We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed here longer..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Due Fontane
Ranked #250 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We were moved here for our first night in florence due to a problem with our room at a hotel around the corner, the staff were very friendly and helpful unlike the original hotel we had booked and made our stay in florence more enjoyable after a bad start. We were lucky to get a room with a balcony overlooking the square and just wish we could have stayed here for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 88NicH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

In general Hotel is good for the place. Normally hotels here are very small and of course very ancient buildings. I forgot a 500 euros bill and when I return the money was still there. Breakfast is good and the small restaurant downstairs is ok especially to drink a wine glass in the afternoon. Everything is close from this hotel the Academy for example (is where the David of Michelangelo is).
The only bad situations are attendants cannot speak good English and I asked for alarm and attendant never woke me up and I lost a 100 euros nonrefundable tour.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Wonderfully located, but not wonderful! Most importantly, they put us in mold-encrusted tiny room with cracks in the floor tile and the sink, stains on the walls, a curtain hanging crooked from one hook, and a towel rack dangling from a loose screw, no screens on the window and lots of mosquitos.. Halfway through our stay, we asked to be moved to a different room, and they showed us three others and gave us our choice. All three were significantly better than our original room. The moldy, dirty rooms should be closed off until they are cleaned up and remodeled.
The front desk was friendly and always responsive. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy, with a variety of pastries and ham and cheese every day, as well as cereal and fruit. It would have been nice if the "free wifi" actually worked consistently. It is only in the lobby, and then only occasionally.

Room Tip: Half the rooms are clean, and half aren't. Every one is unique. Don't accept one of the mold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaz2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This Florence hotel has seen better days. While the location is good, it's on historic Piazza della Santissima Annunziata only a few shorts blocks from the Duomo, it's run down and in need of updating. The rooms are oddly laid out feeling small and crowded. The bathrooms are very dated with old fixtures and small showers. The free WiFi only works if you stand next to it in the lobby. The tiny elevator is up one short flight of stairs making checking in difficult if you have heavy luggage. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the "porter" who took care of everyone's luggage when we arrived. There is a restaurant and wine bar off the lobby which serves an adequate breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the stairs as possible. The walls are thin and the sounds of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneK90046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

An ideal location (a five minute walk from the Duomo and with many lovely restaurants nearby) with a great view of the Piazza, the hotel le Due Fontane offers a comfortable and charming atmosphere for its guests. Breakfast is a functional affair but pleasant nonetheless. The hotel is happy to provide breakfast in your room at no extra charge which is especially lovely if you are facing the Piazza. The rooms are rustic in detail and they and the bathrooms are kept very clean. Downstairs, is a gelateria and reception, where the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Internet was a bit problematic, with little to no signal. However, overall it was a very lovely stay, relatively inexpensive and an unforgettable trip.

Room Tip: Facing the Piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BorisTheBestMinister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The hotel is very central, 5 mins tops from the dome. The room was nice and clean. Bathroom was ok, we had warm water all the time. Breakfast was good and well variated (some charcuterie, pastry, butter, gem, fruits, coffe, juices). The buiding is pretty old and, the one minus, noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Front desk service was poor. They were very indifferent to issues/questions. Internet available only in lobby and it didn't work. Black mold in bathroom.......lot's of it. Room 303. overall least impressive place I stayed while traveling in Europe. Would definitely NOT go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#168 of 410 in Florence
1,065 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#77 of 410 in Florence
1,207 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#307 of 410 in Florence
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#198 of 410 in Florence
415 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#224 of 410 in Florence
443 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#304 of 410 in Florence
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Due Fontane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Due Fontane

Address: Piazza della Santissima Annunziata 14, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £49 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Due Fontane 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel le due fontane is a three star hotel in the real historical center of Florence.Between museums and shop s you can walkig everyvere, we waith you Next time you visit Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Due Fontane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Due Fontane Florence
Le Due Fontane Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing