We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location but a struggle to reach reception!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bigallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bigallo
Ranked #186 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent location but a struggle to reach reception!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

On arriving in at Hotel Bigallo I was hugely impressed by the location across the way from the Duomo but then we tried to get our bags into a lift big enough for 2 people with bags - tight squeeze! If this lift breaks down whilst trying to get bags up (and it did during our stay) then this could be a major problem as no-one to help with bags. Stairs again going to our room on 1st floor was a problem to carry my heavy bag again as no-one to help. The view from our room looking directly at the magnificent Duomo was hugely impressive but not too impressed to be woken up at 7am for the next five days! Bell is incredibly loud and is rung every hour so if you want to sleep ask for a quiet room perhaps. I wish someone had told me about 'white night' as this was an all night party and shopping for 1st May (which was awesome) but 'live' music right outside our window was really loud so never slept a wink. The staff at reception very helpful and friendly and breakfast each morning very adequate. Typical european breakfast of boiled eggs, yogurt, cheese and ham with breads. I thought the location was awesome to start off with but there are so many hotels on each corner in the centre of Florence that each one is amazingly located. All in all, our room was very comfortable, loved the hotel but definitely wouldn't stay again because of location.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on 1st floor at back of hotel may be quieter but then no view??
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    184
    56
    21
    12
See reviews for
84
176
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Werchter, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Small family-run hotel in the centre of Firenze. The location is perfect, as the hotel literally stands in the shadow of the Duomo. Great place to visit all the attractions in the city. We arrived by bus from the airport at Sta. Maria Novella which is an easy 15 min walk to the Bigallo, I assume it gets more complicated when you arrive by car and have to look for a parking spot (the hotel is situated in a pedestrian area).

Our room was ok (clean!), yet on the small side, actually consisting of just a bed (which we converted in two twins) and almost no room to stash our bags. Bathroom felt equally cramped.

The breakfast served in the morning was adequate but nothing special either. No fresh juice and limited choices of food (ok, this is a three star hotel so maybe we were expecting too much here?). Bland cereals but nice (homemade?) cake though.

On the plus side, the family running the hotel were very friendly and knowledgeable, especially the younger lady running the reception and the older lady attending to the breakfast area. The good staff at Bigallo swayed this review from three to four stars...

On a side note: this was the most expensive hotel of our October 2013 Italy trip (+/- €115/night incl. breakfast), just slightly less than what we payed for the Santa Maria Novella Hotel in April 2010 (which is wonderful in all aspects). I wanted to re-book the former but it was not worth the €400/night rate they asked for three years later. It seems that prices in Firenze are quite inflated lately, even in the low season...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GVerbeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for tow nights. Excellent location with clean and classy rooms. Value for money. Good breakfast as well.

The cons:
Would be better if they are more generous with their wifi. Only one hour free a day. Come on hotel bigallo. This should be free

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Could you get any closer to the Duomo? I opened my window every morning and night just to look at its magnificence. We stayed two nights but really only had one full day in Florence so we were on GO Mode: went to La Accademia in the morning then the leather market, dropped stuff off at the hotel on the way to Ponte Vecchio, wandered down to Ponte alla Carraia where I went to some churches and found an Italian bread shop where I got a panini to go and ate on the bridge. We had reservations for the Uffizi at 2:30 so it was nearly dark once I left (4:45). I walked back to the hotel and changed shoes before walking the 440 steps at the tower of the Duomo. For dinner we ate at La Giostra in San Croce. The hotels central location made it easy to see everything so quickly. I will say that it was not the quietest location...and if I was there several days I would probably pick somewhere further away from the center of town in a quieter neighborhood. I think this is very subjective to one's preference.

The hotel staff was friendly. Rooms were modest. Internet was 5 euros a day and could only be used on one device at a time. Would recommend for shorter stays.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AKP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Just in the center of the center of Florence ... wonderful! You can just walk all the time and visit to the town. The room was not very big but with free wifi. Personnel very kind. I was feeling very well at this elegant hotel Because It Seems to be in the story.
Perfect compromise between low price and high quality!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This lovely hotel is located in a historic mid 17th century building.
The location of the Bigallo cannot be beat as the hotel is directly across the street from the Duomo Cathedral, bell tower and baptristry and is very close to Piazza della Signoria.

The view of the Duomo from the lobby and some rooms is "awesome".

The reception staff are on duty 24 hours and are very helpful and friendly.

In order to enter the hotel, you will have to walk or take the lift up as the reception area is on the third floor. The lift only goes to the first floor, not the ground floor, so be prepared to walk up some steps to the first floor and ride up from there. That didn't present a problem for us or any of the people in our travel group.

The buffet breakfast is served in a small dining area and offers a nice assortment of meats, cheese, fruit, breads and pastry along with juice, milk and a superb caffee/latte machine that blends your selection perfectly. Everything was fresh, well stocked, and the dining area was immaculate.

Our rooms were spotless, nicely appointed and security was never an issue.

We highly recommend the Hotel Bigallo if you are looking for a reasonably priced, centrally located clean hotel with a friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Needed a central hotel as it was a flying visit which covered a couple of nights. It also needed to be near the train station as this is where we had to get the coach. It ticked the boxes on both counts. Only 10 minutes walk from the station and you are right it the heart of Florence.

The hotel is easy to find. TIP: If you have heavy luggage use the lift as the reception is on the 3rd floor. We arrived at 1pm and were allowed straight into the room after a warm welcome. The room was spacious and well decorated but the best part was the view. Opened the widow to have a perfect view of the Duomo. I did ask for a view as it was a special occasion and they would do their best and they did.

Breakfast is included in the price and has everything you would expect. Plenty to choose from and all looked after by extremely smiley/friendly staff. Which can also be said for the reception staff which are there 24 hours (help with directions and Italian power adapter).

The hotel itself is located on the main street that links the Duomo and Piazza della Signoria (approx 5 minutes walk) so you really are in the middle.

I would recommend Hotel Bigallo to anyone looking for a value for money stay in Florence. This is not a 5 star hotel so for those who have written bad reviews about breakfast/noise/friendliness of staff all I would add is you get a continental breakfast, your are right opposite the Duomo and things are sometimes lost in translation!

Further to those whole complain about noise the windows/shutters actually seal out 95% of the noise. The bells of the Duomo start at 7am so you are up and on the go and you can watch Florence wake up which is a great thing form your window.

Room Tip: Room 1303 is situated off the breakfast area (but certainly not noisy - well sealed doors). This had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#259 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#199 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#159 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#209 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#184 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bigallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigallo

Property: Hotel Bigallo
Address: Vicolo Degli Adimari 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bigallo 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bigallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bigallo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing