We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want he view, this is the hotel”
Review of Hotel Bigallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bigallo
Ranked #176 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel Bigallo has an incredible location, beside the Duomo. If you are lucky enough to get a room with a view, you feel like you could touch this incredible building.
When I arrived, the lift did not seem to work, so it did mean carting my suitcase up 7 flights of stairs after a long journey, so not best pleased when arriving at reception. We had no problem with the lift after this.
The room, however, cheered me up immediately. On opening the shutters I was amazed at the view, truly breathtaking, looking at the Duomo and Brunelleschi's dome! We also watched the kick- off of the Florence running race from our room-great fun!
Downsides- with this hotel and view, everything is extra. We had 2 towels which is not sufficient, if you want more, you pay- as you do for wifi. In addition, despite an incredibly cheerful lady overseeing breakfast, it was not to my taste. There is machine coffee & not fresh croissants, but if you can eat it first thing, there is sliced meat & cheese available with yogurts. However, the hotel could really get away offering none, & it is included in the price, so make the most of it.
A good extra is that there is a fridge available in the room, and extra pillows. Our room was clean enough, so overall, very pleased with a room with an amazing view.
In terms of location, I would recommend earplugs- it is a central hub and people congregate in this area at night, so sleep can be interrupted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roaming13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

My dad and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June and we were so lucky to get a room with the Duomo view! The room had the bed on the upper floor which at the beginning was great and different from other hotels but later it got a bit inconvenient, going up and down wasn't great for my senior dad :S, so just keep that in mind, but the room was excellent, clean, great view, and as long as you leave the window closed you won't hear the street noise :), also to keep the AC working you need to close the window so no noise for us.

The Staff was wonderful and the breakfast is the same as all the included ones (ham, salami, cheese, bread, fruit, yogurt)

The only complaint I have is that the hotel didn't have an extra travel adaptor to charge my phone, but I guess that is not all their fault.

Happy travels

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOBV11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel Bigallo is awesome! You couldn't be any closer to Florence Duomo. Once you open your bedroom window, you encounter this amazing view of the Duomo. You are also within walkable distance of Ponte Vecchio and many other sites. Breakfast is great and staff is really friendly and helpful. Chiara is so sweet, and she speaks many languages, at least 4 that I know of, including Spanish, French, English and of course Italian. She showed us on the map every place we wanted to go and she also gave us hot water every day so we could enjoy some hot tea in the room. There is also parking assistance. They will call a garage for you and the driver will pick up your car, $25 per day, and they will bring it back at anytime you need, with 30min notice. You won't need your car while visiting Florence, so just leave it in the garage, it is very safe. The elevator is small, but it is fast, so no big deal, you can load it with yourself and 2 more people, or 1 piece of luggage and go up to 3rd floor and do it again if necessary. Buildings in Italy are older, so you should be thankful that this hotel has an elevator. But that is why Italy is so beautiful and unique. You will love it! I would definitely stay at Hotel Bigallo again.

Room Tip: You can drive up to the hotel door, and stay parked for about 15min, until the hotel sets up a drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We we fortunate to get a room with a view of the Duomo. However, even though we were on the top floor we still heard street noise late into the night. The view is worth the effort to get a pair of earplugs! The location is within walking distance of all the major sites. The staff went above and beyond making dinner reservations and coordinating tours for us. It is a great experience waking each morning to the sounds of the bells ringing at the Duomo. The stairs to the elevator are a bit difficult if you have luggage and the elevator is small, but this place is worth the effort.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room with a view of the Duomo, bring your earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rl37kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

On arriving in at Hotel Bigallo I was hugely impressed by the location across the way from the Duomo but then we tried to get our bags into a lift big enough for 2 people with bags - tight squeeze! If this lift breaks down whilst trying to get bags up (and it did during our stay) then this could be a major problem as no-one to help with bags. Stairs again going to our room on 1st floor was a problem to carry my heavy bag again as no-one to help. The view from our room looking directly at the magnificent Duomo was hugely impressive but not too impressed to be woken up at 7am for the next five days! Bell is incredibly loud and is rung every hour so if you want to sleep ask for a quiet room perhaps. I wish someone had told me about 'white night' as this was an all night party and shopping for 1st May (which was awesome) but 'live' music right outside our window was really loud so never slept a wink. The staff at reception very helpful and friendly and breakfast each morning very adequate. Typical european breakfast of boiled eggs, yogurt, cheese and ham with breads. I thought the location was awesome to start off with but there are so many hotels on each corner in the centre of Florence that each one is amazingly located. All in all, our room was very comfortable, loved the hotel but definitely wouldn't stay again because of location.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room on 1st floor at back of hotel may be quieter but then no view??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Small family-run hotel in the centre of Firenze. The location is perfect, as the hotel literally stands in the shadow of the Duomo. Great place to visit all the attractions in the city. We arrived by bus from the airport at Sta. Maria Novella which is an easy 15 min walk to the Bigallo, I assume it gets more complicated when you arrive by car and have to look for a parking spot (the hotel is situated in a pedestrian area).

Our room was ok (clean!), yet on the small side, actually consisting of just a bed (which we converted in two twins) and almost no room to stash our bags. Bathroom felt equally cramped.

The breakfast served in the morning was adequate but nothing special either. No fresh juice and limited choices of food (ok, this is a three star hotel so maybe we were expecting too much here?). Bland cereals but nice (homemade?) cake though.

On the plus side, the family running the hotel were very friendly and knowledgeable, especially the younger lady running the reception and the older lady attending to the breakfast area. The good staff at Bigallo swayed this review from three to four stars...

On a side note: this was the most expensive hotel of our October 2013 Italy trip (+/- €115/night incl. breakfast), just slightly less than what we payed for the Santa Maria Novella Hotel in April 2010 (which is wonderful in all aspects). I wanted to re-book the former but it was not worth the €400/night rate they asked for three years later. It seems that prices in Firenze are quite inflated lately, even in the low season...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVerbeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for tow nights. Excellent location with clean and classy rooms. Value for money. Good breakfast as well.

The cons:
Would be better if they are more generous with their wifi. Only one hour free a day. Come on hotel bigallo. This should be free

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#220 of 410 in Florence
529 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#204 of 410 in Florence
600 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#58 of 410 in Florence
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#231 of 410 in Florence
114 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#347 of 410 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bigallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigallo

Address: Vicolo Degli Adimari 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £60 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bigallo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bigallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bigallo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing