We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as advertised” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiazza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chiazza
Ranked #292 of 421 Hotels in Florence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2006

On the plus side: good location, a few blocks from the Duomo and Campanile. For a budget option, it didn't feel particularly unsafe or dirty. It's fairly unattractive on the inside (ugly bedspreads, puke-colored floors) and up several long flights of stairs when dragging luggage, but I more or less expected this for the price we paid. It was fairly quiet at night.

Absolutely unacceptable is the fact that we chose it because it advertised air conditioning, and it emphatically did not have air conditioning. There was a bit of a run-around on the first night we got there about it, with one of the girls at the front desk mentioning something about having to ask the day manager. They claimed they turned it on, but our room never got one jot cooler. This might have been all right, since it was only the beginning of June, but the windows lacked screens. When we opened the windows in absolute desperation for some air, we were visited by every insect in Florence.

Other problems: the breakfast was standard Italian fare, which would have been fine if the milk products had been properly refrigerated. The staff was indeed multilingual, but not particularly helpful. The shower is one of those European deals, with a shower head on the side of the wall and no stall. (Not a big deal if you're expecting it, but we weren't.)

When we checked in after getting off a very delayed train, we learned that if we'd been just a few minutes later, the hotel would have closed, locking us out without accommodations for our first night in Florence. Be sure to arrive before midnight if you don't want this to happen to you.

I used to edit budget Italian travel guides, and believe me when I tell you that there are better budget options out there, even in Florence. This is one of these places that looks great on the website but ultimately disappoints in almost every way.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shannon_chamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    31
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2006

I booked a room for 2 nights in this hotel back in Feb for a trip in June. As my plans changed I had to cancel the 2nd night. I was only obliged to give 24 hrs notice but I gave them 1 weeks notice. They cancelled the booking for both nights saying that the would not be able to rent out the room for one night only. Absolute nonsense. They were able to charge a massive fee for the rooms as it is a holiday in Florence. Steer well clear. Very amateurish.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank lisbon1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2006

The hotel is in the heart of everything, but this also comes with a downside as there are quiet a few dodgy characters around. I can't say I felt that safe during our stay. Breakfast is just okay. The service was good, the girls were friendly and helpful. There's an internet connection in the hotel also and it's fast which is rare in Florence, so that's a plus. The rooms are ok, the bathrooms are an add on so they're tiny and uncomfortable. To be honest, I'd skip Florence all together and stay in nearby Tuscany, you're much more likely to enjoy your experience there and you can do a day trip to Florence to see the sights which is all you need.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripAdvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2006

We stayed 5 nights in the Chiazza, and were happy with the whole experience. Family run by a very nice couple (English isn't perfect, but all their employess speak it fine), who go out of their way to provide a friendly environment. Breakfast is a major cut above hotels costing twice as much in Rome (only thing we can compare to)--fresh croissants, great coffee (your choice if you want Espresso or American style), fresh fruit, tiramasu! Very helpful and friendly at the desk. And of course, great location and great price. The rooms vary radically in size, so if it's important to you ask for a larger room. The apartment on the courtyard is worth the little extra money if it's available. Yes, it's a 2 star hotel so don't expect luxury, but if you want honest value and friendly people, this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2006

We did a lot of searching beforehand and this was by far the cheapest double with private bathroom we could find in Florence. The rooms were a little outdated (wood paneling, 60's decor) and the TV had only one channel and static, but we didn't expect a television at all, so that was not an issue. The bathroom was bizarre, but aren't all European bathrooms I suppose. The staff was WONDERFUL and really accomodating. We could walk everywhere, to all the museums, to and from the train station (a bit lengthy, but not bad, even with our HUGE bags). We enjoyed this hotel and it was a steal for the price.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2006

I stayed in the Albergo chiazza hotel in october 2005. It is a two star hotel but i would consider it a 3 star. It is located very near the duomo which is a big plus. The hotel is clean and the rooms are quite big. Breakfast is sufficient and it is very quiet at night time. There is also off street parking. The hotel is situated on the 3rd and 4th floor of a 4 storey building. This shouldnt put anyone off since it is in such a great location.

Helpful?
4 Thank SMurphyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2005

This hotel was absolutely fantastic, right in the centre of Florence only a 2 minute walk from the Duoma and a short taxi ride from the station (cost about 8 Euros).
I booked the hotel on Venere and it was only 60 Euros per night for a double/twin room (including continental breakfast - which despite not having a huge choice was tasty!), Chiazza was a really nice and very clean hotel (room cleaned daily), the staff were really helpful and hotel had internet access very helpful if like us you are planning your onward jorney as you go!
The only downside is that the hotel is on the third floor so be prepared to have to walk your luggage up some stairs!

Would highly recommend this hotel! :-)

Helpful?
4 Thank LozzieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
#214 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
Hotel Cardinal of Florence
#157 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Arizona
Hotel Arizona
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#186 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiazza

Property: Chiazza
Address: Borgo Pinti 5, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:2 star — Chiazza 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Chiazza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiazza Hotel Florence
Chiazza Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing