We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the curate's egg. .......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Ranked #149 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Beccles UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Like the curate's egg. .......”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Have just returned from one week's stay with my partner and still have the mozzy bites to remember it by. It is very handily located, literally a ten minute walk to the main historic heart of the city.The staff are friendly and very helpful, we were given a choice of two rooms when we arrived, one small pokey one next to the elevator and the second, a sort of attic room at the front of the hotel with its own little corridor and separate bathroom. We chose the latter, only to find out that the free WiFi did not work in the room. Not a huge deal, but a pain when wishing to Skype family back home as we had to go downstairs to the public lounge to do this.
This is the first hotel I can remember staying in where there are no facilities for making a drink in the room, no kettle, nothing, and at 3 euros a pop for a cup of coffee and 4 euros for a cup of lukewarm hot chocolate, bedtime drinks get to be rather costly. The location is very noisy if you are allocated a room at the front of the hotel. The front street seems to be a main thoroughfare from the railway station to the city and never really quietens down. On our final night there was an outdoor rock concert held in the square at the back of the hotel, OK the hotel were not to blame, but the sound was absolutely deafening until 4.00 a.m. Impossible to sleep and everyone looked bleary-eyed at breakfast that morning.
Breakfast is OK but hardly inspiring. If you want a lie in, they will serve you until 10.30, but they seem to do a fixed amount of food and once its gone, its gone. So one morning there was no fruit salad left at 10.00 o'clock, another morning no cheese left, you get the picture. Also one morning the fruit salad was obviously a canned one in a thick gloopy syrup. Come on, there is fresh fruit available at half a dozen shops within walking distance of the hotel.
If it were not for the friendly and helpful attitude of the staff, I would only have given this a two-star rating.
Certainly did not live up to the ratings previously posted for this hotel. Will not be returning, I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the front of the hotel, you'll get no sleep, the street is very noisy throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryCoeBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are disappointed the hotel did not quite meet your expectations, although pleased you did appreciate the staff’s friendly helpful service as this rates very highly with us.
Concerning tea/coffee making facilities, we must point out that these aren’t quite customary in Italy. Our rooms do have double windows but even these cannot be expected to keep out the noise of an outdoor rock concert. Luckily this is an extremely rare event! Concerning breakfast, it is continental and items such as meat, salads ect. cannot be expected but there is a really large choice as depicted below:

Choice of two different kinds of fruit juice - Flat and sparkly mineral water - Selection of teas -
Coffee - Cappuccino (deemed "the best" by many guests) - American coffee - Hot chocolate - Fresh milk - Soya milk - Butter - Selection of jams - Honey - Nutella - Fresh bread - Toasted white and whole wheat bread - Single packaged slices of brown bread - Three different types of cereals - Rusks - Single packaged cream cheese -
Plain and Fruit yogurth - Cakes - Mignon pastries - Croissants - Fresh and Tinned fruit – Cherry tomatoes - Scrambled eggs - Bacon - Sausages - Ham - Parma ham - Turkey - Cheese - Gluten free products

What is more important is that it’s served in beautiful room with 17th century frescoes and in warm weather in the delightful courtyard among orange and lemon trees. This is something that cannot easily be found in the center of Florence.
However criticism is well accepted as we do strive to offer good and courteous service, and there is always room for improvement.
We hope you will reconsider and return another time.
Riccardo Zucconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    256
    82
    38
    22
See reviews for
155
333
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel has had many reincarnations, first as a 15th century Palazzo, then as pension where T.S. Elliot stayed for a month or so, and now as a hotel. It is a short walk from the main station and bus terminal for buses from Pisa airport, it is close to Piazza di Santa Maria Novella, and a short walk to the Duomo and the main tourist attractions. The receptionist on duty and friendly and helpful. But don't expect any frills. This is by no means a four star hotel. The rooms on the first floor are big with high ceilings but the bathrooms are tiny, and the furnishings very old fashioned and a bit dowdy. But if you want somewhere handy and pleasant for a two night stay this is as good as anywhere in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 on the first floor over-looking a courtyard garden are pleasant and reasonably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stcolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your observations from your recent stay. We are happy that you had an overall enjoyable stay and that you appreciated our staff's courtesy and the hotel's very convenient location. Concerning the size of the bathroom, as stated in previous replies to guests' comments: ours is an antique listed building and some modern conveniences such as bathrooms have had to be introduced according to it's architecture, so sizes vary, however they are all equipped with every modern comfort. We hope we shall get an opportunity to welcome you back to Palazzo dal Borgo.
Regards
Riccardo Zucconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stay away, the rooms are infested with Mosquitoes. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbors television and conversation as clearly as if they were in the same room. Even after notifying management of the bug problem, it was passed off as happening at another hotel or on the airplane, or that the bites were due to food allergies.

This place is simply not a clean hotel and given the many options Florence has to offer I strongly recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DoctorHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,
As stated in our courteous reply to your email, mosquitoes have become a real plague these last few years due to climate change all over the world but surely we keep it under control. Sometimes an open window is sufficient to attract them also a particular perfume or lotion can attract them and this has absolutely nothing to do with cleanliness.
While negative criticism is not only accepted but welcome, and can be constructive as there is always room for improvement, downright slurs on the hotel are something else.
Our hotel has been established successfully for 62 years, and has an excellent reputation among Florentine Hotels.
As shown by the many other customer reviews cleanliness is one of our main features. It’s totally unacceptable that for a few mosquito bites which are not, we repeat due to any hotel fault, the hotel is slanderously insulted and guests invited to stay away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Wow. This was our first time in a four poster bed, looking up at the frescos on the high ceiling. What an amazing experience. And so handy to the train station, and just along the road from the entrance to the Pharmaceutica (like a quaint perfumery/museum), handy laundromat, simple eateries. An incredible experience. i even loved having a pot of tea in their dining room. And the breakfasts are great.

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon last Nov and we were very impressed. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was a double on the ground floor and was very large with an amazing four poster bed. The room was very clean and well decorated with plenty of storage and good size shower...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janni_NZAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,
what a wonderful review. We are delighted you were so impressed with your stay. This really means a lot to us as we do our best to look after our guests and positive feedback is very rewarding. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Riccardo Zucconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon last Nov and we were very impressed. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was a double on the ground floor and was very large with an amazing four poster bed. The room was very clean and well decorated with plenty of storage and good size shower although no bath. We found that we didnt hear much noise from outside even though we were at the front of the hotel on the ground floor. Hotel is perfectly situated its right by the train station and within walking distance of the main galleries, ponte vechio, il duomo etc. The bfast was fairly standard but nice bfast room. Lovely courtyard but we didnt use it as was cold weather in november. Would love to return one day.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniellemorgan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for such a warm detailed review.
We are delighted your stay with us was so succesful and that you felt well looked after.
We very much look forward to your retrrn visit, hopefully in the warmer weather so that you can really enjoy our courtyard!
Riccardo Zucconi - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

An outstanding hotel with exceptional staff. We had the pleasure of staying for seven days in a delightful room on the third floor. A big room for the four of us served well with beautiful decor. The staff - Luana, Leila, Michele, Mario and Yuri were attentive friendly and helpful. Luana and Leila on the reception were most helpful by searching for and booking a cooking class, tickets for an intimate opera evening, taxis by the score and more. Breakfast was included and was served in a beautiful room on the main floor. The hotel is located within a two minute wall of the Santa Maria Novella - a stunning church with magnificent art works and a great museum. Another five minutes finds you at the Duomo, an awe inspiring church so the hotel is well located for those wishing to see art and churches. Highly recommend this hotel to all. Thank you for a wonderful visit!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words, it's really heartwarming to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, a special thanks from the staff for your words of praise.
Helpful service is a must with us so it's rewarding to know it's appreciated.
We do hope to see you again soon.
Riccardo Zucconi - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Good location and value. They had helpful staff and nice rooms. We were on a lower floor, so we had to deal with some street noise. Decent breakfast with a very nice courtyard. Main drawback is we had a triple room and someone had to sleep on a sofa bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wh0cares11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Direttore at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and our staff's service. We are however sorry to read that you were not so happy with the sofa bed. As a matter of fact these sofas once open are actually proper beds, however we do also have triple rooms with a standard third bed so if you were to return, which we very much hope you will, be sure to mention this in your request. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#72 of 422 in Florence
1,583 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#192 of 422 in Florence
367 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#136 of 422 in Florence
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#168 of 422 in Florence
734 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#111 of 422 in Florence
705 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#81 of 422 in Florence
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Property: Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Address: Via della Scala 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#88 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#110 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Dal Borgo Florence
Aprile Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing