We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Balcony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Balcony
Ranked #84 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Literally down the road from the Duomo/city centre (you can see the Duomo from the balcony), Hotel Balcony is located perfectly as a home-base to explore the incredibly walkable city of Florence. As other travelers have noted, it is also a short walk to the train station, which is great if you have heavy luggage to carry or are travelling in or out of Florence with early or late trains to catch. Upon our arrival, Guido gave us a map, talking us through the main sights and places to visit. (all in walking distance) He helped us carry our luggage up and showed us to our room. The room itself (a triple room) was a good size (larger than some rooms we'd stayed in during our trip) and bedroom/bathroom were both clean. The room was modest but perfectly comfortable for the three of us. Breakfast was fine, not spectacular but perfectly adequate. Staff were very nice and accommodating. When we'd come and go from the hotel we'd always receive a very friendly Ciao from the reception desk. Would recommend, had a very positive experience staying here and I imagine the balcony would be very nice in Summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    272
    74
    12
    5
See reviews for
112
358
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The location of the hotel was fantastic. A short 10 min walk to the train station pulling luggage. The young man working the front desk was amazing and spoke very good English. Upon arrival since we were seniors and there was no elevator our bags were taken to our room which was very clean and comfortable.Upon checking out our bags were taken down and stored for us until departure later that day. Good breakfast.All the major sites and attractions were within walking distance.Hotel is a great value

Room Tip: Great restaurant right next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Earl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great location, walking distance to all major attractions, close to the train station. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was basic but expected and sufficient to get our day started. Room was basic as well but met our needs - just a place to sleep. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street - can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tee0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed here to celebrate our 39th anniversary & it was in the perfect location. Close to the duomo, ponte vecchia and all the tourist sites but also close to the market, cheap pizzeria's etc. Would highly recommend I ghibelini for good local food & wine.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgieannjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel owner is very nice. Also the room is clean and comfy.
It is located in the center of everything. It is just 5-10 minutes walk to the the train station, duomo, uffizi gallery and the market.
I definitely stay in this hotel if i'm coming back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApiradeeNgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and were pleased with our choice, mainly due to the location. It's in the center, a few minutes from Santa Maria Fiore, and 5 minutes walk to the train and bus station. The hotel is managed by a family of nice and helpful people.The room is very clean, modest but with a good air conditioning system. Bathrooom was also clean and the shower worked very well. What we liked least was the breakfast, very poor, no variety and small quantity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

A young Florentine called Guido runs the place with his parents who quickly make you feel at home in their enchanting city Florence. The hotel is small, and perfectly located next to the Santa Maria Novella train station and just a 2 mins walk to the fabulous Duomo! The room was clean and guests can enjoy their breakfast on a nice breezy terrace or "the balcony". I stayed there for one night only but will surely book there again the next time I come to Florence!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeinaElHaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#77 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#91 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#126 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcony

Property: Hotel Balcony
Address: Via Dei Banchi 3/29r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Florence
#18 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#83 Family Hotel in Florence
#94 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Balcony 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balcony is located in the historical centre of Florence, very close to the Church of Santa Maria del Fiore and the Loggia dei Lanzi. The hotel occupies the entire first floor of an elegant and typically Florentine building, furnished in simple and sophisticated style. The common spaces available to guests include a large terrace with a panoramic view, from which it is possible to enjoy views of the spectacular Brunelleschi Dome. Our staff is available to help guests book tickets for museums, exhibitions, concerts and other cultural events, and to help guests organise tours through the Renaissance city and excursions to discover Tuscany and its surrounds. A rich sweet and savoury buffet breakfast, an internet point and a nearby garage with parking agreements, complete the broad range of services offered by Hotel Balcony in Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Balcony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing