We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three nights turned into ten nights!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Ranked #146 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Three nights turned into ten nights!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Aprile from March 11 to March 22. We were visiting our daughter who is studying for the semester in Florence. Although I consult Trip Advisor all the time before traveling (and we travel frequently), I have never taken the time to write a review--well I am taking the time now. We originally booked for 3 nights figuring that we would rent a car and drive through Tuscany. The hotel was so conveniently located (near the train and bus stations) and our room was so charming the lovely that we decided to stay for 10 nights total. We took the train to Lucca, Fiersole, Assissi, San Giang (oh I forget the spelling), and the bus to Sienna. All were close enough to enjoy the train ride and have plenty of time to sightsee. The Italians know how to live. I've been back over a week and am still experiencing withdrawl! We stayed in Room 67 which was on the top floor--and E.M. Forster would appreciate that we had a room with a view. My husband is 6'4", so footboards present a problem for us. We had a king-sized bed and a good-sized marble bathroom with a bidet, modern shower, and heated towel rack. I think some of the other rooms are bigger, but ours was quiet and spacious enough for two. Andrea greeted us every morning and served the best cup of cappucino(s) to start our day--and there ARE frescoes in the breakfast room. We found the hotel staff to be very professional, and the hotel to be very quiet. The weather was lovely, and there are several places to eat within a five to ten minute walk.

Reviews are always based on what someone expects, so know that my husband and I are travellers, we are not tourists--and we don't have the inclination or budget for the Ritz Carlton type of experience, so read my comments with that in mind. For the most part, we look for places that have charm and character, and that are clean, safe, and in a good location. The Hotel Aprile more than met our expectations. I found their service to be first rate--professional and hospitable. Fresh toiletries and coffee and tea in the room everyday. We'll be back. This was one of our nicest vacations ever, and we hope you enjoy Italy as much as we did!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirl051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    253
    78
    37
    22
See reviews for
151
327
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

The Hotel Aprile is on a rather unpreposessing street but apart from that it wonderfully located very close to the railway station (handy for trains to Pisa Airport) and the bus stations (handy for getting out of the city to Siena etc). It is also just a minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella and a further few minutes from the Duomo.
The hotel itself is full of character (even TS Elliot said he enjoyed his stay there!) with an amazing dining room and lounge. The rooms are on the small side (but then the building is over 500 years old) but they have all that you would need. Following advice from an earlier review we emailed ahead and booked room 28 which must have the best view in the hotel. It is on the top floor at the rear and has the most amazing view out over the terracotta rooftops to Santa Maria Novella and the mountains beyond Florence. The downside is that the bells ring at 7am (and again at 7.15 in case you overslept) but it gives you the opportunity to get up and out for an early start to see the sights! Breakfast is very good and the staff very friendly and helpful.
On the downside (minor points) there seem to be quite a lot of mosquitoes, but they provide repellants. Also, I was not overly impressed with the room cleaning as it took several days to replace our toiletries and they sometimes forgot to give us milk with the tea and coffee in the room.
Overall, the hotel was very good indeed and you certainly do feel like it is a bit of 'old world' luxury in the heart of beautiful Florence. It was worth the money alone to have a 'Room with a View' which made me feel like Helena Bonham Carter when I threw back the shutters!
For other poor Brits suffering with the weak Pound and strong Euro, we discovered the Trattoria de George which offered a good set meal of two courses with wine, water, bread and service all included for just 12 Euros. To find it go right out of the hotel and left down the first road to the end. Turn right past the Disco and it is on the right hand side.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

just back from 4 days in florence, staying at the hotel aprile. this was a joint birthday present to my sister and i; we went together, to actually spend some time together which can be difficult with growing families.
from the aeroporto at pisa to the SMN railway station in florence is an easy journey, once we worked out how to read the timetable we had downloaded that is - you must buy your train ticket from the ticket place which is located on the left just before you leave the concourse from the airport - and don't forget that you have to authenticate your tickets before boarding - the little yellow machines; then a short walk to the hotel from the railway station.
we found the location to be very good as it was peaceful and yet a few steps brought us in to more bustling restaurant, gallery and church areas.
the reception area is neat and modest - (one (UK) hotel i stayed in last year had a spectacular and very flashy modern reception/bar area but all the money obviously spent there and not on the rooms which were dire) so a modest, well-organised and friendly reception was very welcome.
i had said in my booking that we wanted a twin room, not a double, as we were sisters - and we were given a little suite, room 68, with a lovely double room and a very good single room, plus a beautiful marble bathroom (shower, loo, bidet and basin, plus lots of space to put things) this gave us tremendous space and it was also really good to have our own rooms. we found the beds very comfortable and everything totally clean. the furnishings were very fitting and charming
breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and the bar area was very relaxing for a swift gin cocktail before setting off for the evening
reception will book uffizi etc for you and restaurants - probably anything you reasonably could ask for - we were made welcome by the restaurant they booked for us on the sunday eve (many restaurants are closed on sunday evenings, or at least at this time of the year they are, so booking is a pretty good idea)
reception is manned 24 hours and we never had to wait for a receptionist to appear whatever time we went in to the reception area.
my sister and i had a wonderful time and loved florence - we will come back and i shall also come for a visit with my boyfriend (yeah, he and i are in our 50's but he's still my boyfriend!) and i wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. time is too precious to waste in sampling various hotels once you've found one which suits so well
annie

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

Very comfortable hotel near the Station. We had a room at the back overlooking the terrace which was nice and quiet. The room was spacious and clean with a marble en-suite bathroom. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. My husband had told them the trip to Florence was my Birthday treat and when we returned from a day of sightseeing we found a lovely bottle of Prosecco on ice waiting for us, compliments of the hotel. It was a really nice touch. Everywhere was within walking distance of the hotel. We would recommend the nearby restaurants of Osteria delle Belle Donne and Trattoria Marione - delicious home made Italian cuisine for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anotheroneoffthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

Spent a week here in February (and I think you need a week to give Florence and the area any justice). We were given a room at the back (27); very comfortable with a big double bed and a good bathroom. One big plus point is the location; it's close to the sights and I found that, as an early riser, I was able to get up, go for a walk, take in a couple of the sights before things got busy and still be back in good time for breakfast. It's also handy for the bus and train stations (take the bus to Siena and visit the Duomo - this should be on everone's must visit list).
The only problem is that we found the area to be short of good, reasonably priced places to eat. The best we found was Alfredo sul Arno; go over the Ponte Vecchio and turn left.
Try to go out of season though; things were not too busy and we didn't have to queue for the Uffizi.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philatpaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

Aprille's location is perfect, close to the SMN and gave us the oppurtunity to fully explore florence. It's on the edge so we'd trek towards St.Croce and find multiple ways going back. The breakfast was awesome with Hot-dogs and ham with various jams, honeys and fruits. We left every morning full of food ready to battle the rain in the quest for the best trippa and pasta in florence.
The room even came with a coffee-maker which was replenished every day.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brokeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in Hotel Aprile. We found the staff to be helpful and reasonably friendly.
Our room at the rear of the Hotel (which we requested) was quiet, it had a good size bed, very clean and comfortable, the ensuite had a bath, hairdryer and toiletries.
Breakfast was plentiful with continental plus bacon and scrambled eggs, and the courtyard was a lovely relaxing start to the day.
Location was very good, away from the crowds, with at least one good restaurant nearby, Trattoria Sostanza - Troia, reservation recommended.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BlueMount-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#164 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#65 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#109 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#193 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#138 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile

Property: Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile
Address: Via della Scala 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Florence
#85 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#110 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo dal Borgo Hotel Aprile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Dal Borgo Florence
Aprile Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing