We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home sweet home in Firenze!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mario's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mario's
Ranked #77 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Home sweet home in Firenze!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in Mario's Hotel during 3 days and it was a great experience because the hotel is near the hystorical centre and great restaurants ( Guido trattoria and Été).
The staff made us felt like being in our house.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    200
    49
    15
    3
See reviews for
73
276
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We only stayed one night as a tour trip started the next day but our stay was great. The staff goes out of their way to assist and made us feel right at home. Room was lovely and breakfast was perfect. Will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviennnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Mario for nine days making it our base to travel within the Tuscany region. We could not have not been happier. The hotel was clean, cozy and friendly and a perfect location for easy access to the train and bus stations and most major museums, etc. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff was always there immediately to offer you coffee or capuccino. Words cannot describe the wonderful staff at the Hotel Mario other than simply they are the best. They always greeted you with a warm smile and a friendly hello. They were there to assist you with recommendations for restaurants, tours and finding you the best train or bus schedule(s) for trips outside of Florence. Whether you were speaking with one of the three brothers, Leonardo, Edurado or Federico, or Omar or Carmelo, they were always there to assist you with their friendly demeanor. Having spent nine days with this fine gentlemen, we felt like their friends, or better yet, part of the family. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to or around Florence. There is no other hotel that I would ever think of staying at while in Florence than the Hotel Mario.

Room Tip: We were in Room 4 and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbiePlantation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have stayed here so many times over the past 9 years I have lost count! I have traveled alone and with husband and with friends, and we all agree that this hotel wins our hearts. The 3 brothers that own and run it are eager to assist you with luggage, restaurant and tour reservations, a glass of wine in their cozy lobby, or any request you have. Nice breakfast with coffee/cappuccino available. A walk straight up Via Faenza takes you to the duomo, and it is only 2 blocks from the train station and the San Lorenzo market and the Mercato Centrale. A great deal, with the most sincere service. Mi sento a mio agio.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celesteTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview Heights, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Mario's for each of our five trips to Italy and wouldn't stay anywhere else. It is convenient to train arrival and departure and is within walking distance of all the places/shops/museums we continue to return to Florence to see. The staff is outstanding. They makes reservations at museums which ensures us of not having to stand in long lines, have great restaurant recommendations. provide taxi and bus information that is very helpful. We have brought our son and his wife on their honeymoon, our daughter and her husband for their anniversary and they now understand our love of Florence. We feel Hotel Mario's is part of our "family in Italy."

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkwoman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Recently stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. The first and best thing we noticed was the service from the staff. They were great at making sure we knew how to get around, recommending places to eat, suggesting ways to go to Lucca, Sienna, etc. The location was wonderful. Very close to the train and bus station - easy walk with luggage. It was quiet and private. Really easy location to get to the major tourist sites as well. The room was what you would expect for a hotel in the heart of the historic area -- small room and bathroom. The shower was good, there was a bidet in our actual shower you had to move around when showering. Our room was clean and adequate. Wifi connection was consistent for our needs. you do have to carry your luggage up stairs from ground floor to get to the hotel. We didn't ask if there was an elevator-- but this may be a consideration for some. We would stay there again as felt a good value for the area, time of year, and service we received.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Recently, we stayed in this hotel for three nights. The room was clean and fairly good sized; the bathroom was small. However, the furnitures in the room (e.g.table etc.) were old and worn out, which was surprising for the price they charged for the room. Another surprise was that the hotel charged 5 euros per persom per day for breakfast. The staff was friendly; wifi connection in the room was good. Overall, it is an average hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prahlad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#74 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#85 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#98 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#64 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mario's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mario's

Property: Hotel Mario's
Address: Via Faenza 89 Black, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#56 Business Hotel in Florence
#58 Family Hotel in Florence
#60 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mario's 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mario's welcomes its guests in an atmosphere of ancient Florentine private house. A classic tradition of hospitality for this exceptional family run Florence hotel with charm and simple elegance. Located few steps from main train station in a building of the seventeenth century in the prestigious Via Faenza, an ancient road dating back to 1200, which still retains the medieval appearance. Classic environment with warm and cozy atmospheres, bright and comfortable spaces, elegant and refined details... A mix of images, sounds, scents for your dream stay in Florence... Classic environment with warm and cozy atmospheres, bright and comfortable spaces, elegant and refined details... A mix of images, sounds, scents for your dream stay in Florence... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mario's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marios Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing