We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loggia with a roof-top view”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pensione Sorelle Bandini
Ranked #318 of 422 Hotels in Florence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loggia with a roof-top view”
Reviewed 23 March 2006

Went there 1989 when I was 18. Got very friendly with a boy named Laurence. Went there again 5 years later and had an argument with Laurence. Went there on honeymoon with Laurence in 1999. We'll take the kids there some time soon.

  • Stayed December 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 October 2005

We stayed at Bandini for 2 days. Although on a limited traffic square the noise was unbelieveable. There was a market every day and the merchants started setting up at 7am. The square was a hangout at night - complete with people yelling and police activity. On our second day we did not receive fresh towels (which were not much better than a wash cloth) nor did we receive any new soap - which had run out. The breakfast was not worth going to - as it was a piece of bread with some jelly. When checking out there was no one who spoke english to help us arrange for a taxi. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 September 2005

We stayed at the Pensione for 3 days before our departure. The rooms were nice and big with a very rustic feel. The shared bathroom was ok but could have used a couple of minor repairs.
Excellent balcony, a nice place for people to sit and enjoy the late afternoon sun.
Just a little overpriced for what you get.
Also, if you like to sleep...do not get room 3 as it was a party outside our window every night. Seems like the "party piaza".

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 March 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Pensione Sorelle Bandini and found it charming with its huge, ramshackle balconies and cozy communal areas.
It was a nice refuge from the hustle and bustle of Florence while still feeling tied to it, as you are constantly looking at gorgeous views of the green hills of Fiesole, the Arno, and from our room, the Duomo...The shared bathroom was only problematic one morning when what seemed like a herd of elephants inhabited it for a full hour and a half (I think they were French, just kidding...), but otherwise this was fine.I loved the breakfast room on the roof! Magical!All in all, a comfortable place to stay for a night or two; a bit like staying at an old, eccentric aunt's house...

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 October 2003

The Pensione Sorelle Bandini was indeed charming, and the loggia was a wonderful place to relax with a bottle of wine after a long day walking around Florence (and dodging motor scooters!). It is conveniently located a few blocks from the Pitti, and then on across the Ponte Vecce from the Uffizi. (We also found a great internet cafe on Piazza Pitti, called Internet Pitti.)

However, the price we paid for a room with the bathroom across the hall seemed a bit steep at $108 Euro/night in late September, even with the light Italian breakfast (see Oct. 2002 review) included. To their credit, they did round it down to 100 Euro/night when we expressed our concern.

If it is charm that you seek regardless of the price tag, then I highly recommned this Pensione. But if you're seeking a better deal for accommodations in Florence, keep looking.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 October 2002

Pensione Sorelle Bandini was the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at. The communal areas are amazing. Large windowed rooms with fantastic views all over the city. The furniture is faded and original but that adds to the charm. The pensione has a loggia running along two sides of the building which is wide and great for having a glasss of wine on when you return home. owever do not go expecting comfort!
The first night we stayed in room 3, which does not have its own bathroom (hardly any do), you share with a few other rooms. This was fine except there was no hot water. The next two nights we stayed in room 11 which did have its own bathroom for which you pay more, again no hot water. despite many complaints the water was never fixed during our stay. Luckily one of the two communial shower rooms did have hot water so we had to walk to the other side of the hotel and fight for its use with all the other residents.
Towels of any quantity or large size also seemed to be few and far between.

Another disadvantage we found was the lack of heating, or heating being turned on. The rooms are so big that it is rather cold and uncosy.

There is no double glazing so you will be woken every morning at around 7.30am by bells of many varieties and strengths from many different churches!

Breakfast was pathetic, just biscuits and bread. No ham, cheese or meat. Just a few jams.

On leaving the hotel no apology was made for the lack of hot water and they still tried to charge me for the private bathroom even though it was useless!

I'd say good for young people with a hardy spirit, but not for those who like their comforts.

The staff were saying this though very friendly if indeed ineffectual!

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
#49 of 422 in Florence
1,058 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Florent
#169 of 422 in Florence
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Guicciardini
Palazzo Guicciardini
#149 of 422 in Florence
165 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Hotel Annalena
#227 of 422 in Florence
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Sorelle Bandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Sorelle Bandini

Property: Pensione Sorelle Bandini
Address: Piazza Santo Spirito 9, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Pensione Sorelle Bandini Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing