We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room, Good walking distance from highlighted attraction.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiazza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chiazza
Ranked #293 of 421 Hotels in Florence
London
1 review
“Good room, Good walking distance from highlighted attraction.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed at another building next to the reception.
There was resident or traveller partying late night downstairs made us hard to sleep.

Overall, it`s good.
Wifi connection should be used in no.7 building as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank amilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    31
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the chiazza for 2 nights when we visited Florence in June. After having read such great reviews, I must say I was rather disappointed with our stay. Our room was not in the main building, and while there was nothing wrong with it per say- it was definitely not worth the price. It probably did not help that both nights that we were there, it was so loud outside that even with the windows shut, we were barely able to catch a wink of sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We pay for a hostel and stayed in a 3 star hotel so our expectations were absolutely exceeded. 100% recommended, amazing service and breakfast in a great location 2 blocks away from the Basilica.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

After reading some of the reviews for this hotel on various websites, I thought that I would give it a try. We stayed here for two nights and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and its location. Our room was comfortable, clean and we were able to see the Duomo from our room. We were able to walk to all the major attractions in Florence. There were also some very nice restaurants in the courtyard (square), just 20 metres from the hotel. We arrived quite late at night but there was someone there waiting to check us in and show us to our room.
It was difficult at first to find the hotel as it is on the 3rd floor of an old building and there is another hotel on the floor below making it all the more confusing. There are no lifts so not great for lots of/heavy luggage. Wouldn’t be good for a disabled traveller either if not good with walking up and down the narrow stairs.

Overall, great value for money, I would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelBTravelblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

This hotel was probably our biggest and best surprise of our eurotrip. We booked it 2 days in advance, and at the ultraffordable rate of 60 euros a night, we weren't expecting much. We walked from the train station, right past the Duomo, and it was only a 15 minute walk (5 from the Duomo). It was a little confusing trying to find the entrance to the hotel as it isn't marked at all and the only hotel name that appears is the "Hotel Cardinal" on the little buzzer. After checking in, the front desk man told us that we were in the apartment, at which point we were very confused since we booked a 2-person room online and no way in hell were we paying for an apartment.
He led us downstairs (and even carried my bag!) and to the back of the property where this quaint little bungalow stood. It was amazing! There were tiled floors, a remodeled kitchen, a glass dining room table, airconditioning, an upgraded bathroom, and 2 bedrooms. One bedroom had a sofa with a pull out bed and an actual twin bed. The other bedroom had a queen bed as well as a twin and an armoir with full length mirrors. Everything was spotless and clean. It definitely could have slept 6+, and we were seriously considering throwing a party. We were convinced there had been some kind of mistake, but we weren't about to say so.
The breakfast the hotel provided was fairly decent as well. There's an assortment of pastries, juices, cereals, and toast. Location is key and the Hotel Chiazza is located perfectly. It's off the main streets to the Duomo but it's a short walk to it as well as the sculpture garden. On the trek to the Duomo are some amazing restaurants.
Upon checkout, the hotel was very helpful. They stored our bags for us, and when we asked them if we could change our clothing, they showed us to a vacant room where we could freshen up (which was equally as nice as our apartment).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

You arrive at Borgo Pinti #5, and you don't see the hotel's name anywhere.. the actual name is Hotel Cardinal of Florence. IMPORTANT! They should update this, but in the meantime.. write that down! Location is fine. It's not right in front of the main attractions, but close enough, just a few minutes walking to any of the sights. The hotel is on a 3rd floor (I think), and it doesn't have an elevator. Other than that, everything is perfect. Reception desk service was great! The lady speaks english quite well, and is very polite and friendly. Room was spacious and everything was clean. Breakfast was great, lots of food and drinks. The best breakfast we had in Italy!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

The staff at the Chiazza were so friendly! I was studying based in Prato and had to come into Florence once a week for one month and the staff always remembered me and were extremely helpful.

The room, booked as a single for a very good price, was actually a double in a lovely atmospheric building overlooking a courtyard. Bathroom was clean, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeMaunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
#216 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
#150 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Arizona
Hotel Arizona
#142 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiazza

Property: Chiazza
Address: Borgo Pinti 5, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:2 star — Chiazza 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Chiazza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiazza Hotel Florence
Chiazza Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing