We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relatively cheap but excellent hotel with a wonderful location,”
Review of Hotel Balcony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Balcony
Ranked #109 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Many of the other recent reviews match our experience exactly. Realy wonderful hosts, including phoning round dentists when a crown came off a tooth helping to get a highly satisfactory repair done, without loss of too much time. Fantastic location within sight of and about 3 minutes walk from the Duomo, AND quiet as well! Beautifully clean, and with a wondrous shower, and spacious rooms. The bed was huge, with a very new mattress, and so perfectly free of lumps and bumps, if a little hard for our taste. For this price and in this wonderful location, don't expect massive facilities or super elegant furniture, thought the wifi was fast throughout the hotel. A very standard breakfast, with no limit on what you can eat, but not very exciting fare. With a slightly softer bed, this would have been super-excellent, and as it was: excellent. We would not hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Balcony
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

A bit dated and quite basic but excellent location. I got a very good rate and it was only for a night so it did not bother me. The couple who run the hotel are very friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was basic but sufficient for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n0madx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The welcome is the best part of this hotel. It is like you are a guest of their house and they want to make you very comfortable. They succeeded. Very nice, really!
Also they give you good tips for the attractions and restaurants.

The hotel is cosy and comfortable in general. The rooms are clean and with enough furniture and space for your stay. The bed is comfortable and the sleep quality is good. You will hear some noise from the other rooms, but nothing that would disturb you at night.
The location is perfect. The hotel is within 2 minutes walking from Piazza del Duomo and in a walking distance to all attractions in Florence. It is only 5 minutes walking to the train station or the bus stop that the coach from the airport will drop you. Besides the location, the street where this hotel is located is calm and not noisy at all.

The breakfast is good and the wifi worked well in the room.

If you consider that Florence is an expensive city and the price they charge, this hotel is a bargain. If I return to Florence, I will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location. Close to the train station and even closer to the Duomo and the centre of town. Staff are very friendly and helpful. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a map and shown points of interest. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast. Would definitely stay there again if we're in Florence in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very cozy, clean, calm and quiet hotel for little money. Friendly staff, helped us in getting lost luggage, a special thank Guido. Large balcony, where in the evenings you can relax with a glass of fine Chianti. And fantastically convenient location.

Alexey, Vera. Russia.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at Balcony hotel the last October for one night. It is a nice and clean hotel just 5 minutes from the cathedral on foot. The staff was very friendly and helpful .Their English were poor but I appreciated their hospitality. The breakfast wasn't so good neither extremely bad. They serve some corn flakes, croissants, bread etc. Also there was coffee which was made by a coffee machine. It is also near to the train station so it is really easy to go there without paying for a cab or for a bus. So If your budget is about 100-110 euro per night I recommend it without a doubt !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StavrosGRCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Literally down the road from the Duomo/city centre (you can see the Duomo from the balcony), Hotel Balcony is located perfectly as a home-base to explore the incredibly walkable city of Florence. As other travelers have noted, it is also a short walk to the train station, which is great if you have heavy luggage to carry or are travelling in or out of Florence with early or late trains to catch. Upon our arrival, Guido gave us a map, talking us through the main sights and places to visit. (all in walking distance) He helped us carry our luggage up and showed us to our room. The room itself (a triple room) was a good size (larger than some rooms we'd stayed in during our trip) and bedroom/bathroom were both clean. The room was modest but perfectly comfortable for the three of us. Breakfast was fine, not spectacular but perfectly adequate. Staff were very nice and accommodating. When we'd come and go from the hotel we'd always receive a very friendly Ciao from the reception desk. Would recommend, had a very positive experience staying here and I imagine the balcony would be very nice in Summer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#124 of 411 in Florence
1,510 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 411 in Florence
761 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#61 of 411 in Florence
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#36 of 411 in Florence
1,789 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#158 of 411 in Florence
428 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#96 of 411 in Florence
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcony

Address: Via Dei Banchi 3/29r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Florence
#17 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#83 Family Hotel in Florence
#94 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £42 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Balcony 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balcony is located in the historical centre of Florence, very close to the Church of Santa Maria del Fiore and the Loggia dei Lanzi. The hotel occupies the entire first floor of an elegant and typically Florentine building, furnished in simple and sophisticated style. The common spaces available to guests include a large terrace with a panoramic view, from which it is possible to enjoy views of the spectacular Brunelleschi Dome. Our staff is available to help guests book tickets for museums, exhibitions, concerts and other cultural events, and to help guests organise tours through the Renaissance city and excursions to discover Tuscany and its surrounds. A rich sweet and savoury buffet breakfast, an internet point and a nearby garage with parking agreements, complete the broad range of services offered by Hotel Balcony in Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Balcony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing