they don't toll in the evening or there would be no way to sleep! But to me waking up to the sounds of the bells tolling in Florence was pure magic. I would definitly go back to this hotel since I value location above anything and the price considering the other options was OK.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    196
    148
    40
    44
See reviews for
87
210
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect hotel to stay in Florence, if you want to stay in a good place near to everything (50 m to the Duomo) and you have a low budget. The service is very good, the room is small but cozy, and the internet works very well. Recommended for backpackers and low budget travellers that want to enjoy good stays.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank abdulb4shur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of April and I would choose this hotel again. The room we had faced the street on first floor, so it was a bit loud. The church bells from the Duomo and cathedral would go off starting about 7am and went sound every 15 minutes or maybe every 30. There is a gelato shop right outside the hotel so it sometimes would be loud as crowds gathered.
However even with the noise, it wasn't too bad. We were there during their Labor Day Holiday and that night was a crazy party in the streets, with music and tons of people everywhere celebrating, even though it was loud it was a great, fun, night and experience!
The room was very clean, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. The bathroom was a good size, but the shower was small. We had plenty of space in our room. The breakfast was great for a free continental style breakfast. The juices were great, hard boiled eggs, lunch meats and cheeses along with pastries, yogurt and fruit. I think the location can't be beat. We even walked from train station to the hotel with our luggage and it wasn't that long of a walk.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street are loud at night and in the morning the bells from the Duomo will go off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlesniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Other reviews have talked about the location and are 100% correct. Walk anywhere in 15mins- even with me being pregnant! The negatives are that it is a bit run down and breakfast is quite plain but adequate to get you going. The WiFi works well and have used it to book various tickets which I emailed to the hotel to print out for me which they were happy to do. Not only that but when the link on the e-mail didn't work the reception staff spent time helping me to resolve it and get our tickets for the following morning. All the staff speak good English and gave good recommendations for restaurants and helpful info re 24hour pharmacy close by. In summary I would stay here again. Not if I wanted to hang around a hotel but for a good base that offers everything we needed to enjoy Florence.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank culturevultureuk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Far from the sta maria novella train station and bus station (about 15mins walk)
Near the signature shopping district (Pandora, bata, prada, gucci, LV, hermes, etc).
Small elevator
Electronic doors per floor and per room
Clean bathrooms
Toilet flush is slow
Small shower area
Old cabinet with old key system
With safety vault
Nice Flat TV with english channel
In front of best gelatto shop
Near many pizzeria/ristorante
Near the walking tour destinations

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel has a great location, really easy to find,, and close to restaurants, shops, main attractions. As long as you see the Duomo, you know how to find the hotel anytime! It has a walking distance from the train station as well.

The breakfast is fine, since it's complimentary. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, but the supervisor (woman) had a very bad attitude with them in front of guests.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PanamanianWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Was a bit concerned by negative reviews on TA but had no problems at all. Checked in later at night and just strolled to Duomo. Easy walk to all main attractions in Florence. Hotel is older but serviceable. Breakfast was fine apart from the sour milk which wasn't too nice to have on cereal!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#185 of 411 in Florence
388 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#199 of 411 in Florence
583 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#210 of 411 in Florence
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#284 of 411 in Florence
293 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#217 of 411 in Florence
731 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#174 of 411 in Florence
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lanzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lanzi

Property: De Lanzi
Address: Via Dell'Oche 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Lanzi 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Lanzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lanzi Florence
De Lanzi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing