We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for your introduction to Florence”
Review of Hotel Mario's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mario's
Ranked #79 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for your introduction to Florence”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff here made us feel welcome in Florence from the moment we set foot into their lovely hotel.
You will first be struck by the lovely Tuscan architecture creating a warm and slightly rustic environment for your stay. Art books, and hard-cover books on florence litter the leather upholstery, showing you that the owners have a love for the treasures their city holds.
We stayed in Room 7 (pictured), and were perfectly happy with what we got. The room was beautifully clean, and spacious. The ensuite bathroom was lovely, and unlike some of our hotels in Rome, the shower was spacious, and powerful.
Breakfast is basic, but ample to get you powered up for the day, and the staff will bring you a lovely espresso to boost you further.
We were very happy with our stay, and will certainly return to spend some time at Hotel Mario's.

Room Tip: Go for room 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SittingNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    204
    50
    15
    3
See reviews for
81
281
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mario's. The room was nice and big for European standards, the hotel is conveniently located near the Santa Maria train station and the staff are very friendly.

The only thing I will note is that the hotel provided instructions on how to get from the train station to the hotel with our booking. Little did we know, there are two stations in Florence and we arrived at the one which was some distance from the hotel. We aimlessly wandered the streets until we found someone that could help us and pointed out our mistake. This was completely our fault, just thought I would point it out so that others don't make the same mistake!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomihenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is a short, level walk from Firenze SMN train station. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who allowed us to leave our bags and use the facilities since we had arrived in Florence a few hours before check-in time, and he pointed out places on a map that we could visit.
The room was a decent size and nicely decorated. Breakfast was slightly sparse but what there was was fine.
It is very easy to walk to the main sites from this hotel and there are many restaurants and bars lining the road into the centre.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would choose the same hotel again if we return to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma1851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This really is a lovely little hotel. Staff are so helpful, when we arrived the receptionist took the time to point out all of the points of interest on a map and wrote down details for the buses. Breakfast is basic but enough to start the day, it consisted of toast, croissants, ham, cheese.

Room was clean and tidy, we had one with the external bathroom which wasn't ideal but we managed fine. You have the key for the bathroom so no one else has access.

Location is perfect, right by the main station, close to restaurants and plenty of bars.
I would definitely recommend and would book again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I found this hotel through trip advisor, it is small, super clean, every body was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are a normal size and very quiet, bathroom on the small size(normal in Europe). Best location you can ever have, Breakfast was good, best part was the cappuccino. I want to thank Omar for making as feel like home, highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GretaLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great hotel close to the station and easy to find. The staff are very helpful and welcoming.
The décor and furnishings were tasteful and traditional and our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is located in a street close to the historic centre but is at the quiet end of the street which enables you to get away from the crowds. Must recommend the little bar next door with its pleasant owners and friendly service. The only negative was the breakfast which was basic and the coffee was awful. Apart from breakfast everything else was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacey1949uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here whilst attending a conference at the Palazzo dei Congressi, which it is perfectly located for. Great little hotel, with very friendly staff. I travelled alone but had a double and a single room, which faced a coutyard and was super quiet. You do have to walk up a flight of stairs, so beware if like me you don't travel light, but the staff helped me down with it. Breakfast was absolutely fine for me, but I can see how it can be a little limiting - perhaps a wider choice or fruit and more options for bread and cheese would have been nice. Loved my morning coffee though. The hotel is located in a fantastic area with lots of trattorias nearby as well as the fabulousMercato Centrale which is great for fresh fruit/veges or for a quick bite to eat at the upstairs restaurant area. Florence, being the size that it is means that you are not far from anywhere - Mario's is very close to the Palazzo dei Congressi and Santa Maria Novella train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snownoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#78 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#84 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#88 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#86 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#64 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mario's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mario's

Property: Hotel Mario's
Address: Via Faenza 89 Black, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#56 Business Hotel in Florence
#58 Family Hotel in Florence
#60 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mario's 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mario's welcomes its guests in an atmosphere of ancient Florentine private house. A classic tradition of hospitality for this exceptional family run Florence hotel with charm and simple elegance. Located few steps from main train station in a building of the seventeenth century in the prestigious Via Faenza, an ancient road dating back to 1200, which still retains the medieval appearance. Classic environment with warm and cozy atmospheres, bright and comfortable spaces, elegant and refined details... A mix of images, sounds, scents for your dream stay in Florence... Classic environment with warm and cozy atmospheres, bright and comfortable spaces, elegant and refined details... A mix of images, sounds, scents for your dream stay in Florence... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mario's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marios Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing