We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galileo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galileo Hotel
Ranked #247 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“Nice hotel with great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

It was my second visit to Firenze and I chose Galileo hotel again because of great location and service. The location is so perfect(close to train station and to the city center) that I could go every place by walking! The size of room and bed was enough for me. Also the room was quiet at night so I could take a good rest.The air conditioning worked well. It provided clean bathroom and new towels during my stay.

The staff was super nice. They explained famous places in Firenze wih a map and recommended some great restaurants near hotel.
I could use free Wifi in my room but it worked better in the lobby. The lobby had a calm atmosphere. Also I liked the furniture and pictures hung on the walls. In the morning they offer good continental breakfast too.
Overall, I could relax and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jieun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    167
    95
    47
    28
See reviews for
69
175
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and i just stayed in Galileo Hotel. Staff very helpful and kind. Breakfast was ok, like the rooms.
Location of the Hotel is really strategic, you can visit everything by walk.
Generally we enjoyed our stay.

Andrea

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andre1978Domi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

stayed here in July double room was ok not very big though and a bit dated rest of our family had a twin room which was very nice however their bathroom was a joke had to sit sideways to actually use the toilet !!! and the air conditioning was very loud all night . We also had issues with the door buzzer noise and a large group of students staying on the same floor as us so quite noisy. Breakfast was ok same old things not many tables either so usually had to wait for one to be cleared for us ,Staff very friendly though .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalileoHotelFI, Direttore at Galileo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you enjoy our staff, and we apologize for the small bathroom, same room has small bathroom but some have a big one. The irregular sizes are due to the building which is very old ( from 1930). That day was very busy because we occasionally have some groups. the director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonthaburi, Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel is on the street close to the main train station. Single room is not too small but the air condition is make so much noise. The room look pretty old. You can hear the toilet from the room next to your room. Slow Internet . The best part of this hotel is good location. The bad past are very old room and the aircondotion is working well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pornpayao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalileoHotelFI, Direttore at Galileo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear customer,
We apologies you did not enjoy your stay here, the air condition noise is because the hotel is not new, but we are renewing and fixing the entire air condition system, same thing for wifi which slowness is because the room was a bit far from the lobby where the signal is the strongest, we will fix this issue too. regards the oldness of the room, we keep it on purpose because it is the tuscany style. Thank you anyway for your review. The director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Inconsistent presentatiob. Aircon on one night off the next. Clean rooms, good service, but communication an issue at the desk. Bookings made ok, initial welcome ok perfunctory. Noisy teen group moved in, yelled, giggled, played door buzzer tag. Noisy toilet and shower next door. Could do better with consistency, some enthusiasm and quality control

Helpful?
Thank Ewen M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portlland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

As a single woman, I was very happy with my stay at Galileo Hotel. It was comfortable, had a wonderful continental breakfast, and was well located for seeing all the well-known places in Florence, including the main train station. The room was small, but comfortable, and the air conditioning cooled things down. The staff at the front desk were kind and quite helpful in showing how to get to various places and ensuring a good stay. Also, they recommended what ended up being my favorite restaurant, La Divina Osteria. While the hotel has WiFi, I had to bring my laptop closer to the computer/front desk area on the first floor. However this was not a big problem. The price was very reasonable, and all that was necessary was provided. I would definitely stay there again. Judy C.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Galileo Hotel is located close to the train station. It wasn't hard to find the street but we had been told the address was 22 Via Nazionale, not 22A which was in fact a few doors down the street. The room was quite small with very little storage space, in fact there were no drawers and we ended up living out of suitcases. There was only a single wardrobe which held very little. Found the beds were quite comfy. Didn't find the rooms as noisy as people made out, even though we had a room overlooking the street.The staff were all pleasant and spoke good english. Breakfast was ok, not brilliant. We hired a car and used the hotel as a base to explore as much of Tuscany as we could, however there was no parking at the hotel which meant we had to pay 23 euros per day to park up the car with a local garage that they had an agreement with. Needless to say we parked our car in street parking areas which were free between 20.00-08.00, and had to walk mileage back to the hotel. In my opinion the hotel is ideal for a few days stay if you are intending to just visit Florence and not hire a car. Just beware of the city tax that is not included in the price and they bill you for when you leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesapphire121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#235 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#304 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#124 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#195 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#188 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galileo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Hotel

Property: Galileo Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 22A, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant nineteenth-century building in the heart of an ancient city: among the hotels in Florence, Hotel Galileo welcomes guests into a calm and elegant environment, furnished in the best Tuscan-style tradition. You will have a pleasant stay or holiday in the city with all preferred comforts, surrounded by exquisite, authentic Florentine workmanship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galileo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing