We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Excellent staff”
Review of Galileo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galileo Hotel
Ranked #240 of 411 Hotels in Florence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Excellent staff”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had booked this hotel through a travel agent after reading its reviews on Tripadvisor.com. After Rome B&B Debacle, we were quite Skeptical about florence as it was our next destination but it turned out to be okay. Lets check the good points first - The hotel staff is charming and helpful to a fault. It is centrally located (walking distance from the station and the Duomo) and also houses brochures which offers variety of tours for Florence and neighouring cities in Tuscany, the staffe also helps you to choose them. It was value for money as it costed us 69 Euros a night +tax. Negative - the airconditioning was not working when we entered but the staff was helpful in rectifying that,even though it gave us problems over the next few days we stayed. The internet in room was not available as they were doing some wiring work but a computer was available in Hotel lobby for use. The breakfast offered flavoured yogurt to assortment of breads, cereal but there was no hot food,not even eggs which was a sore point. But the biggest dissappointment was the bathroom - tiny and cramped. but overall, if you can do with the bathroom and breakfast as mentioned, I think it is a good bet from money,location and staff point of view. So I would give it a thumbs up.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noobietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    172
    99
    48
    29
See reviews for
70
183
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had saved up for a long time to visit Florence. We went into our room and the air conditioning did not work. We spoke to the staff who checked the computer and said it was working. They gave us a fan and said it was a hot night. The heat became more unbearable and we complained again and were told that, according to the computer, it was working. Eventually we asked a receptionist to accompany us into our room and she agreed that it was too hot. She promptly disappeared downstairs and we had to go and ask what what being done after nothing happened.

We were moved from a double room to a single room where the air con worked. However, when it was switched on the noise was unbelievable. We were told it would rattle for about twenty minutes. it did settle a little, but was ridiculously noisy. We had to ask for it to be switched off in the middle of the night as it was getting noiser and preventing sleep. The following morning we spoke to the front desk and were thanked for bringing the issue to their attention as they didn't know about it. This is despite us speaking to four different receptionists!! The room we were moved to also has a leaking sink.

So, we spent a bleary eyed week in Florence, through lack of sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

the hotel is located about 10 minute walk from the central train station.
the rooms are not so big comparing to other hotels i'v been in, but they are very clean.
breakfest was nice, including coffee, pastry,cereals, fruits.... though the dining room was a part of the lobby.
i had no trouble sleeping there though i do remember construction noises late at night and early at the morning, i would not recomend it for people who can hear everything while they sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tagami46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This hotel was the best one we had stayed at in Italy. The hotel is neat, pretty and clean. The receptionist Francesca is a honey and she was so helpful with anything we asked her, even with helping track down my lost luggage. The other receptionist (a young asian guy) was also very friendly and helpful. There's a guest computer with free internet and the breakfast was good. You also get a special if you stay from Sunday to Tuesday, Monday is free! It is also close to the train station and museums/markets so very convenient This hotel was great value for money and exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee198407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

They gave us the room for the handicapped. It was spacious but so dimly lighted we could hardly see to read anything or do anything easily. The bathroom was very large and adequate. The windows looked out on the piping area so there was only enough light to let in that showed whether it was day or night. The air conditioning worked during our stay but one day it did have to be worked on. The breakfast provided was okay, nothing special....typical continental breakfast. There was one desk clerk, an older man, who was a bit brusque. The Wi-Fi wasn't free and actually expensive and of course didn't work on our 2nd floor room anyway. The street it's located on was very narrow and dirty. This was not a favorite room for us though was in a pretty good location. There were no outlets by the beds so my husband who uses a CPAP had to push one of the twin beds to the middle of the room by the desk to use that outlet. I'd never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shook1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Galileo Hotel in Florence is close to train station and San Lorenzo outdoor market. It is about 5 minute walk to everything. The rooms are abit small, but enough room for the amount of time you are in them. The breakfast could use some fruit, but is enough. I enjoy talking to the staff, Gorigo is the best! I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in the back, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The main advantage of this hotel is it's close proximity to the main train station, which is about a five minute walk away. The property is well maintained and rooms were comfortable and reasonably priced. When we were there it was quite hot but the air conditioning wasn't working -- something about a filter requiring changing which I couldn't quite understand -- but fortunately the night cooled down and the room was very pleasant. I'd be sure to ask for a room NOT facing the main road as it will be pleasantly quiet. Nothing is that far away in Florence and we could make it to the heart of the city in a 5-10 minute walk. Breakfast was fine, nothing extravagant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#281 of 411 in Florence
559 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#189 of 411 in Florence
642 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#140 of 411 in Florence
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#230 of 411 in Florence
633 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#200 of 411 in Florence
1,154 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#302 of 411 in Florence
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galileo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Hotel

Property: Galileo Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 22A, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant nineteenth-century building in the heart of an ancient city: among the hotels in Florence, Hotel Galileo welcomes guests into a calm and elegant environment, furnished in the best Tuscan-style tradition. You will have a pleasant stay or holiday in the city with all preferred comforts, surrounded by exquisite, authentic Florentine workmanship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Galileo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing