We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well travelled, well disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Ranked #153 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Trieste, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well travelled, well disappointed!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We arrived at just before 4:00pm (16:00) and our room was not ready as the previous guest had been ill and a late checkout granted. Our response was cordial,and we accepted the offer of coffee & soft drink in the sitting area whilst we waited for our room to be prepared. This took sometime and we were finally granted access after an hour waiting. Never in 40+ years of travel have I had such a disparity between the hotel advertisement and the room provided and most definitely not when making the booking through a leading internet site. No website this one included nor the hotel's website shows any professional photographic representation of the tiny matchbox we were initially provided with, complete with open view bathroom with absolutely no privacy or way of making it so (no blinds, curtains or shutters). After talking to reception staff and lots of "umming and ahhing" as no rooms were supposedly free, the offer of transferring us to another hotel (more disruption) was made. At this point I asked for my money back and stated I would just catch the train home. Staff were polite throughout and to their credit professional under difficult circumstances (it was clear they understood and had experience in this sort of issue, I am sure I am not the first nor will be the last!)

Miraculously a room was found, again nowhere near the size or standard shown photographically but as my accompanying traveller was happy enough with it, we stayed. New Staff member showing the room very professional and pleasant also.

Room was not as clean as the first carpet was worn and dirty looking. Bathroom ok. Room at front on 2nd floor slightly larger. Minimal noise from exterior, street below.

Internal noise - door to common areas does not seal well and Walls between adjoining rooms are paper thin. Entire conversations can be clearly heard and understood -'it was bad enough having to listen to the deliberations of my Australian neighbours (who were not shouting however each word as well as accent could be clearly heard ) about whether to purchase a plate and cart it all around Europe -what was worse was being woken by their return after 10pm the night before and the snoring during the course of the night which sounded as if it were in my room not somewhere else in the hotel!

Breakfast 1 staff running around like a " chicken without a head" and frazzled. Ham tasted slightly rancid and was left as was warm also and was a cold cut. Again staff were fine but under pressure. Others may have misconstrued their manner as less than friendly but under circumstances I can understand they are under pressure to deliver the impossible in the the circumstances.

Late check-out granted and appreciated, again staff professional and pleasant to the end.

Despite the professionalism of the staff (which was the only truly positive aspect) I would never return to thus hotel. Hotel is most definitely NOT 4 stars by any country's definition not more than 2. The location is good but I have stayed in many other hotels in the vicinity of SMNovella/Station for far less €€ with far more. I am so disappointed that I did not return to one of these because I did so purely on the basis of the pictures posted and the one listed on booking.com as representative of my room for higher rate paid. What a misrepresentation!!!! Fellow travellers beware!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTravelledDCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest, we are sorry about your negative impression of Palazzo da Borgo, Of course it's the first impression that counts and your stay did start off on the wrong foot... It's quite true that due to our previous client's illness and subsequent late check out the room wasn't ready on your arrival, however as you stated yourself we did offer to find alternative accomodation in another similar establishment, and when this was refused our staff did their very best to look after you also offering refreshments. We do understand that at this point there was nothing we could have done to change that first impression. One thing we would like to point out is that the open view bathroom you mention is kept so on purpose for the view: no one could possibly look in from the empty space miles around as it faces only the church spire and the distant hills and the lovely view is very much appreciated by many of our returning guests, Some consolation is that you did appreciate our staff's courtesy and competence, which are so very important to our guests.
Regards
Riccardo Zucconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    259
    82
    38
    22
See reviews for
156
335
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Have just returned from one week's stay with my partner and still have the mozzy bites to remember it by. It is very handily located, literally a ten minute walk to the main historic heart of the city.The staff are friendly and very helpful, we were given a choice of two rooms when we arrived, one small pokey one next to the elevator and the second, a sort of attic room at the front of the hotel with its own little corridor and separate bathroom. We chose the latter, only to find out that the free WiFi did not work in the room. Not a huge deal, but a pain when wishing to Skype family back home as we had to go downstairs to the public lounge to do this.
This is the first hotel I can remember staying in where there are no facilities for making a drink in the room, no kettle, nothing, and at 3 euros a pop for a cup of coffee and 4 euros for a cup of lukewarm hot chocolate, bedtime drinks get to be rather costly. The location is very noisy if you are allocated a room at the front of the hotel. The front street seems to be a main thoroughfare from the railway station to the city and never really quietens down. On our final night there was an outdoor rock concert held in the square at the back of the hotel, OK the hotel were not to blame, but the sound was absolutely deafening until 4.00 a.m. Impossible to sleep and everyone looked bleary-eyed at breakfast that morning.
Breakfast is OK but hardly inspiring. If you want a lie in, they will serve you until 10.30, but they seem to do a fixed amount of food and once its gone, its gone. So one morning there was no fruit salad left at 10.00 o'clock, another morning no cheese left, you get the picture. Also one morning the fruit salad was obviously a canned one in a thick gloopy syrup. Come on, there is fresh fruit available at half a dozen shops within walking distance of the hotel.
If it were not for the friendly and helpful attitude of the staff, I would only have given this a two-star rating.
Certainly did not live up to the ratings previously posted for this hotel. Will not be returning, I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the front of the hotel, you'll get no sleep, the street is very noisy throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryCoeBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are disappointed the hotel did not quite meet your expectations, although pleased you did appreciate the staff’s friendly helpful service as this rates very highly with us.
Concerning tea/coffee making facilities, we must point out that these aren’t quite customary in Italy. Our rooms do have double windows but even these cannot be expected to keep out the noise of an outdoor rock concert. Luckily this is an extremely rare event! Concerning breakfast, it is continental and items such as meat, salads ect. cannot be expected but there is a really large choice as depicted below:

Choice of two different kinds of fruit juice - Flat and sparkly mineral water - Selection of teas -
Coffee - Cappuccino (deemed "the best" by many guests) - American coffee - Hot chocolate - Fresh milk - Soya milk - Butter - Selection of jams - Honey - Nutella - Fresh bread - Toasted white and whole wheat bread - Single packaged slices of brown bread - Three different types of cereals - Rusks - Single packaged cream cheese -
Plain and Fruit yogurth - Cakes - Mignon pastries - Croissants - Fresh and Tinned fruit – Cherry tomatoes - Scrambled eggs - Bacon - Sausages - Ham - Parma ham - Turkey - Cheese - Gluten free products

What is more important is that it’s served in beautiful room with 17th century frescoes and in warm weather in the delightful courtyard among orange and lemon trees. This is something that cannot easily be found in the center of Florence.
However criticism is well accepted as we do strive to offer good and courteous service, and there is always room for improvement.
We hope you will reconsider and return another time.
Riccardo Zucconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel has had many reincarnations, first as a 15th century Palazzo, then as pension where T.S. Elliot stayed for a month or so, and now as a hotel. It is a short walk from the main station and bus terminal for buses from Pisa airport, it is close to Piazza di Santa Maria Novella, and a short walk to the Duomo and the main tourist attractions. The receptionist on duty and friendly and helpful. But don't expect any frills. This is by no means a four star hotel. The rooms on the first floor are big with high ceilings but the bathrooms are tiny, and the furnishings very old fashioned and a bit dowdy. But if you want somewhere handy and pleasant for a two night stay this is as good as anywhere in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 on the first floor over-looking a courtyard garden are pleasant and reasonably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stcolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your observations from your recent stay. We are happy that you had an overall enjoyable stay and that you appreciated our staff's courtesy and the hotel's very convenient location. Concerning the size of the bathroom, as stated in previous replies to guests' comments: ours is an antique listed building and some modern conveniences such as bathrooms have had to be introduced according to it's architecture, so sizes vary, however they are all equipped with every modern comfort. We hope we shall get an opportunity to welcome you back to Palazzo dal Borgo.
Regards
Riccardo Zucconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stay away, the rooms are infested with Mosquitoes. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbors television and conversation as clearly as if they were in the same room. Even after notifying management of the bug problem, it was passed off as happening at another hotel or on the airplane, or that the bites were due to food allergies.

This place is simply not a clean hotel and given the many options Florence has to offer I strongly recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DoctorHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,
As stated in our courteous reply to your email, mosquitoes have become a real plague these last few years due to climate change all over the world but surely we keep it under control. Sometimes an open window is sufficient to attract them also a particular perfume or lotion can attract them and this has absolutely nothing to do with cleanliness.
While negative criticism is not only accepted but welcome, and can be constructive as there is always room for improvement, downright slurs on the hotel are something else.
Our hotel has been established successfully for 62 years, and has an excellent reputation among Florentine Hotels.
As shown by the many other customer reviews cleanliness is one of our main features. It’s totally unacceptable that for a few mosquito bites which are not, we repeat due to any hotel fault, the hotel is slanderously insulted and guests invited to stay away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Wow. This was our first time in a four poster bed, looking up at the frescos on the high ceiling. What an amazing experience. And so handy to the train station, and just along the road from the entrance to the Pharmaceutica (like a quaint perfumery/museum), handy laundromat, simple eateries. An incredible experience. i even loved having a pot of tea in their dining room. And the breakfasts are great.

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon last Nov and we were very impressed. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was a double on the ground floor and was very large with an amazing four poster bed. The room was very clean and well decorated with plenty of storage and good size shower...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janni_NZAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,
what a wonderful review. We are delighted you were so impressed with your stay. This really means a lot to us as we do our best to look after our guests and positive feedback is very rewarding. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Riccardo Zucconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon last Nov and we were very impressed. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was a double on the ground floor and was very large with an amazing four poster bed. The room was very clean and well decorated with plenty of storage and good size shower although no bath. We found that we didnt hear much noise from outside even though we were at the front of the hotel on the ground floor. Hotel is perfectly situated its right by the train station and within walking distance of the main galleries, ponte vechio, il duomo etc. The bfast was fairly standard but nice bfast room. Lovely courtyard but we didnt use it as was cold weather in november. Would love to return one day.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniellemorgan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for such a warm detailed review.
We are delighted your stay with us was so succesful and that you felt well looked after.
We very much look forward to your retrrn visit, hopefully in the warmer weather so that you can really enjoy our courtyard!
Riccardo Zucconi - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

An outstanding hotel with exceptional staff. We had the pleasure of staying for seven days in a delightful room on the third floor. A big room for the four of us served well with beautiful decor. The staff - Luana, Leila, Michele, Mario and Yuri were attentive friendly and helpful. Luana and Leila on the reception were most helpful by searching for and booking a cooking class, tickets for an intimate opera evening, taxis by the score and more. Breakfast was included and was served in a beautiful room on the main floor. The hotel is located within a two minute wall of the Santa Maria Novella - a stunning church with magnificent art works and a great museum. Another five minutes finds you at the Duomo, an awe inspiring church so the hotel is well located for those wishing to see art and churches. Highly recommend this hotel to all. Thank you for a wonderful visit!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzodalborgo, Proprietario at Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words, it's really heartwarming to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, a special thanks from the staff for your words of praise.
Helpful service is a must with us so it's rewarding to know it's appreciated.
We do hope to see you again soon.
Riccardo Zucconi - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#70 of 411 in Florence
1,605 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#138 of 411 in Florence
795 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#205 of 411 in Florence
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 411 in Florence
829 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#122 of 411 in Florence
221 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#108 of 411 in Florence
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Property: Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Address: Via della Scala 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#88 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#110 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo dal Borgo is an elegant privately owned boutique hotel, converted from the renaissance palace that belonged to the Medici dal Borgo Family and it’s one of Florence’s historic monuments. Located within sight of the church of Santa Maria Novella, you can experience the charm of an historical atmosphere in an ancient Medici’s palace of the XV century. In the hotel lounges, Florence tells its story. The cosy lounges are elegantly decorated with antiques and original paintings which create an intimate and stylish ambience. The frescoes that decorate the ceilings of all common areas make of Palazzo dal Borgo a 4 star hotel, unique and endowed with the most typical florentine charme. A selection of art books is available to guests for a relaxing break before the visit of Uffizi, Duomo or Ponte Vecchio. A small secluded courtyard garden offers an inviting and relaxing atmosphere. Do not miss the morning breakfast served among tuscan terraccotta and lemon trees deeply absorbed in the peaceful garden with view of Santa Maria Novella Cloister. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Dal Borgo Florence
Aprile Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing