We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Ranked #153 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much, the staff are very helpful and always with smiles. Very spacious Wi-Fi was free and fast. Breakfast was nice and lovely little hotel and close to the places where the tourist have to meet for day trip and so on. We were so lucky to have big room with 2 toilets and 2 hair dryer. I would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloysius P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words, we are delighted you had such a lovely stay with us and we very much hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    259
    82
    38
    22
See reviews for
156
335
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

stayed here with 3 friends in July 2013, loved it!! Warm friendly staff, our room was spacious, wifi was quick & free, the air con was amazing considering the high temperatures outside. The daily breakfast served had good variety and we all loved the coconut vanilla like cake they served 2 days while we were there it was that good! The hotel was located in an excellent location, walking distance to the duomo, shops, the train station and some great food choices and trattorias. we actually had our best meal at trattoria di giorgio which was one street away i recommend- the best tiramisu in florence and only 3 euros! My sister had her bag stolen one night in florence and whilst we have yet to find the bag the staff were so helpful in directing us to the nearest carabinieri. They genuinely cared for our loss! Would recommend to anyone going to Florence!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for such a lovely detailed review. We are happy you enjoyed our hospitality so much, it's a great reward for our efforts to ensure our guests' stay enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back in the near furure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Good place to stay
Quite place and room
beautiful terrace inside for breakfast on the sunny morning
It is a good option for a 2/3 nights stay in Firenze service is ok only negative comment about orange juice which is really cheap

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your kind feedback following your recent stay with us. We are happy that we met your expectations, we will bear in mind your comment about the juice, constructive criticism is always welcome. We hope to see you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Location is good. Only 10 mins walk from rail station and duomo. Staff were friendly and helpful - booking rail tickets to venice for us. Hotel has a faded elegance which fits in nicely with Florence. Room itself was very large for a centrally based hotel although shower was quite confined. Good choice at the inclusive breakfast which could be taken outside in the enclosed garden patio area. Worth going up to piazzale michelangelo for the view over florence and surrounding hills but if its a hot day take a taxi or bus - its a long steep walk. Eat at the il lantini. 2 bottles of wine/3 of water, 4 courses, coffee, 2 liquors at 45 euros each. Very good quality tuscan food and mountains of it. Best to book a table though. Also best to book advance tickets for the galleries as you can queue for over 2 hours for entrance to them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Palazzo dal Borgo.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the friendly service and breakfast served
in the patio, which is certainly an added bonus. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel itself is very conveniently located close to the train station and within walking distance of all the major sites. We stayed for 2 nights in June 2013 and upon check in we were taken to up to our room. The room was clean with comfortable beds, but extremely hot. After an hour when the air conditioning did not manage to cool the room down we went down to alert the staff and asked for another room. They said the would call maintenance but could not give us another room. An an hour and half later a staff member came in and drained some water off the air conditioning unit. The room started to cool down but in about 2 hours was again blowing hot air. When we went down a second time, the clerk said there was nothing he could do for us, not even find us a fan. After a miserable, sweltering night, I again requested another room at the front desk and this time they agreed to change us to another room. The next evening spent in air conditioning was much better. The breakfast is served in a beautiful location, however the staff is slow to serve coffee and not very friendly. They even charged us 5 euros to use wine glasses in our room,something that never happened at any other hotel in my 17 day trip of Italy. I can not recommend staying in this hotel, not because of the broken air conditioner unit (my brother and his wife had no problem with there room) as I know these things happen, but because I feel the staff did not work to resolve the situation appropriately (everything that was done, I had to insist on) and did not offer a discount or adjustment to the bill.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0509Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for letting us have your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are most concerned with your impression that our staff did not do their best to solve the air conditioning problem. As remarked by other tripadvisor readers we do work hard to offer a friendly good service, which is our top priority. Unfortunately, as you mentioned yourself, malfunctions can occur and in this instance although the staff did their best to solve the problem a specialized technician was required. The hotel was fully booked making it impossibile to move you to another room that same evening, this was however done promptly the following day.
As to the 5 euro charge: a small service fee (corkage fee) for ice, snacks and glasses when beverages are brought in from outside is customary in most hotels. However this was waived from final payment.
We are deeply sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations and we hope to see you again so that we may have another opportunity to prove our good service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel (also known as Hotel Aprile) for four nights in May 2013. It's an easy walk from the train station, to local restaurants, and to local attractions. The hotel had a good selection of breakfast items and our room was clean. The breakfast staff was very friendly and accommodating. Directly across the street is a small leather shop where I purchased an Italian leather purse--made by the owner's family. At the street corner is a good gelato store but there seems to be one on every street! If you are thinking of seeing the Uffizzi Gallery, you should order tickets ahead, which is what we did. We also took the Walkabout tour to Cinque Terre for a day trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for you kind words of appreciation for the friendly service, good breakfast selection and cleanliness. We are happy to have met your expectations and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A lovely traditional hotel bang in the centre of Florence. A great base for seeing all the sights, yet only 5 minutes from the main train station - so very easy for getting to and from Pisa Airport or indeed other cities. We did a day trip by fast train to Bologna. Lovely bedrooms, with frescos on walls and ceiling, and a really lovely feel to the place. Very helpful and friendly staff. It is let down though by the breakfasts, which lacked imagination (compared to other Italian hotels of similar cost and grade) and very poor coffee (unforgivable for Italy!). Florence is a city to return to many times, but we will choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebstersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review highlightIng the hotel's main features which you seem to have really appreciated. However we are sorry about your comment on not intending to return because breakfast wasn't up to your expectations. We not only offer a wide selection, as listed below, but are always willing to meet any special request or suggestion, as we would be happy to do if you were to reconsider and stay with us again which we sincerely hope you will.
Breakfast menu
Choice of two different kinds of fruit juice - Flat and sparkly mineral water - Selection of teas -
Coffee - Cappuccino (deemed "the best" by many guests) - American coffee - Hot chocolate - Fresh milk - Soya milk - Butter - Selection of jams - Honey - Nutella - Fresh bread - Toasted white and whole wheat bread - Single packaged slices of brown bread - Three different types of cereals - Rusks - Single packaged cream cheese -
Plain and Fruit yogurth - Cakes - Mignon cream croissants - Mignon cream doughnuts - Croissants - Fresh and Tinned fruit - Scrambled eggs - Bacon - Sausages - Ham - Parma ham - Turkey - Cheese - Gluten free products
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#70 of 411 in Florence
1,605 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#138 of 411 in Florence
795 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#205 of 411 in Florence
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 411 in Florence
829 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#122 of 411 in Florence
221 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#108 of 411 in Florence
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Property: Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Address: Via della Scala 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#88 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#110 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo dal Borgo is an elegant privately owned boutique hotel, converted from the renaissance palace that belonged to the Medici dal Borgo Family and it’s one of Florence’s historic monuments. Located within sight of the church of Santa Maria Novella, you can experience the charm of an historical atmosphere in an ancient Medici’s palace of the XV century. In the hotel lounges, Florence tells its story. The cosy lounges are elegantly decorated with antiques and original paintings which create an intimate and stylish ambience. The frescoes that decorate the ceilings of all common areas make of Palazzo dal Borgo a 4 star hotel, unique and endowed with the most typical florentine charme. A selection of art books is available to guests for a relaxing break before the visit of Uffizi, Duomo or Ponte Vecchio. A small secluded courtyard garden offers an inviting and relaxing atmosphere. Do not miss the morning breakfast served among tuscan terraccotta and lemon trees deeply absorbed in the peaceful garden with view of Santa Maria Novella Cloister. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Dal Borgo Florence
Aprile Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing