We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money lodging” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istituto Gould

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Istituto Gould
Ranked #98 of 295 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for money lodging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

Firenze has expensive accomodation but Istituto Gould was an exception. 44euros per night for a single room during Easter was great value. 20 mins walk from train station, 500m from ponte vecchio, spacious and clean rooms with bathrooms. Very nice gardens too. Do book well in advance .

  • Liked — Excellent value for money
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeonardMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
20
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2008

As other cities in Italy, finding a charming, peaceful and central hotel with a budget price is not easy. That's why i think Instituto Gould, in Florence, is a catch. This residence has clean and good size rooms with private bathroom. Situated in Via dei Serragli (Oltrano's area), Istituto Gould's palazzo is located near Palazzo Pitty and Ponte Vecchio and is about 15 minutes easy walk to the train station M. S. Novella. Our room was one of the most expensive in their list. It costs 32 euros per person and per night. The room very clean has two single beds, television with some international channels (like CNN and Sky News), private bathroom and a large window with a beautiful view to the private garden. There's no curfue. When you check in, you receive a key to your room and to the palazzo door. But there's a silence rule: no noise after 23 hours (11pm). And It works. It was very peaceful at night. Every morning i heard the birds singing in the private garden.
During your stay, no one cleans your room. But down the hall, you can find every thing you need, like little soaps and toilette paper. In the your closet's room, you will find blankets. Istituto Gould provides towels also. Down the hall, are also machines with cold drinks, coffee, capuccino and chocolate. We didn't have breakfast at the residence, but you can find many place where you can have a good and non expensive breakfast. The recepcionists are friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Central, peaceful and charming residence for a good price
  • Disliked — I didn't like the shower without a bath tub, but the water had good preasure. Had lots of hot water...
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Zuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2008

We were 2 couples in our 60s staying 1 night in Florence before returning home. We had stayed at a Foresteria Methodist guesthouse in Venice 3 weeks before. Like that one, Instituto Gould was spotlessly clean and extremely well located. Unlike that one, the desk staff was SO friendly and helpful, including making our 5 am taxi reservation for the next morning (and yes, the taxi showed up exactly on time). Our room overlooked a beautiful courtyard. No elevator, no wireless access; using the TV would have cost a few euros. Narrow but comfortable beds. Some noise from college kids staying down the hall. But you can't beat 30 euros per person per night for a private bath within easy walking distance of the Arno and the center of tourist Florence. I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever fortunate enough to be in Florence again.

  • Liked — location, staff attitude
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2007

I stayed here in August, 2007. I booked through their website. I believe we paid about 27 Euros per person which felt like a great deal. They accept credit cards.

The Institu is about a 15 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella, Florence's main train station. And about 10 minutes tops to the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio. Definitely an easy walk once you get a feel for the city.

The Institu is very quiet at night, which I liked. Our rooms had an en suite bathroom - decent sized and very clean. Though I don't believe they clean your room during the stay, just before and after. The room had a wardrobe to store your luggage and clothes.

There are a few food options in the area, though you really have to walk to the center of town for more restaurants. A small market is in the same block, a laundromat is down the street, as is an Internet/call center which we used all the time.

The people at the reception area are very nice and there are bulletin boards throughout with info on the area. They even have a little book exchange in the office. And they will store your luggage for the day after you check out. I liked the fact that they give you your own keys so you can come and go. FYI - the reception office is open in the mornings and early evenings and closed on Sunday, so plan your arrival accordingly. They offer breakfast with 30 day notice and for 5 Euros. We passed.

  • Liked — Atmosphere and price
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SusieGirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2005

My sister, my boyfriend and I stayed here in September 2005. We paid 72 euros per night for a triple with shower. Breakfast was NOT included. It is 15 minute walk from the main station. The main sights are also a 15 minute walk away.
PROs:
- Huge rooms and great value for money
- Clean room and shower (also huge shower) when we arrived
- Friendly staff
- Secure hotel
- Nearby deli to buy bread, cheese and parma ham to make your own breakfast!
- Internet place across the street and bigger wifi internet cafe down the road
- Proceeds go to disabled/troubled children
CONs:
- Room wasn't made up daily - we did stay over the weekend tho; so i don't know if they do get cleaned during the week.
- Reception not open all the time, and not open at all on Sunday.

All in all, i think this place is great value for money given the size of the rooms and reasonable location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2003

This is the best hostel in Firenze. It`s location is perfect (near to the centre), the rooms are spotless and not very expensive, the staff is friendly. Excellent place!

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2003

This is a great place to stay! Better than a normal hostel and cheaper than a hotel, this is a great choice for the budget traveller. You have the option of getting a single room (for a bit more money) or to share a room with 1, 2, or 3 other people. I chose a room with 4 available beds and ended up only having one other person in the room. Each room has its own bathroom with a sink and shower. The room I stayed in had a pretty spacious bottom floor with 2 beds and 2 more beds upstairs in a loft-like area (a little more cramped). The only downfall was the lack of air flow in the upstairs area. There was only one big window on the bottom floor that, unfortunately, didn't help much on the 2nd level (especially if you got the bed against the back wall). One of the best things about this accommodation was the fact that there is no curfew or lockout! However, be aware of the limited office hours and the fact that you cannot check in or out on Sunday.

Helpful?
33 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Casa Santo Nome di Gesu
Casa Santo Nome di Gesu
#231 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Althea Rooms
#248 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istituto Gould? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istituto Gould

Property: Istituto Gould
Address: Via De' Serragli 49, 50124, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 295 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Istituto Gould Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing