We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for an extended stay in Firenze”
Review of Hotel Mario's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mario's
Ranked #90 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We chose Hotel Mario's because of its convenient proximity to my husband's conference venue, and were delighted with the overall experience. He was there for a total of 9 nights, 3 of which I shared with him before returning to the States ahead of him. The room was lovely with the best air conditioning we encountered on our trip. The bathroom was quite nice with a good sized shower. The breakfast was a little thin, but the coffee and service were lovely. The location was incredibly convenient, within walking distance of just about everything. They also held one of our suitcases while we toured Tuscany before culminating our stay in Florence.
We would gladly recommend Hotel Mario's to anyone visiting Florence.

Room Tip: The tiled floors and heavy doors added up to slightly noisy nights. You might consider asking for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_marice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Located on a quiet street close to Florence centre, this warm, welcoming hotel made our stay in Florence perfect. Our charming room was clean and well equipped for the stay. Breakfast was plentiful and accompanied with fresh coffee and a smile. The making of this hotel though, is the accommodating, friendly and helpful staff. They couldn't have made our stay more comfortable, keen to offer advice and made a great effort to chat with us daily about our stay. Like many other reviews on here, Hotel Marios goes highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I arrived in Florence by train, walked out of the station, across the street and then into Hotel Mario's. At least that is what it seemed like. Mario's is located on a quiet street within walking distance of everything you want. The staff at Mario's was awesome. They were very kind and helpful regardless of the hour. Breakfast in the morning is just what you need to kick start your day. The only negative we noticed is that the walls seemed a bit thin. However, our neighbors weren't night owls and it wasn't a problem. We look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed only 1 night, recommended by a friend who had stayed a few weeks earlier. Had a triple room (double and single bed for 5yr old), the 1st room to the right of the reception desk thrui the door. It was clean, quiet, roomy, big tub, fresh sheets and a working AC! Breakfast buffet was plentiful, especially in Italy!! you could even make a grilled ham and cheese sandwich! As previously stated, just around the corner from the main station, and Florence is a walkable city. The 2 young men at the reception could not have been kinder: with a 92yr old and 5yr old, carrying the suitcases up n down the entrance stairwell was no problem: they raced to help us. Decorated in very florentine style, it had charm and will be back again and again. Have since recommended it to another friend going in October.

Room Tip: I didn't look out our window as the single bed was in front of it but the would like that same r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

There's a lot that I liked about Mario's. I'll start with the service and the attitude of the staff. Both were refreshing. My feeling is that they seriously want their guests to enjoy their visit. They patiently give directions if you need them. They patiently explain anything you ask. If you need something they get it or do it with a smile and speed. Great people.

It's a very short walk to the trains and a short walk to the excitement of Florence. The location is great.

Great breakfast too. Much better than what hotels usually provide Good stuff like fruits, eggs, yogurt. Many choices and they are always checking to see that everyone has what they want.

The rooms are quiet, comfortable, quaint and clean.

Seriously, I really enjoyed my stay at Mario's.and will again the next time I go to Florence. I feel I found a great hotel for visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

First of all the hotel staff was amazingly friendly and very very very helpful. If you have a problem, just ask for help to reception and they'll do everything to hep you. Also hotel has a great location too, just a couple of minutes walk away from the Santa Maria Novella train station and the historical center of Florence. Hotel rooms are nice and clean. On the other hand breakfast was ok not best but ok. Hotel has a wi-fi but it's not very good. It's usually go and return but it's not a big problem. If I was going to come Florence again, I definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cagri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmariosflorence, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mario's, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and other travellers.
We are pleased to see that you found our location convenient: our team has the best interests of our guests at heart and we are always available for assistance whenever it is required.
I will also be sure to share your review with our service team as well as our housekeepers whom take great pride in providing such a clean hotel.
As for breakfast, since this last week in July, we are improving the offer of food in order to have a greater choice.
The free wi-fi service has been improved, too: now the signal is stable and internet connection is faster.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future, we remain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Thank goodness for the sign outside, otherwise it'd be very easy to miss this hotel. Like other hotels I've seen and stayed at, there are also residential apartments in the same building but on different floors. The staff was super friendly and extremely helpful (they booked restaurant reservations and a tour for us). It's in a great location - a few blocks away from the central train station and walking distance of every major site. Then again, everything is walking distance and if you're in Florence on vacation, the goal is to walk everywhere. The rooms were clean and the a/c units worked perfectly. The breakfast was very limiting (but hotels are never known for their breakfasts) and the wifi reception was very weak. I'd certainly stay here again. It's a great value and close to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 411 in Florence
1,070 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#60 of 411 in Florence
520 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#150 of 411 in Florence
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#108 of 411 in Florence
925 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#58 of 411 in Florence
902 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#77 of 411 in Florence
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mario's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mario's

Address: Via Faenza 89 Black, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#46 Family Hotel in Florence
#57 Business Hotel in Florence
#60 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mario's 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mario's welcomes its guests in an atmosphere of ancient Florentine private house. A classic tradition of hospitality for this exceptional family run Florence hotel with charm and simple elegance. Located few steps from main train station in a building of the seventeenth century in the prestigious Via Faenza, an ancient road dating back to 1200, which still retains the medieval appearance. Classic environment with warm and cozy atmospheres, bright and comfortable spaces, elegant and refined details... A mix of images, sounds, scents for your dream stay in Florence... Classic environment with warm and cozy atmospheres, bright and comfortable spaces, elegant and refined details... A mix of images, sounds, scents for your dream stay in Florence... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mario's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marios Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing