We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two wonderful weeks in lovely place of Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Merlini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Merlini
Ranked #241 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Moscow
1 review
“Two wonderful weeks in lovely place of Florence”
Reviewed 12 January 2010

It was really incredible story - how we found this lovely hotel!!! We participated in Florence Biennale of contemporary art in December 2009. And of course, for more then two weeks of staying in Florence we decided to rent an appartment. But we were completely disappointed by the appartment and left it. After 2 nights in some 3 stars hotel we had to leave it because it was complete for long week end. And we started to look for something else. But it was owful moment for us - all hotels were full for this long week-end!!! So we were almost ready to go to the station for these two nights... But fortunately we were survived by our friend who's name is Lili (by the way - the symbol of Florence!) She arranged for us two nights in the hotel Merlini. When we saw "1star" we thought: "Well, for two nigts is better then in the station..." But as just as we came into the hotel we were really stunned!!! So beautiful rooms with wonderful period furniture and this incredible view from the window!!!! Regal magnificence! Shower works perfectly (in contrast to that 3 stars hotel we stayed before)! And the owner Rosario was so nice and helpful! Of course we stayed in the hotel Merlini for two weeks till the end of our trip. It was happy and excited fortnight! And we know that any time we will come to Florence we definitely will stay in the hotel Merlini - our home in Florence!
By the way, why 1star? Because there is no lift? But it's even more healthy to walk upstairs after tasty Italian dishes! This hotel deserves 4 stars minimum!!! Thank you Rosario!!!
Valentina & Vladimir Petrov-Gladky, Moscow; e-mail: petrov-gladky@yandex.ru; vladimir@petrov-gladky.ru

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultrapictura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    121
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
42
156
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2009

The Albergo Merlini was a great experience for me and my boyfriend while staying in Florence. Service was excellent; Rosario and his family are so sweet and accomodating. For example, we accidentally dropped and broke a glass with juice in it. It was promptly cleaned up and then we were brought another glass. We had help with our luggage the day we left. Also, since our train was leaving hours after check-out time, they let us keep our luggage in a room at the front until we were ready to take it with us.

Our room was very spacious and clean, we had a large armoire to hang up clothes and store our suitcases, and the bathroom was a good size, including a roomy shower with great water pressure and heat, and there was also a hairdryer. There were two nightstands on either side of the bed and a large desk against the wall. The bed was a little hard but comfortable and the hotel was quiet; we never had a problem not being able to relax or sleep because of hearing somebody else outside. We had free high-speed internet; you have to ask for a cable at the front. The TV was all Italian, except for MTV, and even bad American movies were dubbed, but if you're vacationing, why do you want to watch TV anyway?

Albergo Merlini is located about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the Duomo and 10-15 minutes from the train station. There are several restaurants on the same road and atleast 1 small supermarket where you can buy toiletries, snacks, and bottled water - ***BOTTLED WATER FROM THE SUPERMARKET IS MUCH MUCH CHEAPER THAN AT BARS***

What I liked best about Albergo Merlini was the size of our room and the people who work there. The only bad thing I can say about it is it's located on the 3rd floor, which was actually like 6 flights of wrap-around stairs and that could be tiring after a full day of walking around the city and sightseeing.

Overall a great place and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarissaLMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again and recommend to others. The rooms were simple and clean. Room 11 is great! The hosts are friendly and helpful. The location is great. The only draw back for some would be the lack of elevator - it is on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

After reading the reviews, we decided to book Hotel Merlini for our Florence trip. Stayed 4 nights and paid more than other recent reviewers did, unfortunately. We were given the room with a balcony and the beds looked like hospital beds. Decent room with "weird" functioning air-conditioner/ heater. Breakfast was simple and coffee was good.

Good thing about this hotel is it's proximity to the SMN train station and Sita bus station. Florence is a very walkable city anyway. Rosario was very friendly too.

What we hated was the stairs. Hotel Merlini is located on level 3, and in Asian terms, it's actually on 4th level. We nearly fainted trying to carry our luggages up. Luckily we met Rosario on level 1 and he helped us with our huge luggages.

Overall, pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed three nights at the B&B which was close to everything we wanted to do (we could see the Duomo dome from our room.) The room was okay, but clean. Beds were kind of hard, but we were so tired after sightseeing that it didn't matter too much. The owners/staff were pretty reserved and seemed more concerned about whether we were taking off without paying. We opted not to pay extra for the breakfast because of the other reviews. Not sure if I would recommend it or not. It was pretty inexpensive and worked for us because we just wanted a place to sleep after sightseeing. Do note that you don't receive keys for the front door, so each time you enter, you have to ring the bell for the staff to let you in. (They also have to let you out in the morning if you leave before 7am.)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2009

If, like some reviewers, having no TV, phone or refrigerator spoils your trip, then this isn't the place for you. But if you need a spotlessly clean, comfortable, characterful and welcoming base from which to explore the beauty of Florence, Hotel Merlini would be a perfect choice.

We were surprised by how quiet our room and the street was, given it was 10 minutes walk from the Duomo. We had a breathtaking view from our window over the rooftops to the domes of San Lorenzo and Duomo and the room was flooded with sunlight in the mornings. The small ensuite was spotlessly clean and perfect for two people with a powerful and hot shower. Our bed was elegant and comfortable and the room's furniture was simple and classic- no sign of being in a chain hotel here!

October is a great time to visit the city - still warm in the daytime and no queues to all the major sites. We loved walking to the many beautiful parts of the city and saw a different side to Florence by night. Although we tended to eat somewhere different for each meal of the day we breakfasted in the lovely dining room of the hotel on our final morning and it was a fitting way to end our trip.

We shall recommend Hotel Merlini to our friends and hope to return to it on our next visit to Florence!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsnowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Albergo Merlini is a bed and breakfast but they don't serve breakfast unless you pay extra. That's dumb. There's a hostel right behind the B&B so at night, it's really loud and noisy if your room faces the hostel. Kids stay up late at night at this hostel and hang out in the courtyard eating and drinking and talking to each ohter. So it's really really loud. You'll have a hard time sleeping. We stayed for 2 nights. We paid 58 Euros per night for a double bed with a private bath. Room has no phone, No AC, and no refrigerator. It's located in the same building as a few other B&Bs like Anna's B&B and a couple others.

When we got here, we realized we had to carry our luggage up 3 flight of stairs. No elevator. That was rough. Add to that, the stairs had a really bad smell of urine and old garbage. The hallway of the B&B smelled like cigarette smoke. Our room was decent size but the furniture was old. The overall feel of the room was very old and while it wasn't dirty, both myself and my fiance felt really gross staying there. It wasn't a pleasant stay in the room at all. Luckily Florence is soo beautiful, we didn't spend much time in the room except sleep. We got a lot of bug bites on our body when we woke up every morning so I'm not sure how good a job they do of cleaning. Rosario and his wife Gabriela are pretty nice. They did let us store our luggage for a few hrs in a room rather than us having to pay for storing it at the train station.

Location is pretty good. 5 min walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station, 7-10 min walk to the Duomo, 15 min walk to Ponte Veccio, and 30 mins to Piazzale Michael Angelo (don't miss this place if you come to Florence).

It's located on a small street so it was a bit hard to find cuz if the address is 56 xyz street, then you have to know if it's red 56 or black 56 cuz then they could be on opposite ends of the street and google maps won't help you with this. I would NEVER stay at this B&B again. I think there are many other places in the same price range or cheaper that are better.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KS95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#275 of 421 in Florence
228 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#130 of 421 in Florence
644 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#82 of 421 in Florence
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,218 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
748 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Ghiro
Il Ghiro
#49 of 297 in Florence
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merlini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merlini

Property: Hotel Merlini
Address: Via Faenza 56, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Merlini 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historical Barbera Palace dates from 1700. Inside this lovely building one can find the Hotel Merlini which has been there since the end of W.W.II. The Hotel is located in the heart of the old city of Florence, a short distance from the Central Station Santa Maria Novella. It is also very close to Piazza del Duomo and the Palace of Congress. This favorable position will permit one to visit the old city on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merlini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Merlini Hotel
Albergo Merlini Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing