We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced accomodation in great location”
Review of Hotel Bigallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bigallo
Ranked #169 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We visited Florence over the Easter Weekend and managed to secure a room here for a really reasonable rate.

Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. My one small gripe would be the hairdryer was a little limp for someone with long hair, but it is a minor point - there were no major problems with the room.

We took advantage of all the lovely coffee shops Florence has to offer so opted not to have breakfast at the hotel, so I cant comment on food quality etc.

The best thing about the hotel is the location - you can't get better. It is just of the Piazza del Duomo and surrounded by shops, coffee shops and cafes and is no further than a 10 minute stroll from all of the sites north of the river.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie_329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Bigallo is located on the top floors of a building that faces onto the Duomo square, so you could not get more central. It is an easy walk to the Accademia or the Uffizzi. The hotel is on the main shopping pedestrian mall. The rooms are well appointed and clean. Coming and going from the top floor each day was odd, but not all that much of a problem (make sure to use the elevator when checking in with luggage - it is a long way up the stairs!). The staff were very efficient and friendly, and the breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aranawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Yes, the view is great, but you're not there is sit at your window all day. We had a loft on the 4th floor, but the bathroom was upstairs and tough to get up there. Early evening they lock the door on the 4th floor leading to the rooms, so you have to get off on the 3rd and walk up. My friend got sick and couldn't make it up the stairs; we asked for a handicapped room..and it was handicapped. The shower stall overflowed and the entire bathroom floor got wet; you had to straddle the toilet if the shower door was closed. The entrance is in alley so they lock the doors at night...heaven forbid if there's a fire. They have no ice (for my sick friend) and the staff is as pleasant as a pimple on your nose.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Aside from the cold staff; this is a pretty good place. They charge for WiFi :-(. The entrance/reception is on floor 3. The included breakfast is packaged, not good! The general feel of the place unwelcoming!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecbisutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The hotel location is the best. Right at the Doumo. There are a few steps up to a very small elevator. Reception is on the 3rd floor so if elevator is out this would be a tough climb. Lobby is adequate, partial view of Duomo. Breakfast buffet room small but clean. Food was typical, not exceptional. Rooms were clean and small which is not atypical. No view, dim lighting. The night we arrived the man behind the desk was wearing a T shirt and looked like we woke him, but the next day the staff was better attired. All were courteous, but none were overtly friendly. Being Centralized it was a short walk to Acadamy, Market, Pointe Veccho and Ufuzzie. Could have walked to train station too, but with luggage and children, we took a taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Only a 5 minute walk from the tain station and very easy to find. Walk out the front door and you are in the Duomo sqaure with breath taking views and smells of the pizza shops all around. Rooms where normal size in Euro standards and well cleaned, Staff was very nice and helped everyway they could. This will be our new hotel to stay at every year we travel to florence. Thank you for making our trip that much better!!

Room Tip: Grab a double room with a double bed and ask for a view of the Duomo if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbarilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Bigallo which I booked on Venere for a good price first week end of January. The location of the hotel is perfect, I do not think you can find better than that. Apart from the great location it's a modest hotel nothing great, clean room, no view at all as we were on the wrong side but we did not stay much in this room. As any old building you can easily hear noises from dishes in the morning. One thing... breakfast ends at 9:30 !! Way too early we could only manage to get our last one, nothing much to expect here anyway. You'll have to park your car at a partner parking for 24 euros the night. I rated 4 stars for the location, the hotel is nice but I would put 3 if it were somewhere else ;).

Room Tip: I do not remember the name of our room it was 1306, there is no view at all do not pick this one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YOK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#223 of 410 in Florence
523 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#53 of 410 in Florence
351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#202 of 410 in Florence
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#219 of 410 in Florence
110 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#181 of 410 in Florence
770 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bigallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigallo

Address: Vicolo Degli Adimari 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £62 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bigallo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bigallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bigallo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing